CCW Question of the Week

Posted: December 17, 2009 in Marvel, Movies, Question of the Week
Tags:

This week’s question:

What are your thoughts on the new Iron Man 2 trailer?

I think overall it looks quite good. Liked the scene with Pepper and Tony an the plane on a lot. It looks like Whiplash has a Stark blueprint and is using it to build his own armor. If that leads into some sort of Armor Wars storyline for the next movie I would be completely cool with that. One thing I am not cool with? Scarlett Johansson as the Black Widow. She looks kinda terrible. I think she will be to Iron Man 2 what Katie Holmes was to Batman Begins: bad casting choice. Johansson was cast after Emily Blunt had to drop out of the role, right? Personally I think Milla Jovovich should have been Blunt’s replacement but that’s just one geek’s opinion. The only drawback to the trailer in my eyes? Needs more Cheadle.

J.

Comments
  1. Deemar says:

    It looks really..good, Downey still has the snarky charm and Cheadle looks convincing as Rhodey/War Machine. More convincing than Terrance Howard and his Elmo voice.

    Best part of the trailer for me was Tony jumping from a plane onto a stage with his tuxedo underneath his armor and of course IM/WM back to back fucking joygasm.

  2. Deemar says:

    I don’t mind Scarlett as Black Widow, Blunt would have been preferred.

  3. Venom829 says:

    Fuck yeah that looks awesome! The end with War Machine was the best part! Johansson as the Black Widow, that’s actually pretty hot. Now Marvel Entertainment needs to find a WAY hotter MJ for the Spider-Man movies.

    • saar17 says:

      The Sony’s spider man franchise was over all shit, and from all the rumors that are striking the next was is going to be even worse!
      Marvel please buy Spider man from Sony and make a decent movie of it (and that the script will be writting by Joe Kelly!!! and that Dan Slott will not take any part of it!)

  4. saar17 says:

    First of all let me make myself clear. I think the trailer was fraking AWESOME!

    If I could write what I think about the trailer in Hebrew (and you would understand it XDD) I
    could made my point more clearly, but any way…
    I think this movie is going to be an “Hollywood” ,type of movie, version of the first one, a Michael Bay’s version of the first, If you like.

    it sames from the trailer that there are going to be a lot more goofy scenes from the first one (Like the all Stark Expo show thing, and the part in which Pepper and Tony are on a plane with the back door of the plane OPEN!!!).
    What I’ve notice from the trailer is that Jon took the Iron Man’s Event Armors war and integrated his mine idea in the movie with his (Jon) own version of it.

    You can see in the trailer that Iron Mna and war Machine are fighting 10-12 Robots/man in armor suit version of iron man (Armors War) but the on how stole his desgin was not his enemies but the US Army (I think with the help of Rhodey) plus Justin Hammer to armor their Suits/Robots.

    I hope that they are not going to ruin the movie with too much Goofy scenes and that they will stay truth to what made the first movie successfully.
    P.S- I want a War Machine solo movie after the Avengers one! 😄

  5. generaldark says:

    this is not a trailer to me, its just a long clip from the movie IMO. i have a few things wrong with this and i said something in elliots geek 2 me blog. chicagonow.com/blogs/geek-to-me (o snap did i just give elliot a plug there? lol) and i dont like how favearu puts him self in this movie. it reminds me of daredevil. i also feel like i dont want to see this movie just because marvel has its name on it and i feel like im paying a 3.99 comic all over again and it scares me! this “trailer” pretty much gives away the whole movie and already the scene we were all waiting for. i think they could have made war machine look more cooler then just a gray version of starks. honestly the first time i saw that poster i thought it was a fan made thing. the fact they even put war machine in this with number two tells me that they didnt know were else to take the IM story and is pathetic to me. by now i must be coming off as a DC fanboy and your right i am but im also tired of seeing comic books into movies. hollywood needs there own damn ideas!

  6. MicahSkin says:

    I’d juts like to know how long we’re gonna hafta wait for Mandarin…

  7. Ironmuskrat says:

    I first watched the trailer I was thinking…”Wow, look at all that action!”

    Then I was thinking… “Wow, I hope there is not too much action.”

