Looks Like I’ll Be Picking Up Amazing Spidey in January

Posted: October 21, 2009 in Comics Shipping, Marvel, News, Opinion
Tags: , , , ,

Bad Ass Cover

In this week’s ‘Who’s Getting What’ post I proclaimed that I would not be picking up Amazing Spider-Man until Dan Slott comes back. Well, he’s coming back to write the book in January and it looks like this will be well worth the wait for me. Slott is bringing my favorite post-OMD Spidey artist Marcos Martin and my favorite Spidey villain Mysterio with him for the ride. I really can’t put into words how fucking excited I am for this little run. The above cover for issue #619 is so damn striking. That ‘Amazing’ logo reminds me of the days when this used to be my must have comic every month.

J.

Here are the solicitations and the cover to issue #618 as well:

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #618
Written by DAN SLOTT
Pencils & Cover by MARCOS MARTIN
Variant Cover by JOE QUINONES
MYSTERIOUS: Chapter One
“Un-Murder Incorporated”
MYSTERIO is back from the dead…and he’s not alone!
When deceased members of the Maggia crime family return from beyond the grave, the balance of power shifts in their gang war with Hammerhead and the Inner-Demons. Can Spider-Man and crime scene investigator, Carlie Cooper, solve this mystery…before it gets a little too personal?
PLUS: Secret sides of both Mr. Negative and J. Jonah Jameson Sr. revealed, a disturbing turn for Aunt May, the reappearance of ANOTHER Spider-Villain — all this and the return of Dan Slott & Marcos Martin to the pages of Amazing Spider-Man.
32 PGS./Rated A …$2.99

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #619
Written by DAN SLOTT
Pencils & Cover by MARCOS MARTIN
MYSTERIOUS: Chapter Two
“Re-Appearing Act”
SPIDER-MAN versus MYSTERIO!
How long can Mysterio play with Spidey’s head before the web-slinger finally snaps?! The mind games keep ratcheting up as the body count goes up, down, and…into the negatives? Some bad guys just won’t die and others can’t stay dead! So which long-thought deceased Spider-Man character is back now?! It may only be January, but get ready for the most unbelievable Spider-Man moment of the year!
32 PGS./Rated A …$2.99

I'm Baaaack

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    It looks pretty nice, and Slott does do some “amazing” Spider-Man work. I find it crazy that they have the solicits all the way to January.

  2. I’m super excited for this too. Slott and Waid are the best spidey writers right now. Joe Kelly seriously disappointed me w/ that Black Cat story. Jose aren’t you gonna get The Gauntlet storyline? It’s written by Mark Waid so its gotta be good right? Well you know Marvel NEVER disappoints!, he says sarcastically. This week was the first week I haven’t bought ASM since #591. I really don’t like what they have been doing w/ Spidey’s character post-#600. Why can’t Slott and Waid just be the only writers on ASM??? I would love to see Kirkman write ASM. That guy knows how to write super heroes. btw what did you think of IIM#19 Jose? I haven’t read Invincible#67 yet because my regular comic book store ran out of copies…

    • I’ll check out the first Gauntlet issue if Waid is writing it before I decide to buy it or not.

      J.

    • I liked Iron Man and may do a review of it. Your store ran out of Invincible!?! What’s up with that?

      J.

      • Either a lot of people are buying it there or they ordered a low amount of copies. The store I usually go to is in two different locations. So its the same name but two different locations. I go to the smaller store. The main store which is kinda far from where I live so I go to the other one. The main store does all the ordering and they take like 60 or 70% of all the comics they ordered and then ship the rest to the smaller store, the one I go to, which results in them running out of copies quickly. They’ve been running out of copies a lot recently… I think its time to switch to a different comic book store… thankfully there is about 3-4 other ones I can go to 🙂

  3. woah… why was my comment posted two times??? Weird…

  4. djsweet says:

    Amazing #611 looks great! And Eric Cante is doing the art! Also #612-14 looks awesome too! I know your not a huge Marko fan, but those are some nice covers.

  5. djsweet says:

    Oh and Cap, Reborn #5, then “Who will wield the shield”, then #6? Where does the one shot fit into Reborn? The end is clearly spoiled. I’m glad that Im getting NONE of this! Good to see Cap a #602 returning. At least 50’s Cap doesnt wear a stupid canteen. That might be enough to make him my favorite.

  6. Pobra says:

    I fucking love Marcos Martin’s art. And I agree that Slott is easily the best writer on Spidey right now, so ya, this should be a really good arc. Can’t wait!

  7. Deemar says:

    Yep the money is already spent for this comic.

    Slott, Mysterio, Martin hellz yeah

  8. Mitiators says:

    Finally! Someone who digs Mysterio! If the studio wouldn’t puss out, they could make a pretty bad ass Spiderman movie with Mysterio as the bad guy. Have kind of a horror type thing going on.

Leave a Reply

