A Cautionary Tale: Don’t Get Ripped Off This Week

Posted: July 28, 2009 in DC Comics, Marvel
Tags: ,

Rip Off

When you go to buy comics this week make sure you look through the books before you buy them. Two books this week may not be worth the $3.99 price tag for some people.

Dark Reign: The Goblin Legacy is a 50 plus page comic with only SIX pages of original art. It reprints Amazing Spider-Man #39 and 40 (which are recolored, whoopee) and has a bunch of filler material.

Half the issue of Blackest Night: Tales of the Lanterns #3 is a reprint (penciled art, not color, with “director’s cut” captions) of Blackest Night #0 which most of us got for FREE on Free Comic Book Day. I think that’s pretty shitty for DC to do in the last issue of a mini-series.

Just letting you guys know.

J.

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    well i rather blow my money towards DC then marvel.

  2. MatthewHex says:

    I cant believe taht about Tales #3. I’m gutted I’ve been enjoying the series so far. I expect it from Marvel but now DC too! Bastards. Would you be able to let me know what the new stories are about so I can decide whether or not to pick it up? That would be a great help. Thanks mate.

    • The two original stories in the issue were centered on Kilowog and Arisia. It shouldn’t take you more than a few minutes to read in the shop if you have the time. I skimmed through the issue and was going to buy it until I noticed the reprint. That’s when I decided not to pick it up so I don’t know what the other stories were actually about. I’ll read it myself next time I work though. Sorry I couldn’t be of anymore help.

      J.

  3. MatthewHex says:

    no that is a great help actually, thanks. I wanted confirmation that they were going to do a kilowog story which is what I had heard and was intereted in, so looks like Ill still be picking it up. Ill also be happy to complete the collection of the mini series, but these companies do take the piss. Its like you say on your show if we dont want to pay the $3.99 price tag dont buy the book, but it is harder said than done. Guess I’m too addicted. thanks again

  4. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    I just got done reading “Blackest Night: Tales of the Corps” and it actually was worth it. Don’t let the Zero-Issue reprint turn you off to the Kilowog and the Arisia storys, because you’ll be missing out on some great character story-telling and artwork.

Leave a Reply

