CCW Question of the Week

Posted: October 8, 2009 in Question of the Week

Hope You Like Shit

This week’s question:

What are some of the worst comics you have ever read?

Since I have been reading comics for more than twenty years now I have occasionally come across some that are just completely fucking awful. It seems though that the worst comics I have ever read are mostly from the last decade or so. Wonder why that is? Well, without further ado, here but a few of my answers:

Onslaught Reborn Miniseries by Jeph Loeb and Rob Liefeld
Batman: Battle for the Cowl Miniseries by Tony Daniel
Superman Batman #7 by Jeph Loeb and Pat Lee
Civil War Miniseries by Mark Millar and Steve McNiven
Superman Batman #8-13 by Jeph Loeb and Michael Turner
Hulk (Entire current series) by Jeph Loeb and Various
Kick Ass Miniseries by Mark Millar and John Romita Jr.
New Avengers, Dark Avengers, Mighty Avengers (Only the issues) by Brian Bendis and Various
Ultimatum Miniseries by Jeph Loeb and David Finch
Giant-Size Wolverine: Old Man Logan by Mark Millar and Steve McNiven
Secret Invasion Miniseries by Brian Bendis and Lenil Yu
All Star Batman and Robin by Frank Miller and Jim Lee
Youngblood (Original series) by Rob Liefeld
Amazons Attack by Will Pfeifer and Pete Woods
Spider-Man: One More Day by Joe Quesada

Comments
  1. saar18 says:

    Iron Man the golden avenger
    Rulk
    Secret Invasion
    Civil War: House of M

  2. Dan Griffin says:

    Hulk: Loeb (I don’t think i need to explain why)

    Cry for Justice – Robinson (JUSTICE!!!!!!!!!!)

    One More Day – Joey Q (I don’t care that spidey not married anymore, but this sucked.)

    Spider-Woman – Bendis (The art and diolag both sucked)

    Final Crisis – Morrinson (I read the HC, and it still made little to no sense.)

    Batman R.I.P – Morrinson (The Joker in that was a joke.)

    Gotham City Sirens – (The art ruined it for me.)

  3. phil says:

    The Invaders 70’s marvel
    Sabre mcgreggor/graham
    Capt.Marvel the broderick drawm issues
    anything Bendis, after disassembled
    all HeroesReborn titles (did dig the JimLee artwork, tho)
    X-men/TeenTitans WaltSimonson great artist, wrong book
    Omega didn’t really read it, but it felt like I did, as if by some twisted osmosis.
    AstonishingX-men 1st story arc. Collosus, a character that should not have been killed off, was killed off…mistaking Peter for Buffy, Joss arbitrarily brings the steel clad one back.
    theX-men Claremount/Cockrum=Byrne run What I thought was brilliant back yn the day is almost torturous for me to read now.
    FemForce and JusticeMachine… although, guilty pleasures
    and finally, almost any movie to comic adaptation.

  4. Chris says:

    I’m gonna say Battle for the Cowl is my number 1 least favourite comic of all time.

  5. guido5595 says:

    Ultimatum- Jeph Loeb/David Finch
    Wolverine: Old Man Logan- Millar, Mcniven
    Civil War- Millar, Mcniven
    Mark Millar and Bryan Hitch’s Fantastic Four
    New Avengers/Mighty Avengers- Bendis
    Justice League Cry for Justice- Robinson
    Secret Invasion- Bendis/Yu
    Countdown to Final Crisis- various
    Trinity- Nicieza, Bagley,
    Teen Titans- Mckeever’s run
    Titans- Winick and various

  6. alfred monty says:

    The end of the Steve Englehart’s run on FF (under the pen name John Harkness). Is up down and down up?

    Last dozen issues or so of the first New Warriors.

    Craig Anderson edited books starting from 1994 until at least 1995. Do I blame Craig? Yes. Wait for the revolution then he will pay for his many crimes.

    The recent Batman and the Outsiders. I read issues 10 thru 15 plus the special. Holy moley.

