CCW Question of the Week

Posted: September 17, 2009 in Question of the Week
Tags:

Can I Ax You Something

This week’s question:

What current titles are you interested in reading but haven’t checked out yet?

Working at a comic shop I get recommendations from people all the time about what books I should be reading. There just isn’t enough time or money to read to everything I want to though. These are some titles that I have been meaning to check out for a while:

Incredible Herc
Guardians of the Galaxy
Dead @ 17
Absolution
Irredeemable (Only read the second issue)
Conan (Dark Horse)
Fables
Air

What about you guys and dolls?

Comments
  1. Antonio says:

    Northlanders
    The Walking Dead
    Invincible
    Unknown Soldier
    The Mighty
    Secret Six
    Thor

    I got the first trades of Northlanders and the Walking Dead but haven’t got around to them yet.

  2. Chris says:

    After your post a week or so ago Jose, I’ve been intrigued by X-Factor. Its sounds like it might be a good X-Men/Mutants story, I feel like there few and far between now-a-days. Also I like other Peter David things that I’ve read before. How self contained is the X-Factor book?

    • It’s very self contained. That was most of it’s appeal for me. The one story that was a crossover was during Secret Invasion and that’s why I initially dropped it. I did pick up this week’s issue.

      There are 6 trades out so far for the series. If you can, start from the beginning. It is really good. Ryan Sook actually did the art for the first few issues.

      J.

  3. therichestmanintown says:

    Young Liars looks awesome but I don’t even know where to start. I’ve picked up a lot of The Mighty but haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet. Invincible and Walking Dead look good but I’ve never gotten a chance to read it and it’s already gone on for so long I feel really far behind. I should also catch up to Agents of Atlas I’ve only read up to issue two and love it. Captain Britain and MI-13 looks pretty sick, especially since they fight Dracula in space.

    • Antonio says:

      I got the first 8 issues of Young Liars and it might be the most fucked up thing I have ever read.

      you think you got a grasp of the story after the first arc but then it is NOTHING like what you thought it would be.

  4. Matthew Guy says:

    The Nobody HC after finishing up the Country Nurse vol.3 of the Essex Co. Trilogy last night. Neal Adams Batman HCs & to finish up reading John Byrne FF trades. Finally to this list, Jeff Smith’s Bone in one volume collection.

    Matthew

  5. comicbookdude89 says:

    Here are the titles that have sparked my interest and have not read… yet.

    -X-Factor
    -Gotham City Sirens
    -Doom Patrol
    -Irredeemable
    -Chew
    -New Mutants
    -Punisher

    There are probably others. I’m looking forward to the reboot of Powers? Have any of you guys read Powers? I think its some of Bendis’ best work.

  6. saar17 says:

    Nova
    Guardians of the Galaxy
    Criminal (I will start reading it next week)
    Secret Six

  7. Pobra says:

    Secret Six (not really into villain comics, but this one sounds really good)
    Invincible
    Agents of Atlas (just can’t seem to make its way on to my pull list)
    Nova
    Guardians of the Galaxy
    Sweet Tooth (I realize that there is only one issue out, but I’ve been meaning to pick it up)
    Wednesday Comics (waiting for a collected format)
    Last Days of Animal Man

  8. phil says:

    Carbon
    Empowered
    Executive Assistant:Iris
    Irredeemable
    Mr.Stuffins
    the NewGods yep…theKirby ones.

  9. Jedah Crow says:

    Usagi Yojimbo
    Jonah Hex
    Ex Machina
    The Mighty

    All of these get nothing but praise and I’m interested in them. I just never seem to be able to find a good jumping on point.

