CCW Question of the Week

Posted: October 15, 2009 in Question of the Week

Go Away

This week’s question:

What 3 characters do you think need to not be in comics for a while or ever again?

There are characters out there who were once interesting but have since become a joke, some who were dead but have been unnecessarily been brought back and some others who have just overstayed their welcome. Here are my 3 choices:

1. The Sentry
2. Wolverine
3. Tie between Red Hulk and Barry Allen

J.

Comments
  1. saar18 says:

    First of all great choice of a topic picture 🙂

    1. The Sentry
    2. Rulk
    3. Noh-varr (captain marvel/marvel boy)

  2. generaldark says:

    1. sentry
    2. barry allen
    3. norman osborn (i think because i just see bendis in that charecter and i hate bendis :P)

  3. Rob F says:

    1. Sentry
    2. Ares
    3. Pixie

  4. Dan Griffin says:

    1.) Wolverine
    2.) Rulk
    3.) Wally West (Needs to make room for the one and only Flash…. Jay.)

  5. Matthew Guy says:

    1.Hulk
    2.Black Canary
    3.Spawn

    Matthew

  6. PILKK90 says:

    king pin
    black panther
    rulk

  7. hero vs. villan says:

    1. The Sentry
    2. Red Hulk
    3. Baby Wolverine

  8. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    1. DEADPOOL
    2. RED HULK (i refuse to say “RULK” ’cause that’s so stupid)
    3. ZOMBIE DEADPOOL

  9. phil says:

    Lobo and Rulk should take each other out.

    Relatively speaking: YoungManLogan 🙂

  10. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    Honestly, I feel SENTRY, MARVEL BOY (NOR-VAR) & DAKEN can be great characters…if they were written by someone else!

    I really want to mention this. Anyone who read the original “Marvel Boy” series can see the potential for this character. Unfortunitly, Bendis got his hands on him and we don’t know what he’d doing. I doubt Bendis even knows.

    Daken is another good character with potential as a villian. First, I like the groundwork that has been laid down in “Dark Wolverine”. He’s a sociopathic hedonist. I really enjoyed how they are using him in his own title and how he interacts with the other members of his team, of coarse, we see none of this in “Dark Avengers”.

    And Sentry…I know I am going to catch Hell for this but I say he can be a great character if written properly. It’s not the character, it’s the writer. For some reason, Bendis keeps him a fucking mess. Paul Jenkins, the man who created the character, was given a six-issue mini series, which fixed Sentry and wrapped everything up in a neat little package for the most part. But what the fuck happened!?!? Bendis said no, this is how I want to write the character – a total fucking TOOL! Fuck Jenkins! I’m pretty sure he said all that.

    So whatever, i guess i’m in the minority here!

    • Pobra says:

      I actually agree with this post. There are no bad characters (except for red hulk) , only bad writers (like Jeph Loeb).

    • Deemar says:

      Yeah agree on all counts

      I hated Daken when he first appeared, but I gotta say he’s growing on me. He’s not just a rehash of Logan. Jenkins got the shaft, another example of Bendis kicking up dust in some elses sandbox.

      • kurumais says:

        i like how daken is playing around with and manipulating everyone not sure what his motivation is yet other then maybe he just gets his kicks that way and he is evil. but its good to see bad guys undermine each other.

      • Deemar says:

        Yeah that’s what I’m saying, he is radically different from Wolverine in that he is all about the slow kill & mind fuck

    • The Sentry was the character I thought was once interesting and is now a joke. This is completely Bendis’ fault. If we can have the old Sentry back I would take him off my list but I don’t think that will ever happen. Bendis’ stink will always be all over the Sentry from here on out.

      I agree with you completely on Marvel Boy though. Baby Wolverine, not so much. 🙂

      J.

      • kurumais says:

        its funny i hated the sentry from the start but started to think he was interesting and scary since dark avengers
        i still hope he meets a fatal end but at least now im interested

  11. MicahSkin says:

    1. Cyclops and Emma (They count as one person. The X-writers Mary Sue (Hope I get the reference right) and the woman he’s bangin.
    2. Norman Osborn We get it, yer evil. Let’s all get on with our lives.
    3. Bruce Wayne as Batman. I like Bruce. I just wish we’d get him treating Dick or Tim like he treated terry in Batman: Beyond. He puts a costume on if someone gets into the cave. otherwise he’s playing with his puppy.

    • Dan Griffin says:

      Matt Fraction Mary Sue, not the other X-Writers. My god does he suck on Uncanny, he should leave and let someone that knows what there doing take over the title. Kyle & Yost should take over because they know the characters voices and plus X-Force is coming to an end after the X-Crossover known as 2nd Coming.

