John Hughes 1950-2009

Posted: August 6, 2009 in Blogging, Geek Culture, Life, Movies
Tags:

80's Icon

Film writer, producer and director John Hughes passed away today in New York City at the age of 59. He is reported to have had a heart attack.

Some of his credits include National Lampoon’s Vacation, Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, Some Kind of Wonderful, Pretty in Pink, Uncle Buck, Mr. Mom, Weird Science and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

My childhood and young adult life is filled with memories of his films. I am sure people of my generation will find this news deeply depressing.

J.

Comments
  1. PILKK90 says:

    wow uncle buck, i havent seen that in years, and national lampoons were good, sucks this guy has passed on

  2. Elliott says:

    Man, I’m telling you, the news of John Hugh’s passing was the turd topping on the shit sundae this week has been.

    He will be sorely missed.

    Elliott

  3. comicbookdude89 says:

    Yeah it sucks that he’s gone now. Hope your week gets better Elliott and Jose!

  4. TheComicRant says:

    Man, this really sucks. Growing up, this guy’s films had such an impact on my way of writing and my view of comedy as a genre. He will be missed.

    SAVE FERRIS!

  5. Variant Girl says:

    OMG, the news of John Hughes passing away saddens me more than you’ll know. I am a HUGE 80’s freak, and the movies he made were so much apart of my growing up. His legacy will continue, and teens in generations to come hopefully will be able to celebrate his life and creative genius through the movies he made, and we all fell in love with. R.I P John you will be missed but NEVER FORGOTTEN !!

    You were indeed some kind a wonderful šŸ™‚

    I think I will have to pull out my collection of 80’s flicks and watch em’ over the weekend, your clip inspired me J.

  6. kurumais says:

    plus he had great taste in soundtracks the music from his movies is great
    i was stunned this was the first place saw the news the other night
    rip
    best wishes to his family

Leave a Reply

