Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: October 27, 2009 in DC Comics, Marvel

Fiddy

Too…many…comics…this…week. Here’s what I am selling one of my kidney’s in order to buy this Wednesday:

Blackest Night #4
Detective Comics #858
Fantastic Four #572
Green Lantern #47
Punisher #10
Secret Warriors #9
Superman: Secret Origin #2
X-Factor #50
Wonder Woman #37

Gadzooks. Sure hope you guys and gals have money this week. So, what’s everyone gettin’?

Oh, ya, just remembered. The Punisher : The List one-shot that comes out tomorrow has one of the worst endings to a comic I have read in a long time. Nothing good will come of this. In fact, I think it’s going to be pretty fucking stupid.

The Sword Vol 3 TP ships this week, too. Just letting you know.

J.

Comments
  1. mbell028 says:

    Hey guys this week I’ll be getting:
    Blackest Night 4
    Detective Comics 858
    Green Lantern 47
    Secret Warriors 9
    Wolverine Weapon X 6

    I feel bad because I’ve been so busy I haven’t been able to do any reviews for my blog…I promise I will this week guys if your interested in checking them out. I will for sure write a review for Paranormal Activity. I can’t wait to here you guys review of it.
    Matt

  2. generaldark says:

    Blackest Night #4
    Detective Comics #858
    Fantastic Four #572
    Green Lantern #47
    Punisher #10
    Superman: Secret Origin #2
    superman issue i don remember lol

    ill give punisher- the list a look threw. im really like remender’s writing. anyone know if his first issue on thunderbolts was any good? i couldnt get it because it was 3.99

  3. Nomadic Cat says:

    Last Days of Animal Man#6
    Guardians of the Galaxy#19 (if I like the art)
    Punisher#10
    Punisher The List (I was going to pick this up cause Remender wrote it but now you’ve got me worried Jose)

    and Previews comes out this week so I’m definitely getting that.

    • I like Remender too and have been reading his regular Punisher book and the End League. The List issue sets up the next Punisher story arc and I am very, very worried about what this means for Frank Castle. Actually, it kinda pisses me off.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        have you actually read the issue Jose? I kinda want to pick it up because it’s Remender and Romita Jr., but if it’s really that bad I’ll definitely skip it.

  4. Zcorp79 says:

    Blackest Night #4
    Green Lantern #47
    Secret Warriors #9
    Detective Comics #858

    I really want to check Andy Diggle’s run on Daredevil and Jonathan Hickman’s run on FF but still not sure yet.

  5. mbell028 says:

    I haven’t read Hickman’s run on Fantastic Four, but I have read Andy Diggle’s first issue of Daredevil and I must say I really enjoyed it. He continues off of Brubakers run and I personally can’t wait for the next issue. If you’ve read brubakers run I’m sure you’ll enjoy what diggle has done(so far)

  6. TheComicRant says:

    Superman Secret Origin #2
    Wonder Woman #37

    Got a few other issues to pick up from last week. Have been uber busy latley.

  7. Locusmortis says:

    Don’t think I’ll be getting any comics for a while but when I do catch up this is what I will have gotten from this week

    Blackest Night #4
    Blackest Night Titans #3
    Detective Comics #858
    Gotham City Sirens #5
    Green Lantern #47
    Justice Society of America #32
    Superman #693
    Madame Xanadu #16

    Fantastic Four #572
    Secret Warriors #9

    Dynamo 5 #25

  8. Ironmuskrat says:

    This is going to be a tough week for me. I spent a little more money than I should have last week on comics, it was worth it, but now I am faced with budgeting my money a little this week.

    Last week my Rebels #8 and Rebels annual showed up, also Rebels #3 was on the shelf for some strange reason, so now I am just missing #4 to complete my collection.

    Also picked up Chew #5 to fulfill my promise to get a independent title last week. I liked it so much I also picked up Chew #2-4, just missing number one now. I really liked the quirky story and the artwork fits it perfectly.

