CCW Question of the Week

Posted: October 29, 2009 in Question of the Week

Suck It

This week’s question:

Do writers and artists having exclusive contracts with one comic company hurt or help the industry?

Just by looking at the pic above I am going to have to go ahead and say that it hurts the industry. On the other hand it does keep Millar, Bendis and Loeb away from my DC comics so that certainly does help it. I guess just like Natalie Imbruglia I am quite torn on the subject. That song was about comic artist exclusivity, wasn’t it?

J.

Comments
  1. Venom829 says:

    The 3 examples you mentioned are hurting us. I know me cause I love Marvel, and I get more Marvel Comics than D.C. ones. But if it’s someone like Peter David who loves his work, than no.

  2. mbell028 says:

    I’m fine with it as well. I think that currently DC has some of the best books simply because they have writers that simply understand how the DC universe works and the characters within it.
    Matt

  3. Deemar says:

    I think it hurts, it locks up a creator at one company sometimes for years and builds animosity towards the editors and big wigs from getting for example a Bendis Batman, a JH Williams Captain America etc..

    Plus some creators need a change of pace and as in the case of Bendis allows for one asshat to pretty much control the fate of a comic universe for the worse.

  4. Chris says:

    ” I thought I saw a man brought to life
    He was warm
    He came around
    And he was dignified
    He showed me what it was to cry

    Well you couldn’t be that man I adored
    You don’t seem to know
    Or seem to care
    What your heart is for
    I don’t know him anymore ”

    I think it actually might be about peope who sign exclusive deals. Their work starts of really strong and then it fades in boring formulaic nonsense month after month. I think that sums Bendis’ Marvel work up.

  5. generaldark says:

    i cant fully decide which side i am on :/

  6. Matthew Guy says:

    Help it. Keep Johns at DC & Loeb/Bendis at the house of no ideas.

    Matthew

  7. Venom829 says:

    Is Matt Fraction exclusive Marvel? There’s a prop for them if so.

  8. Antonio says:

    I don’t it hurts the industry. I think it’s the creator’s fault not the contract.

    alot of DC writers are killing on some titles and I am sure some Marvel guys are too(I have to admit I have not been reading much Marvel the past year)

    I think it’s just when the big name guy with the exclusive contract(Loeb) fails then it is overblown.

    Grant Morrison has been DC exclusive for a while and he’s put out some very creative completely original stuff in recent memory( Yes, I like Final Crisis, FC haters šŸ™‚ )

  9. TheComicRant says:

    Yes, it hurts. We need more fresh voices in the industry.

  10. Locusmortis says:

    I think it makes some writers (bendis, loeb) phone in scripts because they are guaranteed a paycheck anyway and it makes some artists (the kuberts) lazy.

    I don’t buy this bs about some artists being “slow and meticulous), an artist should be capable of minimum 20 pages a month of good quality work. if they’re not then its just laziness.

    • Pobra says:

      If Kirby and Sal Buscema were working today, they would hand these guys their asses.
      On the other hand, I’m a huge Frank Quitely fan and he is notorious for not being able to stick to a monthly schedule, I guess he’s too busy getting high with Morrison or something. So, if it were more like the old days, he might be out of a job.
      I find some artists stuff is worth the wait, but they really should try to be more disciplined.

  11. Variant Girl says:

    Jose you are soo cute and funny šŸ˜› So whitty, and you keep it real. I tend to agree with you myself, and I do think it hurts, provided you have good writers and artists. Not like the group you mentioned above. If good creative talents could freelance and work for who they wanted everyone would be happy, especially us fans!

    Cheers,
    VG

Leave a Reply

