The New Chew Interview

Posted: November 13, 2009 in Interviews
Tags: , ,

Eat It Up Yum

Good ole CBR has a brand new interview up with the creator’s of the comic sleeper hit/flash in the pan, Chew. Did you actually think the CCW would be able to score that interview? Ya, right. Like comic-legends-in-the-making John Layman and Rob Guillory would ever be caught dead slumming it down here being interviewed by either Elliott or I. Though we may be King Makers(tm) we are alas just still lowly peasants in the greater scheme of it all.

Here’s but a small portion of the interview:

What did you expect or hope that readers might enjoy about the premise (of Chew)?

Guillory: As an artist and as a fan of the book myself, I really hoped they’d appreciate the amount of originality we were putting into it, and that they wouldn’t just write us off as “weird.”

Layman: I didn’t expect readers would enjoy it at all. I expected it to flop, or make a tiny ripple in that vast ocean that is comic book. I wrote it for myself, figuring a select few weirdos would “get it” and it would have some small cult appeal. I never, ever, ever thought it would be received with the amount of enthusiasm that it has. I’m very grateful, but even today still surprised.

I guess the CCW were lucky enough to be among the “select few weirdos”, huh? Do yourselves a favor and go read the rest of the interview by hitting the link down below.

J.

John Layman & Rob Guillory Chew on “Chew”/CBR

Comments
  1. That’s it.

    JOHN LAYMAN IS DEAD TO ME!

    AGAIN!

    And to think that I had put him back on my Christmas card list.

    Bastard.

    Elliott

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    Mr. Layman doesn’t seem to understand the CCW site contains his biggest fans! What we need to do is stage a mail campaign to let him know just how much we like Chew!

    OK, here is the plan, we need to do something clever visually to get his notice, like when fans of the show Roswell sent little bottles of hot sauce to the network to try and save their show from cancellation.

    I suggest everyone here at the CCW site send Mr. Layman a severed finger in a fast food container to let him know just how crazy we are about Chew. I guess the finger doesn’t have to be your own, but that would sort of take away the personal nature of your message. Taking a bite out of the finger before you mail it is also optional.

    So who’s with me? Let do this! Whoo Hoo!

    IM

    • Pobra says:

      Yes, I like the idea of sending John Layman severed body parts in the mail. There is NO way he could misinterpret that as anything but a sign of love and admiration… no way

    • Deemar says:

      Why stop at fingers? Let’s go full throttle and send them a whole arm with a bottle of hot sauce

  3. Locusmortis says:

    Huh I was just gonna send him a box of chopped liver…should be pretty ripe by the time it gets across the atlantic though!

  4. C4RL0Z says:

    I haven´t read chew im waiting for the trade which comes out in a few weeks that´s why im not gonna read the interview for now. But could someone plz tell me why elliot hats layman so much? or why do everyone here on ccw? is it because they dont mention jose and elliot? if thats the case lets all send him severed body parts.

    Plz tell me without spoiling the book.

Leave a Reply

