CCW Reader’s Comic of the Week (Pilot Episode)

Posted: October 29, 2009 in Blogging, Opinion
Tags:

Riddle Me This

This is not the “Question of the Week” post just yet. That will be coming later today. This is more of a rhetorical question: Can the CCW reader’s handle having their own blog post every week?

I was reading some comments from CCW reader’s Kurumais and Pobra where they brought up the suggestion of having this kinda of “readers” post. You guys and gals tell us every week what you are buying in our “Who’s Getting What” post on Tuesday but don’t really have a chance to tell us why you like the books that you buy. Well, let’s try to change that.

So here’s your shot. Tell us in the comments below what your favorite comic (only one please) of the week was and why. Sorta like a mini review if you will. If it goes well enough I will start making this a weekly post.

J.

Comments
  1. therichestmanintown says:

    I’d love to do this but sadly my favorite local comic shop, The Cave closed down. Now I have to go to Dave’s Comics which is a failure of a comic shop that is owned by a millionaire. Dave’s is so bad about keeping their stock up to date that the latest issue of Secret Six that they have is #12, needless to say after missing out on Secret Six #14 I had to get a box from them. This week I go there to get my comics late Wednesday and come to find out there is nothing in my box and the owner hasn’t picked up this week’s comics. Today I went there after classes and saw a UPS truck in front of the store. When I got inside they told me that the owner was sick and that this week’s comics weren’t coming in until this weekend or Monday, maybe.

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    I took it easy this week and only bought three comics. Detective Comics# 858, Blackest Night #4 and Fantastic Four #572. All three were very good, but if I had to pick one as my Favorite of the week it would be….

    Fantastic Four #572!

    It’s really hard to describe just how much I liked this issue, it did something rare to me as a reader, it actually got an emotional response out of me. Not saying I cried or anything, but I did get a choked up at the end.. Maybe a little bit misty eyed.. but no crying! =D

    I was waiting for this one to be a knock down, drag out action packed issue and there was a lot of action in it, but most of the real story takes place back at Reed’s Earth, with his family, both past and present. Reed has to make a lot of hard decisions about his future and the future of his family.

    Of course this all takes place during an attack by the Celestials on the Council. The battle itself takes an unexpected twist early on when two major players that had a large part in the last issue die rather quickly, leave our Reed to take up the slack and work with some of the Reed’s that where largely in the background previously.

    All the scenes are well written, despite this being a largely Reed centric arc, Sue, Ben, Johnny and the kids all get to shine in this book. The art is well done, although Mr. Fantastic’s guns have returned this issue.

    Any complaints? Not many, the cover is a bit deceptive(a pet peeve of mine) and Reed’s father starts to look a little too much like Jesus by the end of the issue.

    I am really looking forward to future issues of Hickman’s FF, if the first three are any indication, this will be a quality book for months to come.

    Hummm, this turned out to be more of a review than a pick of the week. Sorry if it went too long guys but I was really excited about this issue.

    IM

  3. mbell028 says:

    I have to say my favorite book of the week was Detective Comics 858. This series has some of the best art in any book I’ve ever read. The story was great and a very interesting in seeing Batwoman as a child and to see her sister(who turns out was her arch-nemisis Alice who we saw in the last story arc).
    Matt

  4. phil says:

    Since I was not ablw to make it to my bookstore,I”ll have to go with what resonated with me the most in recent weeks. JeremyLoves, BAYOU. A trade from DC’s online branch.Zuda. Set in the South…early 30’s, Bayou is part fantasy/folklore and part racial stryfe and all heart. In lesser hands this could have been little more than stereo types and cliches but Mr.Love seems to have done his homework and all the key characters are fairly fleshed out.

    The art is also by Love and does not miss a beat. Simple in style, while not being excessively cartoony. This trade, in my opinion should be in evry library, school and household with children who are old enough to read.

    Not always entertaining, it is aiways engaging and deserves a wider audience than the niche crowd that I’m sure has already gotten it.

    Finally, thanx Jose, for potentially having this on as a regular feature and thanx to Pobra and Kurumais for putting the suggestion out there. I.m sure that with the followers that CCW has. that there will be no shortage interesting, thought provoking and just flat out fun tales that can be shared and enjoyed by everyone.

    k..o…

  5. Deemar says:

    Marvels Project 3

    Steve Epting is the goddamn Batma…er..his art is stunning it really captures the feel of the 1940s not a line is wasted,the story itself Marvels Project #3 is rolling along beautifully. So far in the story Brubaker introduced the Ferret a guy with a ferret, that’s it. Nick Fury in his pre-superspy form, which for me is the best part of this book seeing how a cat like Fury went from adrenalin junky parachuter to Sam Jackson.