  10. Deemar says:

    1. Adventure Comics – I hear too many good things not to try it.

    2. Doctor VooDoo – It’s Remender, it’s Brother VooDoo it’s about time.

    3. Gravel – I was reading it up til ish 6 then dropped it because of limited funds, but since I’ve dropped Flash Rebirth and titles I like are being cancelled (AoA, CB&MI13 etc)

    4. Max Punisher – It’s Jason Aaron MoFos

  11. kurumais says:

    locke and key
    lone ranger read one issue i got from a dollar bin
    the metal men back up story dont like the doom patrol
    scalped
    the umbrella academy
    incognito

  12. thetum says:

    Action Comics (This comic really apeals to me for some reason)
    Brave and he Bold (J. Michael Straczynski is writing it now)
    J.S.A versus cobra
    Doctor Who (Ive never read any Doctor who comics)
    The Walking dead

    I’m glad to see so many people put Nova on their list, marvel still has a few really good comics left out there dying. Nova is sooo good though, Jose can we get a review of Nova any time?

  13. mbell028 says:

    I would love to read Walking Dead, but I’ve heard it’s one of those books you have to read from the beginning its an ongoing story, but I’ve heard it’s excellent.
    Also I would like to check out:
    1. Guardians of the Galaxy
    2. Nova
    3. Chew
    4. Superman New Krypton
    5. Fables
    6. Umbrella Academy

  14. Antonio says:

    I see some people want to get into Fables.

    1st oversized HC coming out THIS MONTH.

    I already bought the issues from the HC in the trade format and I am willing to pay for them again. IT’S THAT GOOD.

  15. thecomicrant says:

    Invincible
    Northlanders
    Ex Machina
    Doom Patrol
    Zorro (Dynamite)
    Madame Mirage
    Dead @ 17

  16. Linwood E. Knight says:

    I’m going to divide this post up into two parts, Jose.

    The first part being sounding off on some of the books you wanted to check out.

    – Incredible Herc: It’s one of the reads that makes me smile every time I turn the pages. Ever since this run started, Herc has been one of staple pulls every month. Herc is masterfully written, and Amadeus Cho is simply awesome. I’d start from the beginning, and start pulling it from last month’s 2 issues.

    – Guardians of the Galaxy: Read the first issue, but didn’t keep up with it, due to me not spending too much money on Comics, but I got Issue 17 last month, and it was awesome. Pick up Issue 18 when it comes out.

    – Fables: This got me back into comics, permanently. I picked up the first Trade early last year, and it took me nearly 3 weeks to pick it up and read it back in Feburary…I started picking up the Floppies in March, and was fully caught up by June. If I could only get one comic book a month, it would be this one. The Hardcover is coming out in 2 weeks, I wouldn’t miss it.

    – Air: I have one question for you? Are you willing to read a comic book that is has a very good story, but isn’t something that’ll give you instant satisfaction, but when the payoffs come, they’re worth every single day of the wait? If you’re willing to, then pick up the first Trade ASAP, and if your pull list can’t take the extra space, then just keep trade waiting on it. It may be a better way to read the story.

    – Northlanders: Do you like non Super Hero Comics? Do you like a gripping and engaging story? Do you like the Dark Age setting where the Nordic Warriors were some of the best in the world?
    If you even say yes to 1 of these, then pick this up.

    Now as for Part 2, and the books I want to check out.

    – Invincible from the beginning
    – 100 bullets
    – Ex Machina
    – Y: The Last Man
    – Dead @ 17
    – Irredeemable
    – Criminal
    – Incognito
    – Walking Dead
    – Captain Britain MI: 13 (It’s cancellation made me ALOT smarter about my pull list)
    – Usagi Yojimbo

    And that’s just for starters. I’m starting to pull away from the Superheros, and get more into the non-super hero comics.

  17. MatthewHex says:

    ex-machina – def want to check that out in tpb, its just getting round to it, I already read too much.

  18. kurumais says:

    wasnt there an mtv show dead at 17 once upon a time? does the comic have anything to do with that?

  19. Variant Girl says:

    J, can’t remember if I ever mentioned Dead@17 to you, but in any case I read it, very good story. The art was cool, but began to look the same after a while.

    Lock and Key
    Scalped
    Fables
    Planetary ( reading it at the moment so on my way with that.)
    Incredible Hec ( have heard good things, peeked my interest)

    There is sooo much more but too little time, too little money 😦

Leave a Reply

