Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: September 29, 2009 in Dark Horse, DC Comics, Marvel

Fear vs War

Typically the last Wednesday of the month is the biggest. Doesn’t seem to be the case though this week. Pickings seem a bit slim but that doesn’t mean there aren’t any great books making their way out. Here’s what I’ll be getting:

Aliens #3
Gotham City Sirens #4
Green Lantern #46
Secret Warriors #8
Thunderbolts #136
Wonder Woman #36
X-Factor #49

Now, this would usually be the point in this post where I would make a few insulting remarks about some of the shitty books also coming out this week but since some of you have feelings that are particularly fragile I’ll hold off just this once and leave all the insults for my Hulk #15 review later this week…if you’re lucky. And people say I don’t have a heart.

What’s everybody else buying this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Matthew Guy says:

    Most I am getting on Wednesday w/ some items a little later as b-day purchases

    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #607
    BLACKEST NIGHT TITANS #2
    FABLES DELUXE EDITION HC VOL 01 (MR)
    GOTHAM CITY SIRENS #4
    GREEN LANTERN #46 (BLACKEST NIGHT)
    HELLBOY LIBRARY ED HC VOL 03 CONQUEROR WORM & STRANGE PLACES (delay by 2 weeks as a b-day purchase)
    PREVIEWS #253 OCTOBER 2009
    SUPERMAN #692
    UMBRELLA ACADEMY TPB VOL 02 DALLAS (I plan on getting vol 1 of this series first also as a b-day purchase; read it & then get UA:Dallas soon after)
    WONDER WOMAN #36

    Matthew

  2. MatthewHex says:

    DC
    Green Lantern #46

    MARVEL
    Secret Warriors #8
    Spider-Man Clone Saga #1
    X-Factor #49
    X-Force #19
    X-Men Forever #8

    Pretty small week for me too. I dont know why i’m getting Clone saga, I’m not a spidey fan really but the train wreck of the clone saga being revisited appeals to me for some reason.

    J – I noticed you’re not picking up Superman, I thought you normally did because you liked the art (am I right?), have you dropped this title now?

    • Sharp eye. I have been picking it up and do like the art but I haven’t been too happy with the last two issues. I am going to flip through it at the shop and if it’s just more of the same I’m going to drop it. Remember that issue that just had a bunch of short stories that all ended in other books like annuals and specials? That’s where it started going bad for me. Hopefully I’ll like what I see this week and pick it up. I do like the Mon-El character quite a bit.

      J.

  3. Variant Girl says:

    I have a short list this week which is good for the ol’ wallet.

    Batman the Widening Gyre #2
    Dark Regin the Hood #5
    Wonder Woman #36
    possibley ASM #607, although I am getting tired of traveling through Peter Parker/ Spider-Man’s fucking love life. Can we get on with the crime fighting already.

    That’s it.

  4. comicbookdude89 says:

    ASM#607
    Green Lantern#46

    That’s all!

  5. Chris says:

    Wonder Woman #36 for sure. And maybe X-Factor 49, my mate had all the issues so I’ve almost managed to catch up!

  6. saar17 says:

    Buy:
    Thor #603
    Secret Warriors #8
    Green Lantern #46
    Amazing Spider-Man #607

    read:
    Blackest Night: Titans #2
    Dark Reign: The Sinister Spider-Man #4
    Shang-Chi: Master of Kung-Fu
    Spider-Man: The Clone Saga #1 (Just to see what this miniseries is all about)
    Thunderbolts #136

    Say Jose, what, in your opinion, is the best Batman’s series those days?
    I really want to start reading a Batman’s series and I don’t know which one to read… I’m not going to be start reading the Batman’s mine series because of tony danilles arc that is about to start. I’m thinking about starting reading Batman streets of gothem because some of the old villians are there, is it any good?

  7. thetum says:

    Last Days of Animal Man #5

    this would be the week i would be picking up Electric Sheep #4 but since funds are tight and i already have the actual book on my bookshelf i wont be picking it up. fucking 3.99 books…. i wish i could afford you.

