A Thought About Batman #692

Posted: October 28, 2009 in Blogging, DC Comics, Not Really a Review
Tags: , ,

Shit Sandwich

So, I read this “thing” earlier today. I really, really, really don’t want to review it. Hell, I don’t even want to write about it. You guys know I am all about punishing myself for the greater good by reading, then reviewing, utter shit so you don’t have to…but not this time. I have instead found a video that sums up what I thought about this comic. After you watch it you will all know exactly how I felt after I finished reading Batman #692.

J.

Comments
  1. Matthew Guy says:

    Thank you Jose for all that you do.

    This video review in help others avoid forking money for this horseshit.

    Matthew

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    That is either the greatest commercial of all time or Marylin Mason has really fell on hard times!

    Please tell me that is a real hardware store out there.

    IM

  3. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    I don’t get it….? Oh, yeah. The Razor Claws.

    • “I don’t get it…?”

      Yup, that’s pretty much what I was going for. Thanks Johnny. :)

      Well that and the shitty, shitty goth designs.

      And the fact it didn’t make a lick of sense.

      And the fact that it made me feel as if someone had touched me in a really inappropriate manner.

      And the fact it made me want to stab sporks into my eyes

      And the fact it made me feel like I was being ear raped. (I was reading the Tony Daniel dialogue out loud to myself)

      And the fact it made me weep for the future…and stuff.

      J.

  4. Deemar says:

    Your like comicbook Jesus, you suffer for our sins

    Oh and my bad for Rob Liefeld and the 90s

    Review it

    Do it..do it c’mon do it

  5. Deemar says:

    That vid makes me wanna slap a teenager

  6. Smallmaniac says:

    One minute and sixteen seconds of my life I will never get back.

  7. Locusmortis says:

    you haven’t known suffering till you’ve seen czech black metal vidz

  8. kurumais says:

    i got to admit the vid gave me a giggle

  9. Zcorp79 says:

    W..T….F….!, on another note Secret Warriors #9 was really good

    • Zcorp79 says:

      So I was just over at IGN.com and they gave Tony Daniel”s Batman issue a 8.7
      really IGN really, mind you I have not read this issue but still 8.7 seems really high for a Tony Daniel scribe Batman. also they go as far to blame DC editoral for Tony Daniel’s debacle of BFTC.

      • Ya, I think that IGN’s comics reviews totally suck. Almost as bad as Newsarama.

        J.

      • This is why I don’t read online review sites that are huge like IGN, Newsama, CBR, and so on because they usually give terrible comic books good scores.

      • Benicio127 says:

        That’s interesting, because in an interview, Tony Daniel himself says Battle for the Cowl was all him.

        My favourite bits of those interviews include the part when Daniel said he initially wanted Tim Drake to tell Jason he was going to kill him while crowbarring him. Really? Tim Drake? Say that he was going to kill Jason? Really? Luckily it didn’t make it in, but the fact is Daniel still thought about including it.

        And the bit that really angers me in one of those interviews is when Daniel said he purposefully set out to get rid of any of the “grey” that Jason Todd has as a character and make him an irredeemable and evil villain. Yep, that’s good writing 101.

  10. MicahSkin says:

    Well next time you have a massive music video post-a-palooza, I’ll just pop up some Azad… Hot Iranian Kurdish born guy who emigrated to Germany and is a rapper. SO HOT! Oh yeah, he raps good too…

    As for the comic. I asked the owner of the comic store I go to how he can sell schlock like Rulk and BMB with a straight face. he got all pissy at me telling me they were works of Genius. Guess I’ll have to go to Mile High Comics if I want to get good stuff. Just as well. I couldn’t stand the Nutwhack radio that was always on anyway.

  11. generaldark says:

    omg this is the first time i didnt pick up “batman” i open it up and read the first word ballon i found and the dialouge was already awful! GIVE ME BACK WINICK!!!!!!!!….and bagely :)

  12. I enjoyed this comic. Sounds like your typical Nit picking to me. But then again you guys praise invincible ya know the series that is overrated as fuck.

    • Locusmortis says:

      Criticising shitty writing and art is called nitpicking now is it?

    • So now Invincible is overrated and Tony Daniel’s Batman is awesome? That is easily the funniest shit I have heard all week.

      And no, it’s not really nitpicking when the comic is done terribly on every level. It’s just fact that it is a piece of shit.

      J.

      • Mitiators says:

        Tony Daniel’s work isn’t that bad. Its certainly no Liefeld or anything. Its just uninspired. It reminds me of the work done in the 90′s. In the 90′s it was really popular to mimic the work of big guns at the time. There were Jim Lee clones, Rob Liefeld clones, McFarlane clones, and so on. Tony Daniel’s work just comes of as a not as good Jim Lee attempt. I think that’s why it sells. People want Jim Lee so they settle with Tony Daniel. Now the writing on the other hand…

  13. Pobra says:

    If all TV commercials were like that, I would probably watch more TV. Conversely, if all comic books were like Tony Daniel books, I would have to give up on them forever.
    I feel like comics are degenerating back to what they were in the 90′s. Tony Daniel, Holofoil and variant covers, Jeph Loeb, that piece of shit “Haunt” book… the renaissance is over people, welcome back to the dark ages…

    • I’ll drink to that my friend.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        I hate to come off as cynical, because there are some really great books out there, but if the sales charts are any indication of where the industry is headed (with the exception of some DC books) we could be in for some real shit. I’m not trying to get on my soap box here, I have pretty “pedestrian” taste in comics myself, but you’ve got to call a spade a spade. And I don’t understand why people are criticizing you for criticizing these books, someone has to do it! Oh well, guess that’s what happens when you’re in the minority. Keep fighting the good fight J!

    • Deemar says:

      No not yet, the seventh sign is upon us. A plague of Loeb, a swarm of Foil covers, rivers run red with the blood of fanboy virgins (Thats a lot of fucking blood)the betrayl of Alan Moore, Aquaman actually landing a solo title in the top ten, Chuck Austen DC publisher and the Beast….

      LIEFELD MUST RISE

  14. mbell028 says:

    I’ve only gotten through the first 30 issues of Invincible and I must say that’s one of my favorite comic books whoever said it’s overrated is fucking retarded.
    Matt

  15. Fallows1985 says:

    I thought I’d give the book a try, read the preview on DC’s website (didn’t have to pay unlike Marvel). But I think Dante1SavageFilms’ statement in his Batman and Robin youtube review summed the book up for me “this is a bigger pile of shit than one Jeff Goldblum encountered in the jurassic park movie”. :P

Leave a Reply