    My favorite comic last week was Iron Man #19, I haven’t collected Iron Man since the 80’s and didn’t know much about what was happening with Tony Stark other then what I had read in the trades. The reason I picked it up was based on the number of people who had it on their buy list last week. I really liked the story even though it was at the end of a story arc, it felt like a good starting point for upcoming issues. I also loved the ending.. “Who the hell is Doctor Donald Blake?” Heh! Good Stuff.

    So a big thanks for everyone how takes the time to post what they are getting this week,it helps me greatly deciding what new stuff to get and everyone has not steered me wrong yet!

    So this week…

    Fantastic Four #572
    Detective Comics #858
    Blackest Night #4

    it looks like a lot of people are going for Green Lantern #47 or Punisher #10. I will check those out and see how much money I have left at the end =)

    IM

  9. Chris says:

    Detective Comics #858 and Northlanders #21 for sure. And maybe Fantastic Four #572, Wonder Woman #37 and X-Factor #50, if I have time/money.

  10. kurumais says:

    Nova
    guardians of the galaxy
    ms marvel
    incredible Hercules
    ares
    ultimate avengers
    Jennifer love hewitt’s music box
    detective
    jsa
    the web 2
    take a look at world fininest and gotham city sitrens

  11. kurumais says:

    j no atom eve one shot ?

    • Not for me. I bought too many books this week and I was already on the fence about that one. I do like the art but the fact that Kirkman is not writing it doesn’t make it a must buy. If it’s a small week next week and the issue is still around I may pick it up.

      J.

  12. Blackest Night#4
    Fantastic Four#572
    Detective Comics#858

    I might get GL#47 later. I’ve spending a little too much money on comics…

  13. Variant Girl says:

    Hey peeps, this is what I’m getting

    Blackest Night #4
    Superman Secret orgins #2
    Detective Comics #858
    Wonder Woman #37

    Thats all kids, C YA

  14. Matthew Guy says:

    SUPERMAN SECRET ORIGIN #2 both the regular & variant covers
    BLACKEST NIGHT #4
    GREEN LANTERN #47 (BLACKEST NIGHT)
    BLACKEST NIGHT TITANS #3
    DETECTIVE COMICS #858
    FANTASTIC FOUR #572
    BYRNE FF VISIONARIES VOL. 1 (REPRINT)
    GOTHAM CITY SIRENS #5
    PREVIEWS #254 NOVEMBER 2009 (NET)
    SUPERMAN #693
    AMBUSH BUG YEAR NONE #7 (OF 6) (This book finally came out!)
    UMBRELLA ACADEMY VOL. 1 APOCALYPSE SUITE TPB
    BILL WILLINGHAM’S IRONWOOD VOL. 1 TPB (ebay)

    Matthew

    PS
    No Batman for me until Tony S. (for shitty) Daniel is off Batman as Daniel currently has both the writing & art duties on the title or Batman 700 whichever comes first. So in my own opinion, Batman is at the RIP stage right now w/ Tony S. Daniel at the helm.

  15. saar17 says:

    This is the biggest stack i’ve ever had:

    Buy:

    Mangas- Air Gear Vol.14
    Tsubasa Vol. 23
    Xxxholic Vol. 14
    Xxxholic: The Official Guide

    Just the mangas come in total of 51$!!!

    comics-
    War Machine #10
    Ultimate Comics Avengers #3
    Ultimate Comics Armor Wars #2
    Green Lantern #47
    Fantastic Four #572
    Detective Comics #858
    Blackest Night #4
    Secret Warriors #9

    The total buy is 79$!!!

    Read:
    Punisher #10 – Dropping this series after this issue
    New Avengers #58
    Dark Reign: The List – Wolverine
    Dark Reign: The List – Punisher
    Dark Avengers: Ares #1
    Blackest Night: Titans #3
    Amazing Spider-Man Presents: Anti Venom – New Ways To Live #2
    Avengers: The Initiative #29

    P.S- doesn’t Image promo series is coming out this week as well? does it free?

  16. Linwood E. Knight says:

    These are the weeks where Wallets go to die.

