Deadpool “Does It for the Tacos” Review

Posted: July 15, 2009 in Humor, Marvel, Reviews
Tags: , ,

Let's Be Friends

Title: Deadpool #12
Writer: Daniel Way
Art: Paco Medina and Juan Vlasco
Cover: Jason Pearson
Publisher: Marvel
Price: $2.99

During the Shitty Secret Invasion Saga Deadpool discovered a way to kill the Skrull Queen. Norman Osborn stole the data on the Skrull Queen from Deadpool and then proceeded to kill said Skrull Queen. Norman Osborn went on to become an American hero and Deadpool…not so much. To get back at Normie Deadpool took on the Thunderbolts and stole Osborn’s Gold Credit Card as well as a kiss from the Black Widow. To finish this game of cat and mouse Norman decides to send Bullseye a.k.a Hawkeye to kill Wade Wilson a.k.a. Deadpool. BullsHawkeye succeeds. Deadpool gets better. Deadpool wears a meat suit. Hawkbullseye then gets stabbed with a meat hook. Ok, I think you’re caught up now.

I am glad that in an industry that can take itself too seriously at times that a comic like Deadpool exists. It just likes to have fun. There is always at least one verbal and one visual joke in every issue that’s makes me laugh. Actually, I laughed quite a few times while reading this particular issue.

This final part to the Bullseye story arc really drives home the point that Deadpool is playing the part of Bugs Bunny while Bullseye is filling in for Elmer Fudd. The best scene of this comic comes in the form of Bullseye , with missile launcher in hand, trying to take out Deadpool who is riding around in a Big Foot truck. Nuff said, right?

Without giving away too much of the climax:

-We find out that in another life Bullseye and Hawkeye could have been B.F.F.’s
-Deadpool is given a lotta money to lay low whole Osborn is still in charge
-While laying low for a month Deadpool eats his weight in tacos and then

*SPOILER ALERT*

Shoots himself in the head.

Oops. I think I just gave away the entire climax. My bad.

In case you are wondering what will become of Wade Wilson here is the solicitation for the next two issues:


“Wave of Mutilation,” Part 1 & 2
Deadpool has ceased to exist, he’s given his good-byes, he’s driven his car into the ocean. They’ll think he’s dead, but he’ll sail away. Then, he becomes a pirate!

Sounds awesome. I’ll be there.

J.

Comments
  1. Aaron E says:

    Ya I liked this issue too. When Bullseye gave Deadpool all that money I was like, “Oh. That was unexpected!” Then I turn to the page where he shoots himself in the head and was like, “WTF!!!!” I will definetely be there for DP#13+14 next month. Too bad Medina won’t be drawing those issues though…

  2. Aaron E says:

    One thing I didn’t like about this issue is that Bullseye kills a woman…AGAIN. Although I did laugh when she hit him with her car.

    • Actually, he didn’t kill her. When Deadpool parked the truck on Bullseye’s leg he let go of her and she ran away.

      I wish Medina was drawing the next two issues two. His art is perfect for the book.

      J.

      • comicbookdude89 says:

        Oh, thanks for pointing that out! That’ll teach me to pay more attention to the panels! lol I do that every now and then

  3. XCaD2 says:

    big fan of deadpool, looking forward to the following issues…

  4. Aaron E says:

    btw comicbookdude89 is my blog username

  5. Hammy McHamslice says:

    I didn’t read the comic… When Black Widow kissed Deadpool was he wearing the mask? If so, not much to brag about.

  6. Zcorp79 says:

    So I just read on IGN’s website that DEadpool has two on going series and mini’s, but too my knowledge I only knew that Deadpool had one on going and two mini’s. If I have missed something someone let me know.

  7. Pobra says:

    just read this issue, this has to be the funniest comic on the shelf these days, i never laugh out loud while reading but this book has me doing it like every other page. “ok, I have to admit, that was f@#%ing awesome.”

Leave a Reply

