Odds and Ends

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Blogging, CCW Nation, Marvel, Odds and Ends
Tags: , , , ,

What Do You Think of My Teeth Spidey

-One book that wasn’t on my list this week that I picked up was Assault on New Olympus. It has the first part of the Agents of Atlas back-up that will be running in Incredible Herc. So here’s my question: Why the fuck would Marvel put the first part to the AoA storyline in a one-shot? I know that this one-shot is essentially an Incredible Herc issue but still. Could fuck AoA fans up by them waiting for the story to start in the Incredible Herc monthly. They will buy the next issue of Herc only to see that the AoA story is indeed part 2 and not part 1. Wondering where the hell the first part of the story is that reader will become frustrated, go all Wrath of Khan and yell “MARRRRVELLLLLL” into the night sky.

-A new Psylocke 4 issue miniseries started today and is $3.99 an issue. It does have a 6 page backup story to warrant the extra dollar but don’t get to used to it. Get this shit: It’s the first part (of four) to a Cable story written by Duane Swierczynshi and drawn by Steve Dillon but the second part of the story WILL NOT be in Psylocke #2. It will instead be a backup story in the upcoming Dark X-Men #1 with the third part being in X-Men Legacy #230 and the fourth in X-Force #22. Hope you buy all of those books already if you want the whole Cable story. If you don’t really care about the Cable story though and collect those monthly books just know that those issues will go up to $3.99 whether you want the story or not. Nice huh?

So, what’s the back up story in Psylocke #2 then? There isn’t one. The rest of the miniseries will be standard 32 page comics but still be priced at $3.99. Marvel are the fucking kings of bait and switch.

-Didn’t end up buying the Haunt #2 today. I don’t think I have ever been more conflicted about buying a book or not. I do want to support Kirkman and Ottley but at the end of the day I just can’t bring myself to pay $2.99 for something I won’t really enjoy.

-Started getting some goodies together this week to give away in a future CCW contest for our readers/viewers. Don’t know yet what the contest will be exactly but I do know it will most likely take place in December and that you’ll think the prizes are somewhat cool…I hope

J.

Comments
  1. therichestmanintown says:

    Stuff like that is making it impossible for me to get into Marvel. DC on the other hand is pretty simple since the back up stories are all pretty lame and unimportant. Marvel just spams too much so finding out what’s good is impossible. Still haven’t heard anything about an Agents of Atlas trade either.

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    That’s it, I am going back to trades! =) (Joking of course)

    At the risk of sounding like a complete suck ass here.. Thank God for Elliott, Jose and everyone here at the CCW website. Because without the hard work and effort from the whole crew here, I would not have a fucking clue as to what to buy comic book wise these days.

    The above scenario described by Jose is the nightmare faced by everyone trying to enjoy collecting comics these days. Instead of making money by putting out quality books people want to buy, Marvel is attempting to squeeze money out of people by confusing the fuck out of them in the hopes they will buy comics they would never normally get in a desperate attempt to read a complete story.

    Right now buying a comic from Marvel has become the equivalent of fucking with the cube from Hellraiser. You might get a good comic, but chances are you will get fishhooks shot into your junk and be flayed alive.. for $3.99 of course..

    Shit, I turn 41 this month and I think I just suffered my first case of Nerd Rage.

    Whew! Anyway, thanks for heads up Jose, another quality post as usual.

    IM

  3. saar17 says:

    Again, the only reason I bought this issue of Assault in New Olympus is because Adi’s did the cover (and it is fucking amazing). My only question is… How the fuck asked for this event/series? Herc is a D list character and except from the Thor’s series no one give a fuck about Marvel’s mythological/Nordic Univers.

  4. Zcorp79 says:

    I still am up in the air about the whole AOA back up story, I am a huge fan of the Agents but at the same time I just do not want to support Incredible Herc. Oh well I will just flip a coin to decide if I buy or not.

  5. kurumais says:

    wow that is really weird marketing does cable need the back up story exposure? or maybe the other books need cable? AoA need all the help hey can get. BTW the current herc storyline the replacement thor is GREAT so much fun herc dresses like thor thor dresses like herc hilarity ensues its a nice break from most of, the rest of, the marvel u how many books do you read were you smile all the way through the book ?

    assault on olympus huh was going to skip it till the agents were included thanks for the heads up?

  6. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    Assult on New Olympus was an awesome book. It is what an Avengers story SHOULD be. I am on board with this story.

    I bought the 1st issue of Psylocke…on a whim. I had the extra cash so I thought, why not? Yost X-Men work is always golden to me. I wish he was the one writing the main x-books. Along with Cornell!

    Two books that I thought were really great were Astonishing X-Men #32 and The Great Ten #1.

  7. TheMrManPretty says:

    I am boycotting MARVEL!! “FrankenCastle!” The Punisher gets killed by Daken and is now F…ing FRANKENCASTLE! STUPID!! This Dark Reign crap better turn into some characters bad dream or something! Jose, what the hell man?

    • I’m confused. Are you blaming me for killing the Punisher?

      J.

      • JohnnyHorror92182 says:

        I am actually all for FRANKENCASTLE. I think it’s hilarious. I have no problem with it, mainly because I don’t like Punisher just enough where I don’t mind seeing chopped into tiny pieces!

    • kurumais says:

      i am baffled by frankencastle as well why ? do punishers fans want to take their normal vigilante type psycho hero and turn him inot super science cyborg monster? you know they are going to reverse it and when you read his wiki article is just going sound ridiculously stupid no matter how good the story was though i cant imagine it could be. its just bad comic book cheese

      • Pobra says:

        Just when I was starting to like the Punisher as a character again, they pull this shit… I’m going to give it a chance, but I don’t understand why we couldn’t enjoy some fun Punisher in the marvel U for a while. I really enjoyed those first two arcs, I would have liked a bit more of that.

    • alfred monty says:

      I have faith in Remender. Both Punisher & Dr. Voodoo are good.

      So far Remender has given us a Punisher who uses pym particles to carry more guns.

      The solicitations for the next three Punisher issues sound great. Punisher as a cyborg-undead-thing living in the NYC sewers! Fighting Japanese monster hunters!

      I’m willing to bet that the people who like to read stories about a man who kills mobsters overlaps with the people who like to read stories about a monstrous man who kills monster hunters.

  8. MicahSkin says:

    New contest? Oooooo…

    Hope it’s not about funny posts cause Bendisitis took it out of me, have to store up again to make funny comments not about my friends and their horrible Halloween costuming choices… (Nurse Joker was SO last year Robbie!)

Leave a Reply