    Brubaker is working at his standard pace which is kinda slow, but the dialogue and character interaction keeps you satisfied. If there is one thing about Marvels Project I’m worried about it’s wether or not any of this matters? Does this story mean anything to the greater MU and if so what can we expect to float over into current continuity. Brubaker and Epting are knocking it outta the park with this mini as they should and for anyone curious about Marvel’s pre Fantastic Four numbah Uno history will get something outta this comic and those familiar with that history will get a deeper, richer look at a time before they had pubes.

    Read it, buy it Do it c’mon do it 🙂

  6. generaldark says:

    i loved blackest night but im not going to review that. instead im going to review something i just picked up and am really liking.

    X-factor #50

    this is probally the worst time to jump into this book but i was pretty drawn into the dialouge and charecters in this book. the art is nice, the preview for #600 looks even better so i will be picking that up when it comes out. i dont know much about this book to give it a real far review but i know i liked it and i geuss its a good thing my shop ran outta punisher the list or else i would not have gotten this.

  7. Variant Girl says:

    Jose and Elliot, this is a great idea. You’re viewership is just as opinionated as you both and I think it’s super cool that you guys want to hear our thoughts on the comics we buy. Also I think that at the risk of sounding cheesy, CCW has a real close nit family/community vibe to it, and allowing reviews will only make all the regulars on here even more familiar with one another. It’s a great way to have us interact with you guys, and one another more personally. Look out for a post from me. I will be picking up comics today, even though it’s late and I will post a little something.

  8. Pobra says:

    My book of the week was GREEN LANTERN #47

    In my opinion, this book is the best of Blackest Night, so if you are reading and enjoying that, you really need to jump on this. In fact, I’m going to say that this is better than the main book. This is Johns at his best and Mahnke is firing on all cylinders.
    Each issue of this title has gotten better since Blackest Night started and this is no exception. We get loads of action and some great character moments, mainly between Sinestro, Hal and Black Lantern Abin Sur. But Johns doesn’t waste time with too much banter from the resurrected Abin Sur, you get just enough to reveal a side of Sinestro rarely seen and then he is swiftly dealt with, unlike other BN books which really seem to drag out the banter.
    Also, after reading this I have decided that Atrocitus is my new favorite character in the Green Lantern universe and is shaping up to be a major player in Blackest Night.
    Anyway, this “review” is getting a little long winded, so in short, read this, it’s awesome.

    • Ironmuskrat says:

      Almost got GL #47 and I might still. As good as the core Blackest Night series is, I am starting to feel like I’m missing a huge chunk of the story. Even the guy who rang me up at the counter said I should at least be buying the Green Lantern stuff to fully enjoy Blackest Night. I think you might have convinced me to start picking this comic up Pobra =)

      IM

      • Pobra says:

        Cool 🙂 Although, jumping on at this issue might be slightly overwhelming. There is a lot going on in this book right now, but if you can get in to it, it’s well worth it. You should try to get some of the previous issues, #43 would probably be a decent starting point.
        If you’re new to GL all together, you might want to pick up the Sinestro War trades and the Secret Origin trade. But if you’re just interested in the Blackest Night stuff, #43 is a good jump on point.
        If you can manage to get all that (without breaking the bank, lol) you should be up to speed with the awesomeness that is Green Lantern!

    • Deemar says:

      Agree

      Atrocitus seems like one of those new badguys who’ll stick around for awhile

  9. comicbookdude89 says:

    My fav book of the week was Blackest Night#4. I’m thinking of just including a part of my review of the book from my blog if that’s all right.

    “What I specifically loved about this book is that The Flash, Mera, and The Atom were working their butts off. They were doing what most heroes are doing in comic books nowadays. They were acting like true superheroes. They were saving people’s lives instead killing people. I’m glad that they’re still people that understand what a hero is. Thank you Geoff Johns! You have restored some faith that I’ve lost.”

    • comicbookdude89 says:

      whoops i screwed up on the first sentence.

      “What I specifically loved about this book is that The Flash, Mera, The Atom were working their butts off to save people in danger.”

Leave a Reply