    DC Universe

    Blackest Night #4 (of 8) $3.99
    Detective Comics #858 $3.99
    Green Lantern #47 $2.99

    DC Vertigo

    Jack of Fables # 39 $2.99
    Madame Xanadu # 16 $2.99
    Northlanders #21 $2.99

    Image Comics

    Invincible Presents Atom Eve and Rex Splode #1 (of 3) $2.99

    Marvel Comics

    Guardians of the Galaxy #19 $2.99
    Incredible Hercules #137 $2.99
    Nova #30 $2.99
    Secret Warriors #9 $2.99
    Punisher #10 $2.99 (Probably the end of my Run with the Book)
    X-Factor #50 $3.99
    X-Force #20 $2.99

    Non Big 2/Image/Dark Horse

    Ignition City #5 $3.99
    Queen Sonja #1 $2.99

    Total Without Discount $52.00
    Discount: $18.00

    Overall $34…Not too bad for such an awesome week, but still a killer.

  17. Pobra says:

    Blackest Night #4
    Detective Comics #858
    Green Lantern #47
    Punisher #10
    Secret Warriors #9

    maybe’s

    DR: The List: Punisher #1 (the solicits I’ve seen have me very nervous about this one as well)
    Fantastic Four #572 (if i can find the two previous issues)
    Weapon X #6

    • Ya, I have read it. The JRJR art is good but the ending really bothers me. I don’t want to say anything else because it would be a major spoiler. Flip through it at your shop and let me know what you think.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        Well, I just got back from the shop where I read this issue and my god… you were not kidding when you said that this book has one of the worst endings in recent memory. What the fuck was that??? I’m not going to spoil this for anyone, but what the fuck… I might continue to read the main series for at least the next issue or two for the absolutely GEORGEOUS Tony Moore art that is coming up, but man… that was just way too much. Hopefully Remender can pull something out of his ass to make the book worth reading after this, but even still, the events of this issue left a very bad taste in my mouth. You should review this at some point J.

    • I’m thinking I may have to review it on here soon.

      J.

  18. Canibal_Otaku says:

    Blackest night 4 (Like most of us)
    Might get that new printing of the killing joke if its a good price.

  19. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    DC
    Arkham Reborn #1
    Blackest Night #4
    Blackest Night – Titans #2
    Batman #692
    Batwoman in Detective Comics #858
    Gotham City Sirens #5
    The Last Days of Animal Man #6
    Final Crisis: INK #6
    Green Lantern #47
    JSA #32
    Madam Xanadu #16
    Superman # 693
    Superman Sercret Origin #2
    World’s Finest #1
    Wonder Woman #37
    Teen Titans #76

    Marvel
    Guardians of the Galaxy #19
    Nova #30
    The Incredible Hercules #137
    Avengers The Initiative #29
    Fantastic Four #572
    Secret Warriors #9
    New Mutants #6
    X-FORCE #20
    X-Men: NECROSHA
    Dark Reign-The List: Wolverine
    Wolverine Weapon X #6

    Other Publishers
    Freddy vs Jason vs Ash #5
    Hack/Slash #27

    Jose, I read the Tony Daniel issue of BATMAN that came out today and it was actually pretty good! I liked it! Maybe he’s hitting the ZONE…?

    • Holy shit, Johnny! Did you buy all those books today?

      Also: Holy shit, Johnny! That issue of Batman was incomprehensible! You liked it? I think that you are too giddy about Halloween only being a few days away and you have lost your damn mind. πŸ˜›

      J.

      • JohnnyHorror92182 says:

        I’m sorry, Jose. But I feel that it came together in this issue. I thought it was pretty solid. Now, keep in mind, I’m a Batman Officionotto. I know who Doctor Death and Hugo Strange and Fright and Mario Falcone are. And I really didn’t find it confusing, except for the guy in the tank Strange and Death were experimenting on….but I had an inkling of who he was and I did some digging and found I was correct in my assumption! I think I will upload a video on this. Tune in, and watch!