    One of the things I loved most about the first movie was the time they too to develop the Tony Stark character. The best scene in the first Iron Man for me was the sequence with Tony by himself building and developing the first set of true Iron Man armor.

    Don’t get me wrong, I love action! but not at the expense of story. I think the second movie will be at least as good as the first one. Cheadle is a good replacement for Howard, Mickey Rourke will do what he does best, act batshit crazy as Whiplash.

    If I had to pick an actress to play the Black Widow, I would have to say Kate Beckinsale would be my pick.

    IM

  8. Chris says:

    It makes me a) Wish I was tony Stark b) Wish there were decent Russian actors in hollywood c) Wish someone else was playing Black Widow (As much as I like Scarlett Johansson, she isn’t right for the role).

  9. TheComicRant says:

    I can’t wait. I fell in love with Pepper in the first one. Also I thought that the team took a character that was kind of a background Marvel hero and reinvented him into a huge icon. I have faith that this will kick ass. I just hope it’s more then just “Michael Bay Action”.

  10. Matthew Guy says:

    Tony Stark telling off Congress.

    YUMMY REDHEADS!

    Tag Team fighting of War Machine & Iron Man.

    Iron Man 2 IS the kickass movie of 2010.

    I’m there opening weekend.

    Matthew

  11. kurumais says:

    im all in downey and paltrow look like they are picking up where they left off just being great in their roles

  12. kurumais says:

    oh and castin gary shandling as a senator is genius

  13. phil says:

    Maybe its becaus I’m one of maybe seven people that did not see the 1st movie, but I was utterly underwhelmed by the trailer.
    I could see the glitz, the glamour, the fact that there was a big ass budget invoolved, but there was nothing ther that said to me;plunk down x amount of dollars and see me. I fault the sasting people/director.
    Titanium Man; coulda been interesting.
    CrimsonDynamo; Maybe.
    The Mandarin; perfect.
    But who do they get? Mickey Rourke? ( don’t get me wrong, he’s a good actor ) and who’s he playing, one of Ironman’s non essential villains. Thats like having Spidey’s next big bad be the Kangaroo. Remember him? If not, cool. He was one Spidey’s least memorable foes. ( I’m trippin’ that I remember him )Anyway a guy with an electric whip? Really?
    Nothing against Scarlett, but I would hve rather seen Emily Deschanel.

  14. Dan Griffin says:

    I Kinda wish they let Francesco Mattina design the War Machine Armor in this instead of Adi Granov. Francesco is the better War Machine artist.

  15. Pobra says:

    I think this movie looks decent enough, seems to be picking up where the last one left off, which is good. So, does anyone know exactly what happened to Terrence Howard? I heard that he was asking for too much money, then I heard that it was because he wasn’t “tough” enough or “loud” enough to play War Machine. If that’s true, that is kind of fucked, the guy is a brilliant actor. But so is Don Cheadle, so it’s all good I guess. Mickey Rourke couldn’t be more of a badass, so that’s cool, and as for Scarjo… damn she’s hot. So that is also all good, I’d say IM2 is looking pretty good! 🙂

  16. So Jose you’re saying Johannson will be bad as Black Widow based on the 2 seconds she was in the trailer? I am also a bit concerned by her being Black Widow but I’ll give her a chance. That aside… I loved it!

  17. saar17 says:

    Just watch the trailer on 1080P on quickplayer and i’ve notice an Important detail, that I said would happen after watching the leak trailer from comic-con(the fice minutes one):

    In the scene which iron man is being chase by other guys in suits, and the scene is being shoot from down looking up, after iron man “pass by the camera” another guy in a suit is “passing by the camera” ,and start shooting iron man, this guy is no other the WAR MACHINE!
    I know from the very beginning that Jon would go in this way. The US decided to hunt down Tony ,because he doesn’t give the Iron Man design to the US army. The way they decide to take him down his by Convincing Rhodey to stealth the Mark II from tony place, and with the help of the US army’s Engineers and Justin Hammer weapons they build War Machine.
    And most likely, 3/4 after the movie started Rhodey would decide to help tony and fight with him against Justin Hammer, in his own armor suit (maybe the Crimson Dynamo),more guys in armor suits and Whiplash.

Leave a Reply

