Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: August 24, 2010 in DC Comics, Image, Marvel

It’s the last week of the month so you know it’s gonna be big, right? Sigh…here’s what I’m buying on Wednesday:

Action Comics #892
Dynamo 5 Sins of the Father #3
Fantastic Four #582 (Jonathan Hickman)
Guarding the Globe #1
Invincible #74
Prince of Power #4 (Amadeus Cho is awesome)
Secret Warriors #19 (Haven’t even read the last issue I bought, may be done with this book)
X-Factor #208 (Peter David)
Wonder Woman #602

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to reading Avengers #4. That’s my new All Star Batman and Robin. Gets more and more terrible every issue. That in turn makes it more and more enjoyable to me.

J.

Comments
  1. megamanx4ever says:

    Avengers #4 (last chance for this to get better before I drop it.)
    Guarding the Globe #1 (might pick this up instead of Avengers.)
    Invincible #74
    Savage Dragon #163

    I may pick up issues 2-4 of Legion of Super Heroes since I read the first issue and thought it was pretty good.

  2. Bboyce109 says:

    DC

    Batman #702
    Detective Comics #868
    Green Arrow #3
    Justice League Generation Lost #8
    Justice League of America #48
    Time Masters Vanishing Point #2
    Wonder Woman #602

    MARVEL

    Avengers #4
    Captain America #609
    Fantastic Four #582
    Secret Warriors #19
    Shadowland Moon Knight #1

    • Bboyce109 says:

      Hey Jose i heard that Secret Warriors is coming to an end, marvel keeps on mentioning it with the solicitations for every month. Anyway how likely will they end the series and start it up again a few months from now, because i have been reading this series for a couple issues and its a damn good story.

  3. kurumais says:

    action 892
    cap 609
    cap 1940 newspaper strip
    billy batson and the magic of shazam
    black widow
    prince of power love it in my top 5 right now
    spider girl the end
    maybe the 1 dollar conan and goon books
    taking a look at namor the first mutant, wonder woman justice league generation lost and green arrow

  4. Insideman says:

    Batman the Bat and the Beast
    Complete Peanuts 1975-1978 Box Set
    Crusades Vol 1 Knight HC
    Existence 2.0/3.0
    Iron Saint
    Kade Red Sun
    Koni Waves Perfect Waves
    Mighty Vol 2
    Night Bookmobile
    Noble Causes Vol 10 Ever After
    Savage Dragon United We Stand
    Siege Thunderbolts HC
    Superman Batman Night and Day HC
    Tales Of Dragon Guard HC
    Thor Son Of Asgard
    Zombie Warriors

  5. Pobra says:

    Batman #702
    Fantastic Four #582
    Secret Warriors #19
    Wonder Woman #602

    does anyone know when the ‘Joe the Barbarian’ hardcover is supposed to come out?
    has the series even ended yet?

  6. TheMSpot says:

    Dynamo 5 Sins of the Father #3
    Invincible #75
    Guarding the Globe #1
    and Chew Omnivore Edition vol.1 because I think I need something to review on my blog.

  7. SmokeyClocks says:

    Green Arrow #3
    Prince of Power #4
    Invincible #75
    Guarding the Globe #1
    The BulletProof Coffin 2-3 (picked up number 1 on a recommendation and enjoyed it so I figure I will give the next two a shot.)

    • SmokeyClocks says:

      Whoops I meant Invincible 74 as well. Also, just as a suggestion Jose, every week everyone posts up what they’re getting but sometimes we never really hear what they think about what they are buying. I know people discuss this in the open thread but it very often gets buried by many other posts. Maybe it would be possible to make a pick/bomb of the week thread where people are able to share their opinion on what they bought that week.

  8. vegedge says:

    can we see a Fantastic four review next week?

    hickman has been so fucking good on this title from the start. good to see other people are reading it on here.

    i am getting:

    fantastic four 582

    batman 702

    is this the start of the new action comics?

