Blade Runner – The Final Cut

Posted: December 21, 2007 in Life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Rutger Hauer as replicant Roy Batty

He’s an unfeeling killing machine, who has fought in interstellar wars and seen ships ablaze in the deep, dark vacuum of space. He’s a replicant that has been designated for ‘retirement’ because he’s perceived as a threat to ‘real’ humans. And yet Roy Batty shows kindness to a bird and saves Deckard’s life. The scene is as poignant today as when I saw it in the theaters almost 25 years ago. Harrison Ford wasn’t Han Solo or Indiana Jones in this one, he was just some shmoe who got in over his head.

 

And I say bullshit to Mr. Ridley Scott who says Deckard is also a replicant. Harrison Ford says poppycock to that idea, and I stick with the man on that. Just like many folks have their own opinions on the Star Wars Special Editions, and refuse to accept Lucas’ changes to the films, I refuse to accept that Deckard is a replicant.

 

On top of that, when you say ‘Final Cut‘, I’ll always think Roger Waters’ follow-up to The Wall. So sue me.

Leave a comment