Odds and Ends

Posted: November 11, 2009 in Odds and Ends, Opinion

Thumbs Up

-I didn’t end up buying Punishermax #1 or Strange #1 today. Can’t afford to add two more $3.99 titles to my monthly pull. Marvel is just killing themselves (and me) with their prices. I’ll just wait for the trade on Strange.

-I did however end up getting Amazing Spider-Man #611. I had forgotten about this issue back when I was ranting about not buying Spidey again till January. It’s Joe Kelly’s chance to write Deadpool again, Eric Canete on the art and it’s pretty much a one and done story. Being that I am a fan of Kelly’s Deadpool run and Canete’s art I felt compelled to purchase it.

-Getting back to the subject of overpriced comics: Batman/Doc Savage Special was $4.99. I have yet to read it but that thing better be fucking golden…or bronzed as the case may be.

-There was a surprise(?) return of one of my favorite (mutant) characters today in Dark X-Men #1. Now if only Marvel could get Steve Skroce to come back and do another monthly with him. It’s really too bad Marvel somewhat ruined this surprise return with their shitty The Siege teasers last week.

Captain America: Who Will Wield the Shield one-shot has now officially changed to Captain America REBORN: Who Will Wield the Shield making it seem very likely that fans will indeed have to buy it before Cap: Reborn #6 to know what the hell is going on.

-Finished reading REBELS #10. Awesome ending to an awesome issue. Hope everyone who is checking the book out for the first time enjoys it as much as I did. May have to review this one.

-Just saw the sales estimates for October and DC really handed Marvel their asses. I’m working on a post right now for it. Should be up in a bit.

J.

Comments
  1. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    Speaking of Odd’s and End’s, Jose, I just read “SWORD” #1 by Gillian and wow, I loved it. If you get the chance read it. The original Death’s Head, makes a guest appearence.

  2. Dirtydozen says:

    That might be the best cover ever.

  3. Ironmuskrat says:

    Rebels was packed with action this week, a lot of good stuff happens(well, a lot of bad stuff, but you know what I mean).. as the old expression goes, just when you think things can’t get any worse, they do! Tony Bedard is really impressing me with his writing.

    I look forward to your review if you choose to do one Jose!

    IM

  4. Ironmuskrat says:

    Oh and one Odd thing from me(haha, I know!)

    Would it be considered irony that I paid $3.99 for a Booster Gold book that I never planned to buy, just to get a Orange(greed) Lantern ring(price, two cents to make, I am sure).

    I think it was worth it considering I made the nice lady at my LCS laugh when I announced “It’s Mine!” grabbing my bag and quickly leaving the store.

    IM

  5. Pobra says:

    I didn’t notice the price on that Batman/Doc Savage special until it had been rung through and the price of my stack made a dramatic leap. Oh well, at least I’m saving money by not reading the main Batman title anymore. And my shop owner got gypped on his order of Green Lantern Corps, so i wasn’t able to get a copy of that either. I’m still a little upset about that one… two more beers and i should be fine though. 🙂

  6. generaldark says:

    my comic store didnt have batman/doc savage so im really disapointed int hem right now 😦 jose i hope your AT LEAST following the batman and robin stroy cause the ending of issue 6 made me not able to wait till january to read! rebels was awsome as alwaise. interesting to see that vrill dox does have feelings after all :D….kinda

Leave a Reply

