CCW’s Character of the Week

Posted: July 11, 2009 in Character of the Week, DC Comics
Tags: ,

GL 43 Black Hand

Who: William Hand a.k.a The Black Hand

Where: Green Lantern #43

Why: After almost giving up on Geoff Johns and this title, the introduction of The Black Hand (as well as Doug Mahnke’s superb art) make this a very exciting issue indeed. Johns lays the groundwork for the character who looks to be “The Big Bad” in the Blackest Night crossover event. Having been on the fence about Blackest Night, I am now on board and looking forward to the mini-series’ first issue next week.

Look for our review of Green Lantern #43 next week on the CCW You Tube Channel.

J.

Comments
  1. Saar says:

    Awesome.
    Haven’t read it yet, ’cause my shop will only get July 1-15 comics on the 15th but on the 15 I will read GLC #38, GL #43 BN #1 and Tales of the corps #1!
    Can’t fucking wait! all of those GL’s story at ones!!!

    Not mention I will also get IIM #15, Reborn #1, ASM #599 and Tsubasa 22! Paradise!

  2. Aaron E says:

    And I thought Red Hulk was going to be character of the week! Just joking. I haven’t gotten into GL yet but I may give it a try. I buy too much comic books so its hard for me to give a book a try. btw thanx for reccomending Detective#854! When i saw that it was $3.99 I almost didn’t buy it, but I did and it was worth every penny! Are the recent issues of Batman any good? The Winick and Bagley ones? I was thinking of picking those up some time.

  3. generaldark says:

    If no one is into blackest night then they should read this issue because it will really get you pumped! i just wish they would put some kind of advisory on the cover because it is not for a young reader.

  4. Zcorp79 says:

    This issue really gives a new feel for Black Hand, by showing you how twisted this man really is.

  5. phil says:

    4 the 1st time in decades…l want 2 check out a GL comic, 4 what’s inside. The last four or five issues that l purchsased had a Stellfreeze cover, the rest were Bolland covers.
    My interest in blackest night is minimal. l just think that Mahnke is paired up w / the right comic lf the writng is good, that’s just gravy!

    k…0..

  6. phil says:

    Well I’ve picked up GL/BN prologue and BN, and alll I can say is: its gravy time!!!

    k….0..

Leave a Reply