  12. Pobra says:

    But if the question is what characters need to be benched for a while, I would still say only the ones who are being poorly written. I think Brian Bendis and Jeph Loeb could stand to sit out a few games until the regain their focus and start producing the kind of quality they were known for a few years ago. Before their ego’s and their paychecks became waaayyy too big. Geoff Johns needs to be careful he doesn’t burn himself out and end up on the same path as those two.

  13. kurumais says:

    1 magog
    2 hush
    3 JASON TODD!!!!!!!

  14. Chris says:

    I don’t really have a problem with any of the characters in the books that I read… So I’m going to be controversial and say:

    1. Hal Jordan
    2. Iron Man
    3. Ashley J. Williams

    LOL Not really. As I was saying I’d rather just not read them than spoil other peoples fun.

    FAO Elliott – I finally managed to pick up Ash Saves Obama 1 and 2 today! I haven’t read them yet, but I will let you know what I think.

  15. alfred monty says:

    The best recent usage of…
    – Sentry was Vengeance of the Moon Knight #2
    – Wolverine was Wolverine #73 – #74

    I can’t defend Rulk. But I don’t read Rulk stories so… 🙂

    Usually I can’t stand…
    1) Cyclops
    2) Moon Knight
    3) Lobo

    because they’re either written insanely disjointed or are Lobo. Put a rubber band on your wrist to remember not to buy the Scott Ian & Sam Keith Lobo miniseries.

    • TheComicRant says:

      Cyclops has always been my favorite X-Men. lol. Why is he on so many lists? I always thought he was the most important part of the team.

      • alfred monty says:

        I don’t like this idea that Cyclops is the central X-Men character.
        1) Cyclops wasn’t part of the X-Men when I started buying comics.
        2) There is no central character of the X-Men. It should be more like Strikeforce: Morituri, Defenders or even the Avengers. When someone dies or quits another person is recruited. This includes Professor X.
        3) This idea has lead to the long-lost Summer family members appearing out of nowhere.
        4) The X-Men are supposed to be ideologically convincing the world that mutants are evil. That’s it.

        As a character Cyclops is a boy scout. But he isn’t a nice person. He becomes infatuated with Madelyne Pryor because he believes she could be Jean. Fine, boy scouts can be horny. But his emotional reaction when Jean returns is awful. He just leaves his wife AND son. When his wife dies… he can now go after Jean without any hangups. When his son is kidnapped… Well there’s no way a superhero could find his son. He has only dealt traveled through space, has alien technology to travel through space, dealt with people from other dimensions…

        “He is the savior of mutantkind.” So does he use his teams to learn more about the enemy to effectively prevent public conflict? No. He only reacts to Apocalypse or political movements/corruption.

        His recent actions (in Uncanny X-Men) are so disgusting to me. He is publicly acting like a nationalist/separatist. How would a normal person in the Marvel universe judge his actions? He is only worsening the situation.

      • TheComicRant says:

        Cyclops was a founding memeber of the X-Men. Others can come and go, he must always have a presence.

        He’s a boyscout but he is the chosen one. He is Professor X’s first student and one that continues that vision. When the X-Men are on the battlefield they need a leader. One that has morals.

        He may not be the best person in romantic relationships, but that’s cause he’s human. He’s flawed.

      • alfred monty says:

        I don’t think Cyclops was Prof X’s first student. My memory is that Jean Grey was.

        No matter what, the founding members of the X-Men are about as important as the founding members of the Avengers to me.

        Cyclops’ leadership abilities are limited to reacting to disasters except recently where he publicly appears to a separatist. What were Prof X’s teaching about again?

      • TheComicRant says:

        Nope, Scott was the first of Xavier’s X-Men ( http://marvel.com/universe/Cyclops_%28Scott_Summers%29 )

        Jean, Beast, Iceman, and Angel came next. (Jean was the first in movie continuity I believe.)

        Xavier’s message was one of tolerance. Mutants and Humans co-exisiting together in peace. Cyclops was his first agent.

        I fault a lot of current writers for making him look like a separatist. I don’t like him being with Emma Frost either, but it doesn’t change the fact that he is an important part of what the X-Men are. Maybe I’m just old school, but to me there is no X-Men without Scott Summers.

      • Deemar says:

        Cyclops is cool in the right hands, plus I was reading something Joss Whedon said about Scott. He basically says the X-men saga if you look at all the stories as a whole are more about Scott Summers then anything else.

      • alfred monty says:

        To me saying the X-Men are mostly about Cyclops is reinforcing all the things I hate about the X-Men comics. “What happened to his parents? His brother? His other brother? His son? His son’s clone? Who is he dating now? Remember when Psylocke flirted him? OMGWTFBBQ personal stories told in a team book for decades!” Give him his own comic if he is such an important character.