  9. phil says:

    Other than perhaps making light of somebody else’s picks in the future this is probably my last posting on this type of thread…..for a while anyway. I’ve been trying to stay away from that 8ball for a while now, but alas I’m finally behind it, so I’m gonna have one final blast for ’10 and then it’s the world of trades in ’11 (primarily)

    my list as follows;

    Superman 700 and 702
    WW 600,1,2
    B & R….???
    B o P….3??
    Gr8 10…9…

    DD…..???
    S’land..???
    Shield..3??
    DoomWar 5&6
    Batman Odyssey….2

    Morning Glories 1
    Back issue and bargain stuff
    and whatever I may have missed

  10. Chris says:

    Scalped #40

  11. Well, I was planning to not buy any new comics this week because I spent a crapload of money on comics at Wizard World, but this comic is an exception to that:

    – Invincible#74 (It’s about time!!!)

    Busy reading Scott Pilgrim!!! I bought all six volumes and I’m almost halfway through volume 4! I’m LOVING this series. Best comic I’ve read in a while. Thanks SO much for recommending this series you guys! Now I want to get that Scott Pilgrim plush set! Sucks that they haven’t made a Kim Pine plushie :( She and Scott are my favorite characters in the series.

  12. Something I just noticed on all of this week’s DCU titles:

    If it is $2.99 then the price appears next to the issue number in the top left corner in a BIG font. If it $3.99 or more they hide the price in the barcode as usual. Interesting.

    J.

    • cballsack says:

      Shady bastards.

      • Didn’t say it was shady nor was I accusing DC of anything. I just said I found it interesting.

        J.

        • cballsack says:

          Right, I said it.

          • I would really like to know the story behind why they are doing this. Their $2.99 books are now out numbered by the ones that are $3.99 and more. By doing this DC us kinda pointing out the fact that they no longer have that many $2.99 books. Doesn’t make sense.

            J.

            • Insideman says:

              They’re just trying to bring attention to the cheaper $2.99 books and use that as a sales point. They aren’t thinking that their audience has graduated past 3rd grade and can make the kind of comparison you made.

              Remember the old Marvel comics that have the huge burst “STILL ONLY 35¢!” on the cover? That’s cause DC had dared go to 40 cents each.

              I really can’t imagine a kid back then going, “I’ll buy Spider-Man instead of Batman because Spider-Man is 5 cents cheaper…” But the companies thought that made a huge difference.

              Apparently they still do… Except I will argue that a $1 seems like a much bigger difference than 5 cents… Even with inflation factored in.

              • cballsack says:

                That 5 cents really did make a huge different back then, especially when you were a kid getting an allowance of 50 cents a week or whatever. It definitely affected my early buying habits.

                • Insideman says:

                  5 cents wouldn’t have changed my early buying habits. 50 cents, 75 cents maybe. And then, I would ask the owner to hold the book until I could come back the next week and buy it.

                  • Insideman says:

                    Plus we’re talking 1979 and up at this point. Most kids were making more than a 50 cent a week allowance.

                    • cballsack says:

                      Well, I won’t claim to speak for other kids, but I was getting 50 cents in 1979.

                    • Insideman says:

                      Yes, you can’t.

                    • Insideman says:

                      Getting back on topic– that’s why I think they’re doing it Jose. $1 seems like a big difference… So they are appealing to people on a budget with the BIG FONT.

                      Smart move. Depending on the title– and the bigger $1 difference I already mentioned, it will probably help a few books… Until they raise them to $3.99

  13. Bello says:

    Hey what’s up guys? This week I’ll be getting:
    Action Comics 892
    Batman 702
    Invincible 74
    Unknown Soldier 23

    Good week of Comics it’s felt like quite a while since the last issue of Invincible. I’m def going to need to reread 701 before reading Batman 702 I really don’t know what’s going on or just don’t remember. Great week of comics and they overcharged me last week for my books so I’m getting this week’s books for cheap.

