CCW*TV Nation REVIEWS: AOD-Ash Saves Obama

Posted: August 20, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

AODObama01covnauk-thumb-520x780-12025
Ok, time to turn the tables! You guys listen to Jose and I review books all the time, now it’s YOUR turn to do a review of your own. And guess what, you get to review MY BOOK, Army of Darkness: Ash Saves Obama #1. So use the comment feature to submit your review of my book, and the best ones (most insightful, funniest, most clever – I’m lookin’ at YOU PinkHamsterino) will be read on the the show!

Elliott

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Damn… I really want to enter this. Hopefully I can get it over the weekend. When is the deadline?

  2. Dan says:

    Ahh, here we go. Only took one day from my suggestion to now somewhere to post. Oh, and in the interests of full disclosure to anyone who particularly might care, I am Elliott’s brother. But I did pay for issue #1. And I was never really fond of him anyway. So, there you go.

    Oh, and spoilers at your own risk……

    Given how the popularity of Obama has recently waned, plummenting to approval ratings once thought only appropriate for Bill Clinton, I was concerned the Obama effect would crowd out the book. Luckily the book confronted Obamania head on, and I gotta say really well.

    One of my favorite scenes was where Obama grabbed the 6 Billion Dollar Obama doll, and after a moment of awkard baited silence, he cracks the joke about his ears and how it should be “Trillion” instead. Not only was the moment classic Obama (for those of us who voted for him, and know that where he walks, flowers shall bloom for a thousand years), but it very succiently acknowledged how overblown his image has gotten and how people really need not take it all so seriously.

    But more importantly, Obama’s inclusion in the story doesn’t seem forced, nor does his presense appear to take over the story. Ash is still the man in charge, and watching him work in the back ground to figure out why exactly the Book of the Dead is now in glossy varient cover form is silly but fun, and completely keeping with Ash’s universe. The jokes I think pretty much all worked well. And I have to admit i actually laughed out loud when I read that kid yell “metal monkey paw” at Ash, even though i sill haven’t figured out why i found it so amusing.

    Though, one issue I had, creators putting themselves into their own comics, really Elliott? Yes, I know you eventually get choked, and possibly killed by a Deadite, but you couldn’t help yourself, could you?

    Overall I think it was a great set up for the rest of the series, and a enjoyable, easy read, even for those not very familiar with AOD. The story manages to adroitly address the underlying controversy of the book, while still telling a solid, fun story. Geniunely looking forward to issue #2. Which I may not demand for free from Elliott’s allowed comps.

    Dan.

    ….. Oh, and one more thing that occured to me. When i thought about how everyone is so aggravated that Obama is in comics at all, it reminded me that my favorite comic book character right now, Booster Gold, was introduced to the world by Ronald Reagan. He was pretty much a co-star during the Legends event in the 80’s. It’s like prople forget comics have always been about shameless marketing ploys, even when Republicans ran everything.

  3. Pobra says:

    here’s your pull-quote for the cover of the trade: “Elliott Serrano is the next Alan Moore, they should hire this guy to rewrite the Bible, the Qur’an AND the f@#$ing Necronomicon!”

    Seriously though, I picked this up today and thought it was very smart, funny, and I feel like it was one of the more relevant “Obama comics” to grace the stands. It seems like Elliott was having fun with this book and it makes for a fun read. It’s hard to find something negative to say about this book (and i’m not just kissing your ass to have my post read on the show), it really was a good book. Kudos Elliott.

  4. generaldark says:

    i finally read it and here is my short review. overall i liked it. wish i could have seen obamas face. i LOVED how you tried to sneak in the word “tits” that was amazing!!. i thought it was cool how you added your self in the book but at the end got eatin my a zombie XD. the only real downfall is that i couldnt beleive that was ash in the book. the way he was drawn and written. i just could not see bruce campbell in that book and thats what i look for when i read ash sadly. overall its a great issue and looks forward to #2

Leave a Reply