    Almost everything Post-Unity Valiant. For a year or so afterward things were okay. But Rai went bad immediately (after it was relaunched). Glad I never paid cover price for this garbage.

  7. mbell028 says:

    Secret Invasion
    Battle For the Cowl
    Spider-Man Brand New Day
    Secret Invasion Spider-Man (A Spider-Man book starring Jackpot pretty fucking gay).
    Dark Avengers (What I read of it was terrible)
    Secret Invasion Fantastic Four

  8. comicbookdude89 says:

    Heh I’ve been waiting 4 this question 2 show up! 🙂

    -One More Day (as a little kid I grew up w/ the Peter Parker/MJ relationship so this is my absolute, least fav comic book story I’ve ever read. I get pretty pissed when my fav superhero is being written out of character in case no one has noticed yet..)

    -Ultimatum

    -Think Tank (Ultimate FF#19-20)

    -Mark Millar run on FF

    -Mark Millar/Greg Land run on UFF. I bet Jose LOVED that run 🙂

    -Rulk

    -Chuck Austen’s run on Uncanny X-Men (I have never finished an issue of Unc. X-Men by him and never will)

    -Battle for the Cowl

    -Batman R.I.P.

    -Absolute Power (Ultimate X-Men#94-97. Totally ruined my love for most of the Ultimate X-Men team)

    -The Ultimates 3 (I LOVE LOVE LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE Madureira’s art but Loeb’s writing was… well… I don’t think I need to explain)

    -USM#66-67 (the issues where Wolverine and Spidey switch bodies)

    I have had the fortune and brains not to read anyting that has Loeb and Liefeld’s name on it. Although I will say that I’ve been tempted to buy Onslaught Reborn is bargain boxes just to see how sucky it is… but I always find better stuff to buy.

  9. mbell028 says:

    Almost Forgot about Miller’s run on Fantastic Four what a bunch Garbagio that was

  10. Deemar says:

    Onslaught Reborn
    Sovreign Seven
    Batman: Battle for the Cowl
    Kick Ass
    Spider-Man: The Other
    Spider-Man: Goblin Twins
    New Avengers
    Dark Avengers
    Ultimatum
    All Star Batman and Robin
    Youngblood (Original series)
    Amazons Attack
    Spider-Man: One More Day
    Heroes Reborn

    and the coup de grace

    Chuck Austen’s X-Men: Warren Worthington goes R. Kelly on that Ass

  11. Deemar says:

    Damn forgot the Clone Saga, which in a way is oddly a good thing that it left my mind. Now it’s back Fuck…..fuck..crap 😦

  12. jontymig says:

    Hi! Long time reader and viewer, first time posting! The worst comic I have ever read, the one that left the worst taste in my mouth has to be New Avengers 27 by Bendis and Yu. I had been a big fan of Bendis on Alias and Daredevil and while New Avengers hadn’t felt completely right to me, I was still giving it the benefit of the doubt, hoping in time it would become a little more Avengers-y. And then I encountered this shitty brown pile of cheek seepage. Literally one of the most disgraceful comics I have ever read. It’s part thirteen of a twenty-seven part story, or so it seemed, and the New Avengers had flown to Japan to punch Ninjas. Because that is all the team can normally do. Punch. And chat. But not this time! Luke Cage encounters Elektra leading a group of Hand assassins. And what does he do? No he doesn’t punch, or chat, no he does something much more heroic. He kicks her in the vagina. Yup. Socks his big unbreakable-skin foot right on in there. And his reason? Because Matt Murdock asked him to. And yes I remember reading an issue of Frank Miller’s Daredevil where Murdock chased Elektra across the rooftops bellowing “If I ever see you again, that vagina of yours is going to get a right kicking!” Or not. I was appalled, sickened. It was completely unnecessary- worse, it was condescending and arrogant. It pissed all over the complex relationship between Elektra and Daredevil, reduced it to this stunningly cheap moment. What were we supposed to think? Wow kewl! Next time I hope he bites her tit off. Lol! Rofl! A book that had been coasting on the good grace Bendis had bought with his previous runs was dead to me. Dropped it like the shitty piece of wank that it was. Maybe Bendis wanted us to go: Wait hold on, thats not really Elektra! That’s a Skrull! They haven’t got real vaginas! Just pretend ones! Let’s just keep kicking it until it falls off. Fucking aliens. Fucking aliens and their fake vaginas. Hmmm… Did Bendis have a disappointing abduction experience once? I am happy to say I haven’t purchased a Bendis book since. Loeb and Millar may write mind-numbingly dumb comics, but I’ve never read anything so hateful. Worst fucking comic I’ve ever read.

