Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: August 30, 2010 in Dark Horse, DC Comics, Marvel, Radical Publishing

Seems like a decent new comics week. Not too much, not too little. I don’t ever remember what happened in the last issue of Last Days of American Crime. I’ll just have to reread the last two issues before getting to the new one. Here’s what I am buying on Wednesday:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer #36
Gorilla Man #3 (Jeff Parker)
Last Days of American Crime #3 
Marvel Universe vs The Punisher #3 (Jonathan Maberry, Goran Parlov)
REBELS #20
Scarlet #2 (Can it be as good as the first issue? Kinda doubt it.)

What are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Mike F says:

    I have hope for Scarlet.

    I really do. But, we’ll see soon enough. I might just get that and Shadowland.

  2. megamanx4ever says:

    Brightest Day #9
    Jonah Hex #59
    Haunt #9

    Nice light week for me.

  3. Tonight’s my last night of summer and freedom :( Not looking forward to school AT ALL. Anyway to keep me distracted I’ll be getting:

    -Scarlet#2 (I pray that this is as good as #1)

    That’s really about it, unless I can think of a back issue I missed out on.

  4. TheMSpot says:

    Freedom Fighters #1
    Marvel U. vs The Punisher #3
    Scarlet #2

  5. generaldark says:

    freedom fighters
    brightest day
    MU vs. Punisher
    rebels

    i might not pick up the last issue of gorilla man, i honestly phased in and out of the last issue. i just dont care as much i geuss. aoa is still sweet dont get me wrong.

  6. Heck says:

    I’ve offically gone full trade. I’ve finally done it!

    • Insideman says:

      Good for you Heck! If you want any advice, I’ve read just about every trade released in the last ten years!

      Unfortunately, there was a LOT of crap in that pile.

      • Heck says:

        Anyone certain ones stand out as must reads?

        I realized that the only comic I really truly look forward to is “The Unwritten” so I can just get the trades (low price) and save myself from buying a lot of the junk I ussually get. That’ll give me the extra cash to try other stuff too.

        • Pobra says:

          yeah, i’ve trimmed my pull list down to stuff that i just want to stay current with and pick up everything else in trade/HC. I find it’s a more enjoyable experience, i’m even considering selling my issues of Chew and Sweet Tooth to pick them up in trade. But i don’t mind reading a few super hero books in floppy, keep up the traditional weekly trip to the LCS. If i went full trade, i probably wouldn’t read super hero books anymore, very few anyway.

          • Heck says:

            The only superhero books I read normally are Superman, Supergirl, Wonder Woman, Daredevil, and Thor.

            I dropped Daredevil after Brubaker left and Thor after JMS left. Wonder Woman I sorta dropped after Simone, but got one of the JMS issues and thought it was kinda dull. It would read better in the trades.

            With Superman, it just seems like everything they can do to distance him from the character I’ve grown up loving, has been (or is being) done.

            I’m pretty much down with regularly buying superhero comics. I like Supergirl (stories are fun, art is great) but it doesn’t justify being my only DC book.

  7. Bboyce109 says:

    DC

    Brightest Day #9
    Red Hood Lost Days #4
    Superman the Last Family of Krypton #2

    MARVEL

    Avengers Childrens Crusade #2
    I Am An Avenger #1
    Incredible Hulks #612
    Iron Man 2 Agents of Shield #1
    Origins of Marvel Comics X-Men #1
    Shadowland #3
    Shadowland Elektra #1
    Taskmaster #1

    • generaldark says:

      idk…seems like alot of unnecessary marvel books. actually 3 or 4….IMO

      • Bboyce109 says:

        which ones besides Iron Man 2 Agents of Shield #1 which was a mistake im not getting that issue.

        • generaldark says:

          I Am An Avenger #1
          Origins of Marvel Comics X-Men #1
          Shadowland Elektra #1

          those would be the ones i dont think are necessary. these are my opinions tho.

          • TheGateJester says:

            I concur.

            • tomstewdevine says:

              I say buy what makes YOU happy.

              • generaldark says:

                i want to be happy to >_<

                • You buy the most unnecessary book of all GD, Brightest Day. Glasses houses and all that stuff.

                  J.

                  • Bboyce109 says:

                    I Am An Avenger #1 (im just trying this one out most likely buying only this one issue unless its good)

                    Origins of Marvel Comics X-Men #1(Just got into X-Men not that long ago, so i want to see wheres it at even though i could use wiki)

                    Shadowland Elektra #1(Im reading Shadowland and this is one of the few tie ins im going to read)

                    All the stuff i buy makes me happy until i finally realize the material inside turns to crap. Im still reading Brightest Day and even though its on the borderline of being dropped i will continue on reading it until i feel its necessary not to anymore.