    • What were Bats and Gordan talking about in the first couple of pages? People were trapped somewhere and the Coast Guard were going to go in? What people and where? The dialogue throughout the issue was so stilted and was all over the place. It’s like Daniel used Mad Libs in order to help him “punch up” the dialogue.

      And what the hell was Black Mask wearing in this issue? I’m sorry but that design is one of the worst things I have ever seen. And why were the Black Mask’s fingers like 7 inches long? Oh, that’s right, it’s because Daniel is a terrible artist.

      I know we rarely have polar opposite opinions on things but this may be one of of those times.

      J.

      • JohnnyHorror92182 says:

        Honestly…that’s the way I would have drawn Black Mask when I was in High School. :)Come on, that was awesome! Granted, it was a little much, but I thought it was cool. Very “HELLRAISER” looking….I always give artists some artistic liscence, Jose. It’s a comic book, so I don’t expect any realistic outfits ala` THE DARK KNIGHT. If I was a supervillian, I’d have 7 inch razor claws…

        To be perfectly honest with you, I wouldn’t know stilted dialogue if it sat on my face and wiggled. It took me until after Marvels Civil War to relize that NEW AVENGERS was pure BS! So, admittedly, I’m not the smartest critic out there. I just like what I like.

        The Fedora hat that was left at the False Face massacre scene was left by Mario Falcone’s men, either by accident or by design, to show Black Mask that someone is muscling in on Gotham’s Underwold. The whole thing about Hostages is rather unexplained. I’m assuming that Devil’s Square is an area of Gotham City (writers are always coming up with new places in Gotham) that Black Mask has made his territory (like Crime Ally, or the East End). If the National Guard goes in to root him out, I’ll bet Black Mask has the place wired to blow up.

    • Ironmuskrat says:

      Wow Johnny! Did you hit the lottery or something? =) I wish I had the resources to get that many comics a week, I would be back on top of things in no time.

      I figured you would be gearing up for a big Halloween party or something, this time of year must be like X-mas for you. =D

      IM

  20. phil says:

    Tentatively speaking,the only comics I’m zeroeing inon is BN and GL.
    If I can manage, once BN concludes, I’ll be taking an indefinite hiatus from comics and when I return, it’ll be 90% or higher….trades, or maybe I’ll bow out altogether.

    k..0…

  21. camnick says:

    another small week for me

    unknown soldier #13
    secret warriors #9
    invincible presents atom eve and rexplode #1

  22. kurumais says:

    talk in my lcs today
    more grumbling about too many book specifically marvel and how detective is great
    also what was wizard thinking putting next years big apple wizard world on the same weekend as NY comic con in the javitz. folks think the tri state area could sell them both out though but im not so sure

  23. Antonio says:

    picked up

    Blackest Night
    BN:Titans
    TEC
    Wonder Woman
    Batman
    Green Lantern
    JSA

    Also, dropped Captain America for the foreseeable future and added Doom Patrol to my pull

    • Locusmortis says:

      I’m on the fence about Cap too, Reborn is a colossal rip off, I will give the regular series and issue or 2 but its close to the edge right now.

      Good call on Doom Patrol, its a decent read and the metal men backup is quality.

  24. kurumais says:

    everyweek we say what books we are getting we never say how we liked them im not saying a review thats E&J’s job but how about a good bad or ok kind of thing or maybe we nominate our book of the week

    just a thought

    • Pobra says:

      i like the idea of doing a book of the week. It would be cool to see what everyone is digging in a given week. Then you could tally them up and see what book has the highest percentage. It would be a useful tool for newer readers who aren’t sure what to pick up.

      • Locusmortis says:

        I’d like to see something like a bargain back issue book of the past every so often. To explain, I’ve been sorting through some old comics, getting rid of the shit (post claremont x-men, x-force etc) and bagging and boarding the good stuff and coming across good mini-series like White Trash (Tundra), Onyx Overlord (Epic), Vlad the Impaler (Topps comics) and more which are all quality but I bet are bargain basement prices as back issues and probably never collected.

Leave a Reply