  13. Ironmuskrat says:

    Garfield – I hate that little lasagna eating bastard..

    IM

    • Are you telling me you like Family Circus more than Garfield?

      J.

      • Ironmuskrat says:

        Family Circus is bad for sure, especially the mind numbing footprint ones, where you see all the places one of those devil spawns wander mindlessly while looking for something. Also the one where the dead relatives are standing around staring at the kids. Wow, now that I think about Jose, you are right.. Family Circus is much worse than Garfield.

        But there is something so wrong about Garfield. Cats should not be so damn smug!

        =)

        IM

  14. thetum says:

    First and foremost, anything that Rob Liefeld has graced with is name is awful… I mean that with every fiber of my being.

    Rulk
    Ultimatum
    Cable (1st series during the X-men, X- force, X- factor, fuckfest era)
    X-Men, Avengers, West Coast Avengers Blood-ties crossover (Nothing needs to be said about that crossover… It makes fun of itself.)
    Justice league #55 (Adult Robin from Earth 2… google it.)
    cry for justice
    Gotham City Sirens
    Battle for the Cowl
    All Star Batman and Robin
    Kick Ass
    Bendis…. Nuff said… I liked Torso though.
    That issue of Jimmy Olsen where he travels to another dimension were everybody on Earth wears capes.
    Batman RIP
    Trinity (How is this not on anyones list?!)
    Marvel divas
    Models Inc
    Anita Blake Laughing Corpse
    Countdown to Final shit-fest
    Brand New Day
    Clone Saga
    X-Men Fatal Attractions
    Any issue of Avengers from the 80s
    X-force 90s
    x-factor 90s
    excalaber 90s
    Mr. T and the T-Force (I will go on record that I actually loved that shit… so bad its good. Its the “Plan 9 From Outer Space” of comic books!)
    MARVEL IN THE 90’S…. Words can not describe it.
    Wanted (I fucking hatted Wanted so much)
    War Heroes
    The Ultimate Universe in general…
    Vengeance of Moon Knight.
    Venom: Separation Anxiety
    All of The List one shots
    Most Wolverine one shots. There are some good ones though.
    Jeph Loeb’s entire Bibliography
    Mark Millar himself.
    Messiah Complex
    Civil War
    Secret Invasion
    Blackest Night…. What? Don’t look at me like that, somebody had to say it!

    God i hate comic books! theyve brought me nothing but pain! look at that list!!!

  15. generaldark says:

    dark avengers

  16. therichestmanintown says:

    Kick-Ass
    Sandman
    Umbrella Academy
    Battle for the Cowl
    Fantastic Force
    Utopia
    Mighty Avengers
    Flash Rebirth
    Superman Red and Blue
    Gotham City Sirens
    Robin
    Nightwing

  17. TheComicRant says:

    I don’t read too many mainstream comics anymore, I try to stick to the indies. BUTTT…

    Superman – James Robinson
    Cry for Justice – James Robinson
    Joe Kelly and Jeph Loeb’s Supergirl runs
    Anything currently written by Jeph Loeb
    (Ultimates 3 is most likely one of the worst things I have ever read)
    Irredeemable – Mark Waid
    Countdown to Final Crisis

    There’s a lot more, but I have read a LOT of comics, so that’s just recent memories.