  14. NoEmoDaredevil says:

    Batman 702
    Gotham City Sirens 15
    Green Arrow 3
    Wonder Woman 602
    Black Widow 5
    Shadowland: Moon Knight 1 (Hell yeah!)
    Darkness: Four Horsemen 1
    Guarding The Globe 1
    Invincible 74

  15. tomstewdevine says:

    Action Comics #892
    Justice League Generation Lost #8
    Wonder Woman #602
    Scalped #40
    Fantastic Four #582
    Heroic Age Prince of Power #4
    X-Men Curse of Mutants Blade #1
    Gravel #20
    Robocop #6

    Mostly looking forward to Scalped, What is Science Dog?

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I don’t think I realized that you were reading Prince of Power J. Cho is the shit.

    • Science Dog is a comic that exists in the world of Invincible. Mark (Invincible) reads the comic and even has a poster of Science Dog on a wall in his room. There have been a couple of back up stories of Science dog in issues of Invincible. The comic that comes out this week reprints those stories.

      J.

      • Insideman says:

        Do you think this will be a cool collection, Jose?

        I’ve read Invincible in trades and these stories aren’t in the trades. But I do have the 5 Invincible Ultimate Collection Hardcovers. Did Kirkman put the Science Dog stories in as extras there? (I haven’t cracked open the plastic yet… I want to sit and reread like 150 issues in a row someday.)

  16. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    USAGI YOJIMBO #131
    ACTION COMICS #892
    BATMAN #702 (My last issue of Batman until GM & Tony Daniel are gone from Batman–for good, just leave me w/ Batman Odyssey thank you Neal Adams)
    JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA #48 (a JLA/JSA crossover ends)
    LEGION OF SUPER HEROES #4
    SUPERMAN SECRET ORIGIN #6 (OF 6) (seriously this book better be worth it for the four month delay since issue #5)
    WONDER WOMAN #602
    FANTASTIC FOUR #582
    X-MEN FOREVER 2 #6

    From last week:
    HULK #24 (I skipped 23 issues of crap for the big fight scene)

    Matthew

  17. SteveMcQ says:

    Fantastic Four is probably the only new book I’ll pick up.

    I’ll be going to St Louis this weekend for the first time since unfortunate circumstances forced me to move back to the crummy town where I grew up. I’ll be hitting the shops and catching up on all the books that I’ve missed out on over the last three months. I’ll Pick up some trades as well. The three that are on my must buy list are:

    *The Sword Vol.2 – Bought vol 1 a few months ago and loved it. One of the best books I’ve read in quite some time.
    *Chew Vol. 1 – Time to finally jump on board
    *Mysterious the Unfathomable – Has anyone read this? All I know is that it’s Jeff Parker. Sold.

    • Insideman says:

      Mysterius the Unfathomable is one of the best Jeff Parker books I have ever read.

      I’ve touted it a few times… You just missed it.

      You should love the book, SteveMcQ!

  18. generaldark says:

    batman
    JLGL
    invincible

  19. Deemar says:

    Pretty decent week for me!

    Detective Comics #868
    Superman Secret Origin #6
    Fantastic Four #582
    Secret Warriors #19
    Thor #613
    Guarding the Globe #1 (Formerly titled Guardians of the Globe)
    Invincible #74
    Science Dog Special #1

  20. Lobis says:

    Hi… im a new reader, im starting a comic book collection and i have like three weeks buying comics, i was thinking in buying

    namor the first mutants #1
    x-men curse of mutants:blade #1
    x-men curse of the mutants:storm and gambit #1
    avengers #4
    i think i will get Scarlet #1 (2nd print) i heard good thinks about it

    im new in this of comics if you can give me some recomendation about comics i will say thx >)

    i have this comics and make me a suggestion
    x-men curse of mutants #1 and #2
    avengers #1,2. im thinking in buying issue 3 and 4 this week
    new avengers #1,2,3
    x-factor sex and violence #1
    and superman #702 i buy this because i like a lot superman and the ending was kool.

    well thats all i have for now and waiting for the next comics to come up this week >) im really addicted now LOL

    • kurumais says:

      get out now before its too late!!!!! before the addiction sets in

      • Insideman says:

        Actually we all should be pointing Lobis towards all kinds of cool things to buy.

