And Another One Bites the Dust

Posted: July 23, 2009 in Marvel, News
Tags: ,

The End of the Road

Jeff Parker posted over at his blog Parkerspace that Exiles will be canceled as of issue #6. Here’s a portion of what he had to say:

As for EXILES… well, as they say, you can’t save every patient. The best we did was a momentary blip with issue one of the relaunch, and sales went right back to where they were previously. In hindsight, maybe we should have waited a year or two before trying it. It was a blow to me, I was having a great time working with Salva Espin and Casey Jones, and felt I was getting into a good groove with issues that you’ll never see. At least Marvel did me a solid and gave me a double sized issue in 6 to wrap things up. Curious to see what you think of how it… choke… ends.

I guess that’s just one more Marvel book I won’t be buying in the near future. It could have been worse though. It could have been Agents of Atlas getting the chop. This book just got started and was pretty fun. I can’t believe it couldn’t last more than 6 issues. Most good books just can’t seem to survive in this industry. Speaking of which I will have my review of the last issue of Captain Britain and MI13 up later on.

J.

Here’s our original review of Exiles #1:

Comments
  1. Chris - CSTATB says:

    Seems a shame, I never read it though. It would be nice if Marvel were to push books like this, and also if they gave them a chance!

  2. Locusmortis says:

    Books like this get cancelled and yet the fanboys keep putting the same retarded comics at the top of the sales charts. Sometimes you have to wonder just how stupid people can be then you look at fanboys and you know

  3. Rob F says:

    I think the biggest thing that Exiles suffered from was a lack of cohesion after Winnick left. I think Parker is right, if the title had come back a little further down the road, it might have had success but the Exiles brand wasn’t as good anymore.

  4. Aelle3 says:

    God marvel are so poo, couldn’t we just have less dark tie-ins. I think as well that after Chris Claremonts shoddy run, the exiles brand probably picked up some negative connotations. A little bit like marvels decision not to use the Excalibur title again.

Leave a Reply