  18. Antonio says:

    Sandman????

    It’s brilliant! how in the hell is that on your list?

    Anyway,

    House of M
    Civil War
    Son of M
    All-Star Batman & Robin. Does Miller hate comics?

    And now we’re in for some fuck: ONE MORE DAY

  19. mbell028 says:

    Hey guys I picked up All Star Superman issues 1-9 today for $15 at my local comic shop they’re all in NM condition think i got a good deal?

  20. mbell028 says:

    Yeah I like Grant Morrison’s run on Batman and Robin. RIP went way over my head I actually wanna read that again. I heard All Star superman was good so I couldnt resist

    • generaldark says:

      RIP is actually a really good story! i think people just need to re read it again but maby start with the club of heroes story arc then read RIP. it DOES make sence.

      • MatthewHex says:

        Agreed. RIP was amazing, it showed why Batman is the most bad ass ‘always be prepared’ boy scout superhero. No powers, just brains, dedication and preperation. He cannot be replaced, and I beleive that is Grant Morrion overall point to his story, even with Dick in the cowl Im sure its just to show that Bruce cant be replaced. But start from the Son Of Batman arc when Damian was introduced, even then Morrison is planting little story seeds. Before Batman & Robin started I re’read all Morrisons Batman work in a couple of days and read back to back like that was so much more rewarding, I think the guys work on Batman has been genius.

    • The Tony Daniel art was waaaaayyyy too distracting for me. I really wanted to enjoy the story but the art kept raping my eyes.

      J.

    • thetum says:

      Morrison is overrated… Zur En Arrh… fucking shit.

  21. Zcorp79 says:

    Secret Invasion- Spider-man
    Trinity
    Battle for the Cowl (boy did not see that ending coming)
    Any book with Greg Land art (seriously his art ruins the story for me)
    New Averagers
    Deadpool: Merc with a Mouth
    Dark Averagers (how can this book still be a round after DR)

  22. mbell028 says:

    yeah I’ll def have to do that. Before reading it I only read the Black Glove trade that came out it kinda explained what was currently going on I’ll def try to do that thanks

  23. Antonio says:

    Hey Jose,

    Is Supes Bats #8-13 that return of Supergirl arc?

  24. Antonio says:

    Oh, and the first 12 issues of Brubaker’s run on UNCANNY was complete BULLSHIT.

    Battle for the Cowl = BAD

    And I wasted around $100 bucks on the JLA relaunch for 33 issues. it depresses me.

    Does anyone think we can get the Jeph Loeb who did “Superman for All Seasons”,”Spider-Man:Blue” and “The Long Halloween” back? 😦

  25. MANACONDA! says:

    its heartbreaking to me that lenil yu with secret invasion, steve mcniven with civil war and now alex maleev with spiderwoman are attached to such shitty series, cause i love them all so much. it breaks my heart. BREAKS my heart.

    my list:

    anything drawn by larry ‘melty-face’ stroman, i love the current x factor series but i had to skip over the few issues he penciled.

  26. MatthewHex says:

    Hulk House of M & Uncanny X-Men House of M were so bad, pretty much all the house of M tie-ins were terrible but those 2 especially.

    Nightwing – that series has always been terrible, whoever has written it

    Exiles – Claremont

    All Star Batman & Robin – one of the only tpbs I couldnt actually bring myself to finish because it was so bad

    Thats all that comes to mind right now.

  27. Locusmortis says:

    The latest piece of shit I’ve read is Haunt #1, what a fucking flashback to the worst of the nineties that is. I’d expect it of mcfarlane and capullo but kirkman and ottley really should be ashamed of themselves for being involved in such of dumbfuck of a comic.

  28. Mitiators says:

    All Star Batman and Robin
    -The biggest slap in the face to comic fans ever! This was not a parody. Miller is just a hack now. What a waste of incredible Jim Lee art. He must be so pissed that he is associated with the “Waterworld” of comic books.

