-Yesterday there was quite the snow storm in this part of the country which made driving quite hellish and tomorrow it is expected that we will have a high temperature of around 15 degrees Fahrenheit. Because I don’t have to work tomorrow and don’t plan on leaving my house in that weather I will probably have time to be posting a few things over the next couple of days. Sounds like fun, huh?

-Following this post I will being putting one up pertaining to the top comic sales of November. I know it’s a little late but you know. Look for it later tonight and we can talk about the good and the bad of it then.

-I’ve had a few people ask me what my opinions are concerning DC’s announced Earth One original graphic novels which will begin being released in 2010. It really does feel like it is DC’s attempt at doing an “Ultimate” universe and I don’t think I am the target demographic for these books. I am not interested in reading yet another origin story for Batman and Superman or investing time and money into yet another iteration of those characters. I do like that DC is releasing them as OGNs though. That way there won’t be even more Bats and Supes comics clogging up the racks.

All that aside, I do like that Earth One will be easily accessible to new readers who do want to get into Batman and Superman but feel overwhelmed by the continuity of the regular monthlies. We’ll see how it goes but these books don’t really interest me as a fan. What I am actually more interested in is knowing whether the Adam Hughes’ All Star Wonder Woman story will instead be released as part of the Earth One books now that the All Star line is pretty much dead.

-Looks like (the real) Bruce Wayne will be returning to the DCU in the quite cleverly titled six issue miniseries Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne which begins shipping in April. I don’t know about you guys but I’m thinking too soon.

-And speaking of too soon, Steve Rogers popped up in the last page of the Dark Avengers Annual last week and guess what? He also pops up in the New Avengers Annual AND Invincible Iron Man this week. Unbelievable. Rogers is back in the normal Marvel U and Reborn still has 3 issues to ship. Nice cockup Marvel. Just for the hell of it I am going to go ahead and blame this on Bendis.

-You guys are aware we have a contest going on, right? You know, this one.

J.

Comments
  1. Deemar says:

    Not thrilled about Earth One myself, I like the OGN format as I think it’ll attract newer readers.

    Thing is the creative teams just don’t do it for me, I’d have been more intrigued by this “Ultimization” if they gave the books to writers other than Johns or JMS. Love Geoff, but I get my fill of him in GL & BN I wanna see the Jonah Hex guys take a crack at Earth One Bats

    Jose what other character you think could use the “Earth One” refreshing?

  2. There was a snowstorm where I live too… I wish I could stay home from school, but because my school has a snow day about once every 10 years my chances are slim. I hope I can get around to reviewing all the books I bought this week on my blog and talk about Return of Bruce Wayne. When I read IIM#21 I was like, “WTF! Steve Rogers!?!? But Reborn isn’t done yet!” Hopefully my house will be caved in w/ snow so I can work on my blog more and my parents bought a lot of food today so BRING IT ON SNOWSTORM!!! Also my b-day is approaching… so I didn’t have to pay for my comics today (mostly) 🙂

  3. Ironmuskrat says:

    Got some typical Michigan weather here, Snow.. freezing rain.. rain… now freezing cold with high winds and more snow.

    Luckily for me, I don’t get weekends off(huh!) Thursday and Friday is my weekend. Yay! for working for Uncle Sam =( Anyway I get to be a shut-in tomorrow, well, I have to venture out to get my comics, but that should be it for me.

    I wonder why the All-Star line got killed. I am guessing Miller’s All-Star Batman & Robin drove a dagger though the heart of the All-Star line, even the good will and popularity generated All-Star Superman wasn’t enough to stop the God-dammed Batman from killing the line.

    IM

  4. phil says:

    I finally switch my allegiance to DC and what happens? They’re visited upon by ghosts of Marvel past.
    1) Earth 1? The consensus so far seems to be that it will attract newer readers, well if thats suppose to mean younger readers, then I think DC just fudged it. (just thinking out loud here), but it seems illogical..business-wise that ones’ gameplan to attract “newer” readers would be to put out GraphicNovels that are gonna co$t significantly more than the alreadty to highly priced comics.
    2) Bruce..back in 2010? Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Now I know it would be unrealistic of me to expect that Bruce would be gone for 5yrs or more, but I was hoping that the Grayson storyline wwould have been allowed to grow, before Bruce’s return

    Is DC trying to drive me back to Marvel? Rhetorical question, fellas and dames.

  5. Chris says:

    I think its too soon for Bruce to be returning, but I also think that Grant Morrison will handle it well (unlike his death/lost in time-ness).

  6. Smallmaniac says:

    I wish the All-Star Wonder Woman was being done by Joss Whedon. The All Star line is/was much more accessible to new readers. All-Star Superman was the first Superman story I bought when I began reading comic books.

    The only thing about the Earth One line I’m interested in is Johns/Frank on Batman. I’m also curious as to how they’re going to price the OGNs.

  7. Dan Griffin says:

    I live in Florida so no snow but man do i miss that lake effect snow. I wish i was battling the elements right with ya guys.

    Captain America Reborn is again a five part series, not counting the WWWTS one shot.

    • Marvel added a sixth issue to the Reborn miniseries. Have Marvel canceled it? Here’s the January solicitation:

      CAPTAIN AMERICA REBORN #6 (of 6)
      Written by ED BRUBAKER
      Pencils & Wraparound Cover by BRYAN HITCH
      Cover by JOHN CASSADAY
      Variant Cover by JOE QUESADA

      The story so big we needed another issue to finish it! The return of Captain America! The fight for the body and soul and mind of Steve Rogers! Avengers versus the Red Skull and his cronies! The biggest finale of the year is finally here! Brought to you by Ed Brubaker, Bryan Hitch and Butch Guice!
      32 PGS./Rated T+ …$3.99

      J.

    • Smallmaniac says:

      Hey Dan, I live in Florida too. We never get snow, but we get buckets of rain and hours of humidity.

      • Dan Griffin says:

        I use to live in up state NY, so i would trade the heat and the humidity for some good ol’ fasion lake effect snow any day of the week.

  8. Antonio says:

    I dropped Cap Reborn after #3. Was sick of Marvel stealing money from me.

    Anyway about the snow. I missed it!

    Places to the west of me like Chicago and places to the east of me like Pittsburgh got it ,but none here 😦

  9. Deemar says:

    I’m kinda done with Batman while Morrison is on it, sure Dick wearing the cape and cowl is interesting in all just fell blah about it.

    • kurumais says:

      my favorite dc character is dick grayson and i feel he is kind of muted now since he became batman its pretty clear damian is the ” star” of the book writers are giving him the best lines and its not just morrison dan jurgens over in booster gold and somebody showed a pretty funny damian line in another book which i cant remember now. hoping next storyline morrison gets a good handle on him

  10. kurumais says:

    i wish you guys were still doing character of the week i would nominate KILLFACE
    just rewatched the first episode of frisky dingo that show is much better then i thought it was and i thought it was great !

  11. kurumais says:

    have you folks seen the pics from the upcoming episode of smallville absolute justice? hawkman dr fate and star girl in costume? they look horrible IMHO. smallville has stayed away from costumes pretty much this was not a a good move

  12. generaldark says:

    you know i dont know why you guys are kinda complaining about the earth one stuff. i mean your getting JMS on superman and geoff jonns of batman, this should be interesting.

  13. Fallows1985 says:

    he’d only be dead a year? why bring him back now, i mean im fine with Dick being Batman. Is Winnick going to be writing this book?

Leave a Reply