  8. Insideman says:

    HARDCOVERS & GRAPHIC NOVELS

    A.D. New Orleans After the Deluge GN
    Amazing Screw On Head & Other Curious Objects HC

    Angel: Barbary Coast GN
    Atomic Robo Volume 4: Other Strangeness GN
    Berona’s War Field Guide GN
    Dantes Divine Comedy: A Graphic Adaptation HC

    Invincible Volume 13: Growing Pains GN
    Kevin Smith Green Hornet Volume 1: Sins of the Father HC
    Legendary Talespinners GN
    Red Sonja: Wrath of the Gods Volume 1 GN
    
Siege: New Avengers HC

    Spider-Man Complete Clone Saga Epic Book 3 GN
    Starkweather: Immortal HC (with Dust Jacket)
    
Stitches: A Memoir GN

    Syndrome GN
    Torch GN

    Vampire Hunter D Volume 15 (Prose Novel)
    We Will Bury You Volume 1
 GN
    Witchblade Volume 8 GN

    COMICS:
    Veronica #202

  9. kurumais says:

    sept 1st
    secret six
    cap forever allies 2
    gorilla man 3

    maybees
    buffy
    young allies
    freedom fighters 1
    1 month to live
    Scarlet 2
    Taskmaster 1
    Our world at war

  10. tomstewdevine says:

    Jonah Hex #59- I’m going to start to pick this up instead of Brightest Day.
    Secret Six #25
    Superman the Last Family of Krypton #2 – Elseworlds is back, need I say more?
    House of Mystery #29
    Jack of Fables #47
    Sweet Tooth #13
    Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom #4 – Chris Sprouse
    Marvel Universe vs Punisher #3
    Scarlet #2
    Wolverine #1 – I am not a huge Wolverine fan, but this story is by Jason Aaron and was supposed to be a hellblazer story but he changed it to be a wolverine story, so I will check this out.
    Young Allies #4
    Boys #46
    Hellboy The Storm #3
    Last Days of American Crime #3
    Stumptown #4

    Holy shit big week huh?

  11. tomstewdevine says:

    What’s going on with this freedom fighters?

  12. MU VS The Punisher #3
    Frankencastle #20
    Scarlet #2
    The Boys #46 (Yeah, it is getting kinda boring, plus the issues got a dollar more expensive)

    Maybe, Our Army at War #1

    And I’m gonna order Invincible HC #5

  13. I forgot I, Zombie #5…Did everyone stop reading that book?

  14. Stamps says:

    This makes two really light weeks for me in a row:

    Batman Confidential #48
    Marvel Universe vs The Punisher #3
    Haunt #9

  15. superman last family of krypton 2 (loving this really good new take on how supes is and what makes him human more that krytonian)

    avengers the childrens crusade 2 (my avengers are back and i need a young avengers ongoing)

    marvel universe vs punisher 3 (this series is nearly over next mahberry is going to do a captain america series)

  16. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    1 FOR A DOLLAR GROO
    HELLBOY THE STORM #3 (OF 3)
    SUPERMAN THE LAST FAMILY OF KRYPTON #2 (OF 3)
    INCREDIBLE HULKS #612
    MOUSEGUARD LEGENDS OF THE GUARD #3 (of 4)

    Matthew

  17. Bell0 says:

    Hey what’s up guy’s this week I’ll be getting:
    Marvel Universe Vs the Punisher 3
    Scarlet 2
    Secret Six 25

    A light week for me, which isn’t a bad thing really looking forward to all of these books. If my shop has it I may grab Guarding the Globe 1.

  18. SmokeyClocks says:

    Looks like a light week
    Shadowland 3
    Taskmaster 1
    Haunt 9

  19. Pobra says:

    MU Vs. Punisher #3
    Scarlet #2
    Shadowland #3
    Sweet Tooth #13 (just re-read the Essex County collection last night, Lemire is one talented mofo)

  20. TheGateJester says:

    Jonah Hex #59
    Rebels #20
    Secret Six #25
    Superman the Last Family of Krypton #2
    I Zombie #5
    Sweet Tooth #13
    Gorilla Man #3
    Marvel Universe vs Punisher #3
    Scarlet #2
    Stumptown #4 (bout time sheesh its been like 6 months since the last issue)

    Maybe, but probably not unless they knock my sox off
    Freedom Fighters #1
    Thor For Asgard #1
    Wolverine #1

  21. Since I have had a couple of people tell me it was good I will also be picking up the Wilson HC by Dan Clowes today.

    J.

  22. IronMuskrat says:

    Well, finally getting settled into my new work schedule and one of the few good things about it is my new off days will allow me to pick up comics on Wednesday from now one… Now if I have the energy to read them =)

    Rebels #20- This should be a pretty good issue, one of my all time favorite characters shows back up in this issue and I think it will make for a great time for the readers.

    Marvel Universe vs. The Punisher #3- Issue three already? A fast paced release schedule to match a fast paced story, I wasn’t expecting a showdown between Frank and Spider..Errr.. I mean Patient Zero this quick, but hey.. like I said.. fast paced story..

    I might pick up another book or two, but to be honest I have been out of the loop for awhile and don’t know what else to pick up this week.

    IM

  23. Chris says:

    Stumptown #4

  24. Lobis says:

    well this is the first month im reading comic books and is amazing…
    i buy last week chew #11,#12, guardian the globe#1 and invinsible returnt one shot

    damn chew is really great for me i have to look for the paperback and number 13
    invincible and guarding the globe im not sure i didnt enjoy both maybe because im new of this of comics im not sure.

    well and this week this is my list

    X-men: curse of the mutants smoke and blood #1 (one shot) damn this serie for me is great
    wolverine # 1 and Wolverine road to hell (one shot) im enjoy the wolverine character i will make a shoot on this
    scarlet#2 well i will try this too i heard good things about this

    ………………………………………………………………………………..

    and for new comics

    freedom fighters#1 i think this is gonna be great i read the preview and is pretty good

    xD Lobis Out.

  25. zcorp79 says:

    DC
    Brightest Day #9
    Rebels #20
    Secret Six #25

    Marvel
    Shadowland #3

Leave a Reply