    Final Crisis
    I still don’t get it! What the hell happened? I even have the Superman 3D books and the DC Encyclopedia and this thing is still a mystery. You need a damn PHD in DC lore to sort that mess out. There was no point.

    Secret Invasion
    How uneventful. Nothing happened then it kinda ends. Marvel doesn’t put endings in their event books, just huge unfufilling lead-ins to their next series. “Hey lets put the Green Goblin in charge of the military! He shot a chick in the face!”

    Todd McFarlane’s run on the 90’s “Spiderman” series
    The art was amazing, but it was the most cringe inducing writing I’ve ever read. I felt embarassed for him.

  29. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    The Worst:

    1. Secret Invasion (Shitty Invasion)
    2. Civil War (Shit War)
    3. House of M (House of MUNG)
    4. One More Day/Brand New Day (one more ASS/brand new ASS)
    5. Any of Peter Milligan’s X-MEN work (Cunt-Fuck)
    6. Frank Miller’s All-Star Batman un Robin (Joker with a Dragon tat)

    The Best:

    1. Final Crisis/Infinate Crisis (super-cresh-fresh)
    2. Grant Morrison’s Batman Work (’cause BATMAN & ROBIN WILL NEVER DIE! BITCHES!!!)
    3. Grant Morrison’s NEW X-MEN (’cause it really was new and he made Mags evil again)
    4. CHUCK AUSTEN’S Uncanny X-Men (take that JOSE! HA! “The Draco” was fucking Awesome-Sauce!)
    5. Justice League: Cry For Justice (I seriously have not heard one LEGITIMENT complaint about why this title is bad. What isn’t too love about it? Really? You got awesome art. You got Atom kicking Ass & Taking Names; Promethious being Evil as Hell; Congorilla & 70’s Starman….CONGORILLA AND 70’S STARMAN!!!!)
    6. Green Lantern – AGENT ORANGE story arc (MINE!)
    7. Grant Morrison’s JLA

    YOU MAY HATE ME NOW…..

    • JohnnyHorror92182 says:

      oH, SHIT! I forgot
      another super-favorite all philistines hate:
      SUPERMAN/BATMAN/WONDER WOMAN – TRINITY (Busieks Magnum Opus!)

  30. Locusmortis says:

    Ok some more worst.

    Chuck Austens Uncanny X-men – Unreadable shite
    Chuck Austens Avengers
    Howard Mackies Amazing Spider-man -snoooooooozerama!
    Rob Liefields New Mutants
    Rob Liefield/Fabien Nicienza’s X-Force – stupidest plot twists and horrible art
    Rob Liefields Youngblood and anything else he’s ever done
    Anything Greg Capullo has ever done – so many lines on a page!
    Scott Lobdell’s X-Men work – the definition of boring
    Grant Morrison’s New X-men – took the X-men down a completely shit path that marvel have been scrambling to get off of (unsuccessfully since)
    Joss Whedon’s “Danger” arc – the first arc of Astonishing was good following by one of the worst X-comics I’ve ever read
    Warren Ellis’s Ghost boxes in Astonishing X-men – unreadable shite, terrible art, price gouging on the one shots too.
    House of M – Awful
    Civil War – Rubbish
    Secret Invasion – boring formulaic tedium
    Dark Reign – huge cash grab on the part of marvel
    Dark Avengers – See above
    Rulk – do I even have to explain this one?
    Onslaught – ah back to the nineties again – ie shit.
    All those shitty 2099 books from the mid-nineties
    Any character with a ponytail and excessive pouches
    Grant Morrison/Mark Millar – Big Dave – Any 2000ad reader will know what I’m on about
    Grant Morrison/Mark Millar – Judge Dredd – Inferno and Bood of the Dead – The 2 worst arcs of Judge Dredd ever
    Mark Millar – Sam Slade Robo-Hunter – Took a fantastic John Wagner/Alan Grant character and utterly ruined it.
    Excalibur (not the original run but the recent one) – Chris Claremont….where did the talent go?
    The Power Company – Kurt Busiek – Fresh off an incredible run on Avengers, Busiek writes the dullest team book ever
    Teen Titans – Practically every run from the last 10 years
    Anything Judd Winick has done with the exception of Barry Ween
    Anything with Greg Lands swipey characterless “art”
    Any Alex Ross cover in the last 5 years or so
    Eric Masterson aka Thunderstrike (see also excessive pouches and ponytails)
    Gambit
    The New Warriors – Stupid whiny kid team from the nineties. And who the fuck thought up the character name “night thrasher”…might as well have called him “the masturbator”
    Anything Sam Keith has drawn – no redeeming characteristics whatsoever

