A Few Thoughts About Invincible Iron Man #20

Posted: November 25, 2009 in Blogging, Marvel, Opinion
Tags: ,

Invincible Iron Man is easily one of my Top 3 favorite comic titles currently. Even though I thoroughly dislike Marvel I buy it in support of Matt Fraction’s work on this book. In fact, every Marvel book I buy is to support the creators who are working on it. Well, after reading this issue my like for Fraction’s work is now outweighed by my dislike for Marvel so I will no longer be purchasing this title. Why? I am completely done supporting Marvel titles that charge extra money in exchange for reprinted bullshit.

Months ago I remember reading a Cup O’ Joe column where Joe Quesada said that Marvel would longer charge extra money for “filler.” So, what happened to that? They still continue to employ that practice to this day and I am just not going to deal with it anymore. By the looks of last month’s sales chart it looks like I am not the only one.

The last issue of Invincible Iron Man was also $3.99 but it was because there were extra pages of interior art and therefore it was a longer than normal story which was worth the extra dollar. When I bought this issue I figured it was the same reason but when I got home and finished reading the issue I found out I was sorely mistaken. So, yes, I got taken like a chump and I really don’t like that feeling. The next time this happens within the pages of Fantastic Four, Secret Warriors, Thunderbolts or any of the other few Marvel books I still buy I will be dropping them as well until I no longer buy Marvel Comics. Luckily I have a job where I can read them for free.

I am now beginning to suspect where Geoff Johns got the inspiration for this character:

But damn, Invincible Iron Man #20 was yet another solid issue of the series.

J.

Comments
  1. When I picked this issue up I foolishly didn’t look through it so when I was in my dad’s car I looked the issue and when I got to the IIM Saga crap I thought, “What in the world is this? I don’t want this!” I agree w/ the Larfleeze theory… if I ever meet Geoff Johns I’ll ask him. Sigh… Marvel is losing me every week little by little… Siege is either going to make me loose faith in Marvel or… I don’t know…

  2. generaldark says:

    dude jose i felt the same way, i really wanted to get this but luckily i saw the reprint shit in the back and was like fuck this. im just not going to follow this story line i geuss…..

  3. phil says:

    For arguments sake, lets say that Marvel does put filler in the remaining comics that you do like, jose. When you say that you’re done with Marvel,doess that include the trades of the trades of thee same titles?

    k…0..

    • phil says:

      that is: the trades of the same titles? I thought I posted this correction already, my apologies if this comes up as a double posting.

    • Ya, I won’t be buying the trades either.

      J.

      • Locusmortis says:

        Hmmm I was planning on buying the inevitable hardcover omnibus of this whenever that is, probably after 25 issues I guess but price will be a big factor.

        If they try to milk the price on the omnibus then I’m gone, there’s plenty of other hardcovers out there need buying, I really need to buy volume 2 and 3 of the Starman omnibus and I want to get the invincible series from the start in hardcover so the message to marvel is stop being so fucking greedy!

  4. Curtis says:

    Dam, I just decided to start picking Iron man up again.

  5. Fallows1985 says:

    Yeah I have to agree, I didn’t like having to pay more money for the back stuff, although I really enjoyed the story and am quite new to Ironman so was nice to have the background explained didn’t like that you had to pay. I am kind of confused as to why Pepper didn’t want Tony back though, has something happened between them? or is it cos other people have died as well?

  6. Ironmuskrat says:

    It was pretty disappointing to see the extra stuff in the back of the book. Not that it was badly done, but it just so unnecessary. In a issue that was mostly exposition, you couldn’t have incorporated some of that background information into the main story. It wasn’t like the book was action packed with a bunch of splash pages, just people talking to each other, so as a bonus to readers, you tack on a second story that is more exposition? and then charge more money?

    That being said it was a great book this week, I just wish they would have spared the unnecessary extra stuff.

    IM

  7. StevieEvs says:

    This might sound harsh but the one thing I’m really looking forward to on this ark is that it’s only 5 issues.
    As good as Most Wanted was, a year was just too long to hold my interest, how long does it take a man to go full retarded anyway?

    Hey, I just realised. Downey Jr plays Iron Man, also coined ‘full retard’ in Tropical Thunder. Maybe Iron Mans next outing will have him being a detective???

  8. Smallmaniac says:

    Yeah it sucks, but the price is going back down to $2.99. You don’t have to buy issue #20, but 21 will be a regular issue. I love the book, and maybe it’s because it’s the only one i’m buying now.

    I think the extra dollar was worth Fraction’s writing and I can’t wait to see how this arc will unfold. I didn’t come this far to quit because Marvel screwed with a book I love.

    I understand your protest Jose, and I hope it makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

