What Would Johnny Cash Think About Being in Guitar Hero 5?

Posted: August 8, 2009 in Blogging, Life, Music, Video Games
Tags: ,

He is Number 1

I know it may seem a bit hypocritical of me to be all gung-ho for a Beatles Rock Band game while at the same time being totally against seeing Cash in GH5 (I don’t mind that his music is in the game) but that is how I feel. Paul and Ringo as well as Olivia Harrison and Yoko Ono did have approval of the Beatles: Rock Band final product. Besides giving their input during the games creation, all four of them were even at E3 this year to help promote it. I am sure that Activision (I kinda think of them as the Marvel Comics of the video game world) got the ok from Cash’s estate but still…

It just seems wrong, doesn’t it?

J.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Do you mean its wrong to use his likeness? I don’t really see the problem if his estate cleared it as you said. And of course it probably mean more sales having Johnny Cash in the game! (I’ve never actually owned a guitar hero – or any plastic guitar game).

    • There isn’t a “problem” since I am sure that the estate cleared it. I’m just saying that I kinda have a problem with it. That’s all. I don’t think that if he were alive today that we would be seeing him in the game. Doesn’t seem like that’s what Cash was about. I could obviously be wrong though.

      J.

  2. therichestmanintown says:

    Johnny Cash doesn’t belong anywhere near Guitar Hero, he doesn’t shred, he uses chords.

  3. comicbookdude89 says:

    Well…judging from the picture not very well! lol

  4. Locusmortis says:

    I bet they don’t even mention Carl and Luther Perkins who actually played the electric guitar in Cash’s band.

  5. Variant Girl says:

    Hell no, I can’t see Mr. Cash being apart of this unless some of the procceeds would be donated to charity, he was all about giving to people who needed a little help.

    No offense to Guitar Hero or Rockband, both are fun games which I have played, but it just seems like something I could not see him being into. Johnnt Cash was not mainstream, even in his day. But sadly the legend is dead now so he really doesn’t have a say on what his estate “okays”, and unfortunately sometimes family memebers, and the people in charge of his estate make the wrong choices souly based on money making opportunities to be had, and not being consisitent with the man’s nature or beliefs.

    BTW cool picture I have a t-shirt with the same pic on it 🙂 I love vintage tee’s.

  6. funkysideup says:

    I wonder what songs they used??
    He did some cool covers like rusty cage and personal jesus.
    Either way, if he were still kickin’ I bet he would’ve told the good folks at GH to go screw.

Leave a Reply

