CCW Question of the Week

Posted: December 10, 2009 in Question of the Week

This week’s question:

Do you prefer mini-events(i.e. Fall of the Hulks, the upcoming War of the Supermen) or company wide events(i.e. Siege, Blackest Night)?

To tell you the truth I am starting to get sick of both. As good as Blackest Night has been when it’s over I really think I’m done with any kind of event for a while. It really does look like mini-events will be taking the place of company wide events in the near future. Necrosha, Doomwar, Fall of the Hulks, X-Men: Second Coming, War of the Superman (and I am sure the list will grow in the coming months) are mini-events all currently coming out or starting up fairly soon. You know what would be an awesome event? Not having any books crossover with any other one for at least a year. That right there is a novel idea.

J.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Small events, if any. The concepts for most events are far better than the actually comics themselves. The idea of Civil War and Secret Invasion are both great but you could just read 4 issues of Astro City for the same effect…

  2. Pobra says:

    I’m with you Jose, Blackest Night has been a great read and is being executed extremely well, but as soon as it wraps up I’ll be done with events for a long, long time. So, my vote is for NO events. At least not for a while.

  3. Venom829 says:

    I like it if they were to come out occassionally, instead of every year.

  4. Deemar says:

    I’m tired of “events” big or small in general, like Jose said the big 2 should let things be for at least a year.

    That said it’s all about the story and a story worth teling in any format is fine by me.

  5. I like that Superman is finally front and center of something, but this sounds silly. As for event fatigue? I’m just sick and tired of all events. What ever became of just allowing creators to tell good stories? I miss that.

  6. StevieEvs says:

    I think it depends on what sort of story they’re trying to tell.
    Civil War was great IMO and I like Millar, that was a story with enough scope to keep me interested and well written.
    Secret Invation was bloody awful IMO and set up Dark Reign which is equally awful if not worse because it’s spoiled every other story in the MU.
    Blackest Night on the other hand has been handled very well, it maybe deserves to be more widespread since where’s Dick and Damien all the time someone is running around with Bruce’s skull? How will the events of the last comic impact on everyone else? It almost feels like Blackest Night, or maybe it’s every other title in the DCU is happening in a vacuum.
    Basically, events by Bendis, bad, events by everyone else, good.
    I think it might be the megalomaniacal tendancies of Bendis to assume that his work is of such great importance that the whole world needs to stop when he writes something.

    • “I think it might be the megalomaniacal tendencies of Bendis to assume that his work is of such great importance that the whole world needs to stop when he writes something.”

      That was awesomely said StevieEvs.

      J.

  7. generaldark says:

    im looking forward to the war of supermen but if i had to have an event thing gooing on id rather it be a mini. that way it doesnt effect every book. just one mini event not a bunch going on at one tho.

  8. kurumais says:

    i am so done with events the books are suffering i read one artist saying that they dont get enough time to draw books anymore because they have sync everything up so instead of have a 7 or 8 month window to get books in the can they have 4, and it has to effect the writers even more.

    but i must admit marvel hadling of their space books has been pretty good they have their events which all their space guys take part in but it has stayed focused and as it has gone from one to the next the focus has gotten tighter and the books better. nova and guardians of the galaxy both are dealing with the fall out of war of kings but not dependent on each other or a main mini.
    i think both the big 2 but especially marvel have to strengthen the individual titles before another event.

    crossover used to be really fun because they were rare now they happen every issue

  9. Ironmuskrat says:

    Both Marvel and DC need a time out when it comes to big events, maybe six months or so. It won’t happen, they are both making too much money with the big events.

    Since I know they won’t stop, I will just say.. Please keep it to four or five issue events, with no more than three or four crossovers to other books.

    IM

  10. alfred monty says:

    Like everyone I want to read good comics. Most events aren’t good. Most events are awful.

    Comparing mini-events to company wide events…

    It is more common in mini-events for the writers to know going into the event, what’s what. I think company wide events lead to burnout. If you’re a small fry at Marvel/DC, and Uncle Ben is resurrected or Hal Jordan is killed you must shut your mouth & work through it.

    I know that if I’m forced to do something that I think is stupid, I don’t bother to do it well.

    So, bad mini-events are better than bad events.

    But a good company wide event is better than a good mini-event because all sorts of crazy things can happen with most of the characters in the universe. It’s like comparing a tour of a city versus a walk through a park.

  11. Deemar says:

    One thing though what’s the point of Seige if Bendis is still writing Avengers?

  12. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    I am really not against the idea of “Events” but I could agree that we don’t really need another “Event” for at least a year.

    I do like the mini-events coming out of the Marvel U. “NECROSHA”: fucking rocks! I can’t believe how much I am enjoying it. “Assult On New Olympus”: is fucking great. It’s a great Avengers story. It’s what Avengers should be. “DoomWar”: I am looking forward to, ’cause I love the Black Panther (fuck the haters). “Fall of the Hulks”: Gotta see where this is going. Pak and Parker are on the title. I want to see how they are gonna clean up Loebs’ Big Red Shit Mess. “X-Men: The Second Coming” – don’t know who is writing it, but I hope this finally leads to the cleaning up of the mess left over since “House of M”.

  13. Matthew Guy says:

    Since I am a Superman fan, the upcoming War of the Supermen will have my interest in 2010 & the current Superman Secret Origin miniseries currently has me wanting to see what happens next. I still buy other Johns events (Flash Rebirth & Blackest Night) & un-understandable events looks at Final Crisis. Plus I avoid Bendis events like the plague because they never ever end w/ a satisfying conclusion.

    Matthew

  14. Gate_jester says:

    Occasional mini events are okay, but big company wide crossover events are bad. I think that they only hurt the companies because it makes it harder for new readers to jump on because if you didn’t jump on in the beginning then you are lost or have no interest or just plain don’t understand. Like in my case I stopped reading comics for a while especially Marvel and then when I wanted to get back into them Civil War had just happened and Secret Invasion was underway. I was so lost and confused. When i picked up the Civil War trade the whole concept was alright, but so many characters were “out of character”. Since then I haven’t picked up anymore Marvel event titles. I have been slowly getting back into Marvel comics like Invincible Iron Man and Incredible Hercules, but I think thats because Bendis isn’t writing those books.

    • Gate_jester says:

      I guess the only exception (because there always is and exception to every rule) would be Blackest Night. Its very easy to get into it and its well executed with the crossovers.

  15. alatriste says:

    I was going to say that completely independent miniseries were the way to go, but of course that doesn’t bolster the sales of the regular monthly titles, so it’s not going to happen. but I remember back in the day , when there used to be good STORY ARCS in the titles that didn’t have to affect every other title. Armor Wars, anyone? Fall from Grace? Year One? They all ran on the regular titles and can be nicely collected in trades for that extra buck!

  16. Fallows1985 says:

    is war of the supermen a carry on from World of New Krypton? oh when is free comic book day?

Leave a Reply