        My memory is that there are multiple stories about Xavier finding Jean Gray before Scott. But I can’t remember anything about these stories. The movies have corrupted my memory.

  16. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    Alot of people keep mentioning LOBO…but the guy hasn’t appeared in ANY comic in over 2 Years!

  17. Marv-el says:

    1. sentry
    2. mac gargan (venom)
    3.shocker just because he always seemed lame to me

  18. Deemar says:

    I could do without

    1. Jason Todd – Just don’t see the point of this guys existance, he worked better as impetus for Batman not to do stupid shit like have child sidekicks.

    2. Donna Troy – We got Wonder Woman and yet she ain’t exactly lighting up the sales charts, so why another copy of a character who is so recognizable yet so underutilized? I’d rather DC get WW up to snuff with Supes & Bats. Plus Donna is just to convoluted a character.
    3. Ben Reilly – If I have to go into a rant about anything ‘clones’ I might have a seizure.

    • kurumais says:

      good list deemar the last time donna troy was interesting was “who is donna troy?” the post crisis wonder woman reboot just derailed her and they just couldnt get her back on track.
      now she is going to be a jlaer they simply will let anyone in that team

      • Deemar says:

        I have nothing against the character of Donna Troy personally, I just think she is one of those characters who simply do not work. Wonder Girl works, Wonder Woman can work Donna has to much baggage.

        If DC has to have a Donna Troy I’d rather they go All Star, have a clean slate.

    • Dan Griffin says:

      X-23 is the only good Clone, well her and the Clone Troopers.

    • Isn’t Ben Reilly dead? I’m pretty sure he is. A lot of people are putting him on their lists but the dude is dead and has been for a while, right? Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t like the character either but I don’t think we have to worry about him anymore.

      Since he’s dead, who would an alternate for your third spot be?

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        why not that “Raptor” character who seems to think Pete is Ben Reilly. I know he really hasn’t been fleshed out yet, but he is already starting to annoy me. He seems like kind of a stupid character who probably shouldn’t exist.

      • Deemar says:

        Alternate spot?

        I guess Man-Ape, my eyes bleed everytime he shows up in a comic or maybe Eddie Brock or any iteration of symbiote

  19. 1). Red Hulk
    2). Sentry
    3). Ben Reilly

    Can’t stand those characters

    • See my comment to Deemar above about Ben Reilly.

      J.

      • Hmmm… a replacement for third would have to be (and this is going to be very weird) that one girl Peter Parker accidently slept with in ASM#601. I can’t remember her name. But I just can’t stand her at all. I even remember wishes she’d be teleported to a Bendis book so she’d be shot in the head…(I was kinda joking when I said that though…) But I thought Reilly was back? Huh… well if he’s dead y’know Marvel is gonna bring him back. If they do Marvel is more stupid than I thought nowadays…

      • phil says:

        You know, Marvel is doing this directos cut definitive clone saga crap, and while I believe it’s a flashback deal, it’s still might be enough to keep Ben Reilly to fresh in some folks minds. If the seriesw does well, hopefully it won’t be a harbinger of things to come, if you get my drift.

  20. TheComicRant says:

    Hal Jordan – He killed a lot of people. Kyle Rayner should be the number 1 Green Lantern. He was much more 3 dimensional. Hal is a Silver Age card board cutout (like Barry Allen).

    Logan – Give Wolverine a rest! The guy shouldn’t be everywhere. He is like a multiplying annomaly. Deadpool is becoming like that too. Since these are both Weapon X characters, I’ll lump them together. So, no Wolverine or Deadpool.

    Barry Allen and Wally West – We need a completely new and fresh verison of the Flash.

    • Dan Griffin says:

      Green Lantern Stories with Hal have been better then they were with Kyle as the main GL. If anything Kilawog should be bigger.

      • TheComicRant says:

        Hal is only enjoyable if Geoff Johns is writing him. Without Johns, he is just a one note guy all over again. Kyle had depth.

        I like your idea of bringing Kilawog front and center.

  21. Ironmuskrat says:

    1) Symbiotes – Sorry Venom fans, I actually liked the symbiote storyline up until Todd McFarlane got a hold of him and made Venom popular with the fanboys. Then we got Carnage/Toxin/Anti-Venom/She-Venom/too many other symbiotes to list. Has any other Marvel villain spawned(ha ha!)more spin off bad guys or been as over played?

    2) Juggernaut – Only because people still email me that stupid “I’m the Juggernaut, bitch!” video. I know I shouldn’t blame a comic character for the that, but someone has to pay.

    3) Norman Osborn – No one with that much money would still have hair that bad! Yes I want osborn to die not for all the evil he has done, but because of his hair.

    IM

    • I have never seen this “I’m the Juggernaut, bitch” video you speak of. I’m kinda hoping now that I never do.