  8. TheComicRant says:

    Wonder Woman #36
    Thor #603
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #4

  9. TheComicRant says:

    I cut way back on my purchases πŸ™‚

  10. kurumais says:

    a nice light week for me

    Gotham city sirens
    Thor
    Tbolts
    Sky pirates of neo terra read a good review of this a while back
    Ill take a look at shang chi

  11. Antonio says:

    Blackest Night Titans #2
    Green Lantern #46
    Justice Society of America #31
    Wonder Woman #36

    I also might order Fables Deluxe Edition Vol 1 HC
    off of Amazon.com this week. 10 bucks off πŸ™‚

  12. Pobra says:

    slow week for me too…

    ASM #607
    Green Lantern #46
    Punisher Annual #1
    Secret Warriors #8

    oh, and J, I wouldn’t worry about hurting anyone’s feelings. By now everyone should know what to expect from you. And I for one wouldn’t expect anything less than your brash and uncompromising opinions, no matter what the cost! Feelings be damned!

    P.S. (I wasn’t really that broken and defeated by your OML review. I knew what i was getting into before i even opened the book, i was just fucking around) πŸ™‚

  13. Dan Griffin says:

    Wonder Woman #36 (First time picking up this title)
    Secret Warriors #8
    Blackest Night: Titans (2 of 3)
    Amazing Spider-Man #607
    Green Lantern #46

    Maybe
    Teen Titans #75. (Seen a preview, looks good.)

  14. Jedah Crow says:

    Blackest Night: Titans #2
    Gotham City Sirens #4
    Green Lantern #46
    Justice Society of America #31
    Superman #692
    Teen Titans #75
    Wonder Woman #36
    Jack of Fables #38

    Amazing Spider-Man #607
    Secret Warriors #8
    Spider-Man: The Clone Saga #1

    Gold Digger Halloween Special 2009
    Rotten #4
    The Unknown: Devil Made Flesh #1

  15. Ironmuskrat says:

    I have doing the Trade thing for too long, I really want to get back to the groove of collecting again. Actually, it was watching Jose and Elliott on YouTube that got be pumped to start collecting again. First I need to find a comic shop near me, then I need to decide what to start reading again.

    The thought of walking into a comic shop and starting a new collection is a bit more intimidating than I expected. Been out of the game for awhile now and so I will start out small for now and build up from there.

    Reading everyone’s pull list is helping me a great deal on deciding where to start =)

    I am think one Marvel, one DC and one independent book to start.

    Good lord, after typing all of this I wonder if anyone really cares? Oh well, here goes nothing =)

  16. comicbookdude89 says:

    heh heh… I’m at school right now πŸ™‚ And I’m reading (kinda) Man of Steel… I guess this says a lot about me… Ok I gotta get back 2 work…

  17. mbell028 says:

    This Week I will be getting:
    Amazing Spider-Man 607
    Green Lantern 46
    Secret Warriors 8
    Thunderbolts 136
    Wolverine Weapon X 5

    I know I asked this before Jose, but I forgot where I asked it at. I looked at diamond comics list of 100 books for August and Secret Six was towards the bottom of the list I could be wrong but I think it was 97. Have you or Elliot heard any status on the book. I hope nothing happens it’s a great book.

    • As far as I know Secret Six is in no trouble at all. I do know that Nicola Scott will be leaving the book for a few issues to go do the Blackest Night: Wonder Woman mini series though. If I ever hear anything else I’ll definitely let you know.

      J.

  18. Smallmaniac says:

    Sadly, nothing.

  19. mbell028 says:

    thanks Jose. Yeah I saw the next few issues is being written by someone else, but I think it’s the writer of the miniseries Secret Six I could be wrong. I still think they’ll be very good

  20. camnick says:

    unknown solider #12
    asm #607
    secret warriors #8
    and possibly new mutant #5

  21. Locusmortis says:

    Gotham City Sirens #4
    Green Lantern #46
    Justice Society of America #31
    Superman #692
    Secret Warriors #8
    Glamourpuss #9
    Sky Pirates of Neo Terra #1
    Terry Moore’s Echo #15

    Oh yeah, all you chumps better go out and find a shop and buy Beasts of Burden, its fucking great

Leave a Reply

