Guitar Hero 5 Keeps it Classy

Posted: September 2, 2009 in Blogging, Horror, Life, Opinion, Video Games
Tags: ,

Kurt

A while ago I wrote about Johnny Cash ‘appearing’ in Guitar Hero 5. Didn’t think it was cool but it was legal so whatever. But there is one other person in Guitar Hero 5 whose appearance seems just as absurd. That person is Kurt Cobain.

Now, to be honest, I am not a fan of either Kurt Cobain or Nirvana. I do though respect their contribution to the music scene in the nineties. Unlike Cash, Cobain is a ‘playable’ character in GH5 and this leads to all sorts of wrong. I think it’s quite disgraceful and disrespectful what Activision has done here but that’s just my opinion.

J.

Comments
  1. therichestmanintown says:

    Any talk about Guitar orientated songs in Guitar Hero 5?

      • therichestmanintown says:

        Songs that are fun to play because the guitar parts are so complicated or awesome. Like Jordon, Through the Fire and the Flames, Take This Life, F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X., etc. Songs that make you feel like a guitar hero. Not necessarily the best songs but the songs that have the most triumphant guitar parts and are generally fun to play. Johnny Cash and Kurt Cobain aren’t know for their mind blowing guitar work, the belong more on Rock Band.

    • Ah, I see. I don’t know what songs are on Guitar Hero because I don’t play it. I stopped buying that franchise when Harmonix left to make Rock Band. So now I only play Rock Band. Plus, I fucking can’t stand Activision. Like I’ve said before, they are the Marvel of video game companies.

      J.

  2. Pobra says:

    that is really messed up, it goes against everything Kurt stood for. Hopefully black lantern Kurt Cobain comes back and decapitates the activision CEO’s with a guitar string.

  3. MicahSkin says:

    How did this come to pass? Did they have to get the rights for this kinda thing? I assume C. Love had to sign on for that, and given her bank account going up her nose, I can see it.

    I don’t like him or his music or the style(I remember going to the mall and seeing $250 flannel shirts) but this seems pretty crappy.

Leave a Reply