      J.

      • Ironmuskrat says:

        It’s horrible, juvenile crap. Jose, your a lucky man for never having seen it, though I am afraid if people read this your email is filling with links to the video right now.

        The worst part is Brett Ratner included the quote from the video in X-men: The Last Stand, I guess he was a fan. one of the many reasons I dislike that movie.

    • I have never seen X-Men: The Last Stand and am very proud of that fact.

      J.

  22. TheComicRant says:

    I know it’s cheating to add another character to my list, but this is one guy I actually HATE.

    The Guardian (As written by James Robinson) is one of the only characters that I can honestly say I hate.

  23. alatriste says:

    1. Aunt May. I mean, she wanted to die herself, but would Joe Q grant her wish? Noooooooooooooooooooooooo. Even if it costs Marvel its precious continuity.

    2. Cable. He is the very personification of everything that can go wrong when alternate timelines are poorly handled.

    3. Moon Knight. LOVE the costume, but seriously, just what is this guy about? Does he have superpowers or not? Is he an urban vigilante, an international agent, or a mystical guardian? Marvel should shelf him for a couple of years and then have somebody rebtcon him as something different than a poor man’s Batman.

    Hmmm, an all-Marvel list. Jose must be happy. But tell me: Guy Gardner is DEAD, right? If noy, add him to the list. There are characters you love to hate, but with Guy it is all hate.

  24. generaldark says:

    wooo lots of comments hear 🙂

  25. Brandonpwns1244 says:

    Jason Todd

    Sentry

    Ben Reily

  26. David says:

    The idea that a powerful unstable person had to be forgotton in the original Sentry was done quite well… however it was poeteicall at its best when it was left forgotten.

    Also Marvel to me was great because it WAS NOT DC… not that it was ITS OPPOSITE.

    Sentry should go on an intergalactic pilgramidge and use his powers in the universe and not on earth. get a taste of what real heroes like Warlock and Captain Marvel used to do.

  27. Rod says:

    Brian Michael Bendis

    Jeph Loeb

    Mark Mill….oh wait you mean fictional characters

    1. Clones, children, legacies, ethnic stereotypes & different colors of any existing characters

    2. Wolverine

    3. Supergirl

  28. kurumais says:

    wow good question J look at all the responses or are your vistors growing?

  29. Linwood E. Knight says:

    It’s now time for the worst 3 comic book characters in the world, bought to you by Linwood E. Knight.

    Worse = Magog: Why does he have his own Series when there are about 5 other JSAers (*coughMrTerrificcough*) who deserve it more? Why is he making the JSA veterans look like chumps? Why is he going to be leader in the new JSA Series? Everything about this character’s push makes me ask the question…Why? This is not a good sign, and why he gets the Bronze

    Worser = Cyclops: Cyclops is our runner up due to the Gary Stu push that Fraction gives him every 15 – 30 days.

    Unlikable Prick, made worse? Check
    Other characters getting their characters Assassinated to make him look better? Check
    Recycles ideas, that would make him look like an idiot without Plot Induced Stupidity? Check

    It seems like we would have a winner if it wasn’t for…

    Worst = Barry Allen: Didn’t his death mean something? Didn’t he died saving DC’s reality? It’s one thing to bring him back, but it’s another to…

    1) Make him the Main Flash.
    2) Depush Wally West, who is a million times a more compelling character.

    3) Making him the creator and Master of the Speed Force, effectively making him the God of Speed in DCU.

    Now I know why I’ll probably never get another Flash Comic outside of trades. It’s because of Barry Allen…Worst Comic Book Character in the World.

  30. Variant Girl says:

    Oh shit, J.M you once again have caused a stir up in here LOL.

    Red Hulk fo-sho
    Sentry cause he is like a caped Fabio
    Jeph Loeb, oh snap wait a minute he is actually real, that sux for the human race!
    Batgirl-stephanie Brown, she is just lame. Put her in a Bendis book and blow her up real good 😛

    This quite the interesting question J, the comments are awesome.

    • kurumais says:

      im a big stephanie brown fan but maybe chuck dixon is the only one that can write her
      ppl underestimate this gal who trained under black canary and batman and with way too uber cassandra cain

  31. Manaconda! says:

    my three:

    red hulk- cause hes just stupid. although he does make me feel better about myself

    deadpool- daniel way is letting me down, and he really doesnt need the extra series’ (merc with a mouth, and suicide kings)

    spider man- im over him, hes just annoying to me, just marry mary jane, and take a vacation.

    also:

    jose/elliott, have you seen the ‘siege’ trade dress yet? i find it really dull, ugly, and generic.

    siege trade dress on ign

  32. Batman

    The Sentry

    Captain America Steve Rogers

Leave a Reply

