CCW Guest Review: Blackest Night Wonder Woman #1

Posted: December 7, 2009 in CCW Review
Tags: , , , ,

Title: Blackest Night Wonder Woman #1 (of 3)
Writer: Greg Rucka
Art: Nicola Scott and Prentis Rollins w/Various
Variant Cover: Ryan Sook
Publisher: DC Comics
Price: $2.99

Not too many “event” books actually live up to the hype that surrounds them prior to their release, but Geoff Johns and DC have certainly delivered when it comes to the Blackest Night saga. Since the Blackest Night has begun, there have been several minis or “tie-ins” that have sprung up from the main series. We have seen Batman, Superman, and the Titans all get involved in the fight against the darkness. But the newest superhero to get her own tie in is one of my personal favourites, none other than Wonder Woman.

When I first heard this was coming out I became instantly excited to see Wonder Woman given her own take on things, and rightfully so because as part of the DC Trinity, it only makes sense to see how the events of Blackest Night are effecting such a pivotal character in the DCU. The second thing about this tie-in that got me jazzed up was the announcement that Rucka and Scott were going to collaborate on the mini, I was freaking out, because these two stood to make such an awesome creative force to tell this story. Rucka had one of the best runs on Wonder Woman ever in my opinion, he is able to write the strong and confident side of the warrior princess, but yet bring out the sensitivities and feminine side she possess without making her appear to be a weak and bubble headed female as most comics sometimes do with female characters. Greg Rucka, obviously has a love for this character and writes her from the heart. Nicola Scott has proven herself to be an artistic force to be reckoned with in the comics industry, and this book is just another example of her talent. I fell in love with her work from Secret Six, and I think with this first issue in the mini, she is definitely a contender to work with Gail Simone on her run of the main Wonder Woman series. As I flipped through the book at my LCS, I was so taken with the art, just beautiful. Each and every panel was so full of action and detail, just outstanding in my humble opinion.

Now onto the meat and potatoes of any comic, and that’s the writing. While I have not read any other reviews that gave this issue a really stellar rating, I have not read any reviews that have bashed it to bits either. The story in a nutshell is based on Diana going to the Arlington National Cemetery, where Wonder Woman had been summoned to investigate a number of murders. This of course leads her right into a confrontation with a former foe named Maxwell Lord, and an army of the newly un-dead. Wonder Woman speaks of her experience with the Black Lanterns, and about how life is worth living no matter the hardship. Maxwell Lord tries to insight the emotion of anger within Wonder Woman in order to consume her but soon comes to realize that the emotion she is filled with is quite the opposite indeed. As we see Rucka and Scott take us deeper into the battle between dark and light the story unfolds. What Wonder Woman does with her golden lasso in order to defeat the army of Black Lanterns is totally wicked and is one of my favourite scenes from the entire comic. Rucka ends the story with Lord seemingly being beaten, and Diana being called to Coast City by Barry Allan, and we have ourselves a cliff hanger for issue #2 folks.

All in all this was a little more than an average read for me. I am definitely on board for the rest of the series, which is three issues in total. I can’t want to see where it all goes.

– Cami/Variant Girl

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    nice review VG, the one thing i liked but didnt like was seeing those dead soldiers rise. i thought that could come back and bite DC in the ass because to me that felt kind of controversial. im glad nothing happend tho. this was a great read and im really curious to see how rucka will write BL WW.

    • What I liked about the dead soldiers part was that Wonder Woman felt bad about doing what she did and she thought about it before she did it.

    • Variant Girl says:

      I’m glad that DC handled it in a way as to minimize any possible controversy that may or could have arisen from incorporating the solider aspect. Hopefully Rucka and Dc will continue to tell the story in an interesting and sensitive manor.

  2. phil says:

    I kinda figured when I saw the words guest reviewer and saw the subject matter…just sayin’

    Welcome back,VG to the 17!!! I trust you are well, yes? Your prescense has sorely been missed on your home blog, of which I hope that you’re back in the driver seat much sooner than later!

    On WW / BN: I know that you said that you were taken with the artwork, but I still have to ask, because their was more than than just Ms. Scott handling art chores, while you enjoyed Nicola’s efforts, was the overall look of the mini consistant considering the multiple artists/inkers?

    Thank you Cami, for letting us all who happen to follow your insightful writings, that you’re still among us!!
    Thank you, CCW, for without you, I don’t know if I ever would have found out aboutn variant girl 17. It was thru your channel, that I 1st found out about VG, and Ive never regretted it.
    And with that, i’ll take my leave and just say…

    knight0ut

    • Nicola Scott did all of the pencils for this mini series. There were 5 inkers who worked on this issue hence the “Various” listing under Art. The art is very much Nicola Scott through and through. I’m sure VG will pop up and answer your question Phil but I just wanted to point this out in case others were wondering is Ms. Scott did the whole issue.

      J.

      • phil says:

        Thx Jose,, I guess I was thrown off by the “PrentisRollins and various” think, thinking, Rollins was another penciller or something. Whoops!

      • Mitiators says:

        I agree about the art. Awesome. But what’s with all the inkers? Its distracting. Do you have any idea why DC and Marvel are doing this so much lately, Jose? Is seems like it wouldn’t be cheaper to hire on four or five more people to but out a book.
        Besides that decent book. I expected a deeper story between Max Lord and Wonder Woman but I’ll stick around for the next two.

    • Variant Girl says:

      Hey Phil, thx you for the kinds words, and yes it feels good to be back in the writing seat. I do hope to return to my home blog shortly, but Jose and Elliott have been kind enough, as always to let me guest write for their blog. I think Jose pretty much answered the art question for you, so I’ll leave it at that. I am grateful to CCW boys for giving props to a fellow comic book geek who just happens to be a girl:) the support they have shown me is really cool, and they rock, but all of you already know that I’m sure.

  3. Nice review VG! I enjoyed this issue a lot. Rucka’s writing + Scott’s art= Awesomeness. I can’t wait for the next 2 issues.

  4. Chris says:

    I’m happy to see you reviewing again, VG. I’ve been wondering what was going on with your blog for a while. I didn’t bother with this book because I haven’t been following Blackest Night. And after reading this review I’m sort of glad that I didn’t! It didn’t sound bad just not really worth it for me.

    • Variant Girl says:

      Hey Chris,

      Yeah, I’ve been busy with some personal things and have had to take a minor break from the the blog. The guys at CCW were nice enough to ask me to guest review, and how can I say no to that:) If you haven’t been following Blackest Night, then yea this book won’t get you jazzed. I do suggest that whenever the trade for the main Blackest Night series comes out you get it, it’s totally worth the read.

  5. Dan Griffin says:

    Any one else find Max funny?

  6. Pobra says:

    Nice review VG! This was a really good issue.

    • Variant Girl says:

      Thx, I am a pretty big WW fan so I was pretty excited to read this tie-in. I have been enjoying the whole Blackest Night event and I think Geoff Johns is doing a great job. The fact that Rucka and Scott are working on this tie-in and are teamed up together for WW is a match made in heaven for me, I think they are awesome.

Leave a Reply