    • JohnnyHorror92182 says:

      Actually, locus, I can’t help but be a little offended because “NEW WARRIORS” AND “THUNDERSTRIKE” were two of the first comic book series I read growing up.

      • Locusmortis says:

        Johnny only need be offended if you want to be offended Johnny. One mans meat is another mans poison and all that.

        Not my fault if you fall into the unnecessary pouches and ponytail brigade 😛

    • cballsack says:

      Spider-Man 2099 was quality stuff. Hello, Peter David wrote it.

  31. Locusmortis says:

    Guh…well THAT post came out all wrong, it should have read….

    You only need be offended if you want to be offended Johnny. One mans meat is another mans poison and all that.

    Not my fault if you fall into the unnecessary pouches and ponytail brigade 😛

  32. Benicio127 says:

    Hmm. Storylines I dislike…

    Batman: Hush Returns. Bad, bad, bad.
    Some of Nightwing’s stuff really was crap. That Nightwing: Brothers in Blood arc by Bruce Jones for one. Wow.
    Battle for the Cowl. Thank you to all the other people who hate it. Because it was bad.
    All-Star Batman and Robin… I don’t think you can take this seriously. It has got to be satire…
    Batman: RIP …Yeah, I went there.

    Stories I love:
    No Man’s Land.
    The Killing Joke
    Batman: Going Sane and the Devil’s Advocate
    Batman: Year One
    Batman: Dark Knight Returns
    Mad Love and Under the Hood: Both of these stories made me laugh and cry.
    All Star Superman
    Heart of Hush
    Cable and Deadpool. That series was awesome.
    Green Arrow: Quiver
    Huntress: Cry for Blood
    Lex Luthor: Man of Steel and The Joker Graphic Novel by Brian Azzarello
    Devin Grayson’s Gotham Knights and Scott Beatty’s Gotham Knights issues #43-45
    Teen Titans: Year One

  33. cballsack says:

    My list:

    -Anything Scott Lobdell wrote. There is no one in comics I have despised more. His X-Men stuff was atrocious.

    -The Eric Masterson as Thor storyline. Basically, DeFalco decided to write Thor as Peter Parker.

    -Wonder Woman after George Perez left. Especially that issue where they started her working at the taco stand. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but ugh.

    -Everything after John Byrne left Fantastic Four and before Walt Simonson took over (although the Secret Wars III issue was alright).

    -All Star Batman & Robin.

    -Power Pack after Louise Simonson left the series. Well, Jon Bogdanove’s writing wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t the same. And then when he left the book, it totally went straight to hell.

    -Secret Invasion.

    -Bruce Jones’s Incredible Hulk run. Slow and boring. Even JRJR couldn’t save it.

    -The Outsiders after Batman left.

    -Spider-Man: The Other. I just hated the whole Totem concept in general and the Morlun character specifically. Stop fucking with Spidey’s origin. He’s a nerd who got bitten by a wacky spider. The end.

    -And, finally, Maximum Carnage. This was the series that made me stop collecting comics altogether until the 2000’s. It was completely ridiculous how Carnage was killing half of NY without the Avengers, FF, or anyone else showing up. Then Firestar could have taken down Carnage but Spidey stopped her! Ugh. It was vomit-inducing all the way through.

Leave a Reply