        He’s already in. ;-)

        You guys know RIGHT NOW what’s the best. Help Lobis out. I can only tell him what Hardcovers and Trades are good… And as we all know– some great thing I am reading right now could be toast on the newsstands by the time I catch up.

      • Lobis says:

        lol i think its late x)

    • Deemar says:

      welcome to CCW and we will commence learning you in COMICS!

    • For current on-going series I recommend:

      – Invincible Iron Man
      – Invincible
      – Chew

      For previous stories in Trade Paperback form… here are several I liked off the top of my head:

      – Scott Pilgrim
      – Pride of Baghdad
      – Blankets
      – Daredevil: Born Again
      – Batgirl: Year One
      – Superman: Red Son
      – Kraven’s Last Hunt
      – The first 50 issues of Amazing Spider-Man (collected in Marvel Masterworks and re-printed in Marvel Tales).
      – Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Don’t read DK2… it sucks)
      – Batman: Year One

      • Lobis says:

        maybe its a obvious .. but is goood for new reader to start with on-going series if this have a lot of issues for example.

        invinsible #74 if i didnt read the past issues
        i hear about chew to, its a good comic but its already on #13

        some suggestions please maybe its a bad question , but is better asking than not..! LOL xd

        • You can always buy the trade paperbacks for Chew and Invincible to help you catch up.

          As far as monthly books I recommend all of the books I am buying this week that are on my list.

          J.

          • Lobis says:

            thx J i think i will buy chew , invincible, scarlet (2nd print) and guardian of globe #1 and maybe action comics 892#
            wow i have to catch up a lot

            another comics a will buy
            namor first mutant #1
            x-men curse of mutants blade #1 and storm and gambit #1
            avengers 3-4 to catch up

            wow i will need to spend like $35 us. this week >)

            • kurumais says:

              well you can read this and previous what are you getting threads and see what titles keep popping up on lots of folks posts and give them a shot
              my favorite titles right now are
              batgirl
              atlas
              prince of power basically a continuation of pak and van lente’s hercules series
              shield
              secret six
              i also highly recommend the goon which i buy in trades they are selling a 1 dollar issue this week
              if any of that helps

        • Regarding Invincible a new story-arc started a few months ago. I’d start by looking for the Invincible Returns one-shot, then work your way up from #71.

  21. Avengers 4 (What a waste of everything).

    Black Widow 5 (Still picking this up: not bad, but not amazing or something)

    Dark Wolverine 90 (Last ish of this run and then it becomes Daken 1, but I”m not going for that new series)

    Secret Warriors 19 (this series is going to end at issue 24)

    Guarding the Globe 1 & Science Dog: If my LCS ordered these…

    Its a crappy week for me..

  22. Heck says:

    I need to start reading Invincible.

  23. Stamps says:

    Batman #702
    Detective Comics #868
    Gotham City Sirens #15

  24. dynamo 5 sins of the father 3 (i’m loving this series)

    action comics 892 (old lexie still has a few stories in him and paul cornell is the perfect writer to bring it out

    generation lost 8 (i’m loving judd winick at the minute)

    fantastic four 582 (hickman that’s all i have to say)

    prince of power 4 (last one of the series rocking that suit is amadeus i need a suit like that)

    big week for me not next week though might look for a good trade next week

  25. zcorp says:

    DC
    Action Comics #892
    Batman #702
    Green Arrow #3
    Legion of Super Heroes #4
    Wonder Woman #602

    Marvel
    Fantastic Four #582
    Secret Warriors #19
    Thor #613
    X-Factor #208

Leave a Reply

