The Greatest Lines in Cinema History

Posted: December 26, 2009 in Movies, Opinion, The Greatest Lines in Cinema History, WTF
Tags: , ,

So, this may or may not become a regular post on this blog because I am admittedly quite intoxicated right now. I haven’t seen The Fifth Element in years and I am currently watching it on cable. And wouldn’t cha know, I was reminded of one of my favorite lines from a movie ever.

That line is…wait for it…waaaaait for it…”Leeloo Dallas Multipass!” Writing does not get much better than that (though Milla Jovovich gets a lot of the credit for delivering the line absolutely perfect). Bendis should take some fucking notes.

J.

Comments
  1. phil says:

    I thjnk that the 5th Element is my 3rd most hated Willis film ever!
    As far as memorable lines go:
    You can’t go wrong with Willis; “yippy kai yay MF”
    PulpFictions’ Jules, reciting scripture
    Khan’s ‘I have 5 times your strength” ( StarTrek series )
    I said emotional content,not anger;Teacher to student in one of BruceLee’s films
    “when I say comb the dessert, I mean comb the dessert” ( SpaceBalls )
    “I’m not joking and my name’s not Surely / Shirley”( PoliceSquad )

    most of these are paraphrases but I think these still hold up. Heck, I probablr coulda used lines from 1 outta 3 ClintEastwood films, but that might’ve been overkill 🙂

    k…..0…

  2. Smallmaniac says:

    I’ve never been one of those people to remember funny lines from movies. Most of them just fly over my head. I don’t know why.

    I don’t care if it’s a kids movie, I love Finding Nemo. It’s hilarious and that’s all that matters. Also, Ellen DeGeneres is hilarious.

  3. Venom829 says:

    It’s been used a billion times, but It’s my favorite anyway

    • Smallmaniac says:

      Every time I hear “the night is darkest just before the dawn, and I promise you, the dawn is coming” it’s a completely new experience. I think of how philosophical and epic it is. Like some Greek or Asian philosopher said it, but it was a screenplay writer.

  4. Deemar says:

    Dr.Strangelove

    Dr. Strangelove: “Sir! I have a plan!”
    [standing up from his wheelchair]
    Dr. Strangelove: “Mein Führer! I can walk!”

    Anchorman

    Ron Burgundy: Sweet Lincoln’s mullet.

    Champ Kind: The bottom line is you’ve been spending a lot of time with this lady, Ron. You’re a member of the Channel Four News Team.
    Ron Burgundy: That’s a given.
    Champ Kind: We need you. Hell, I need you. I’m a mess without you. I miss you so damn much. I miss being with you, I miss being near you. I miss your laugh. I miss your scent; I miss your musk. When this all gets sorted out, I think you and me should get an apartment together.
    Brian Fantana: Take it easy, Champ. Why don’t you sit this next one out, stop talking for a while.

    Ron Burgundy: I’m in a glass case of emotion.

  5. Deemar says:

    Anchorman is the “quotapolooza” of movies

  6. Venom829 says:

    Every man’s dream girl

  7. Deemar says:

    Forgot Tits McGee lol

  8. Smallmaniac says:

    “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore.”

  9. Smallmaniac says:

    I can’t type the full quote for obvious reasons

  10. phil says:

    Round 2

    A) Dodgeball: “You can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a ball!
    B) Men in Black: “The difference between you and me…l make this look good!
    C) JessicaRabbit “Oh my God its DIP!!!!”
    D) TheIncredibles: ” You’ve got me dialoging.”
    E) DeathProof’s TracyThoms’ ” I’m gonna tap that ass!”

  11. Locusmortis says:

    Aside from the Moebius designs I hated the Fifth Element especially that fucking Chris Tucker

    I’m amazed there hasn’t been any Dirty Harry quotes

    or HERES JOHNNNNNY!!!!!

    Casablanca – Heres looking at you kid

    No Mr Bond I expect you do DIIIIE!!!

    The Terminator films are full of great quotes

  12. Deemar says:

    Ok the Endgame nothing I mean nothing beats this

    • Pobra says:

      except for this Deemar…

      😛

    • phil says:

      You ain’t lying,D. I remember seeing this in a theatre and when it got to that part, I was like……d-d-daaaaaaaamn!!! You know? Dennis Hopper delivered those lines in such a way that you knew that he knew he wasn’t leaving that place alive. I really dug how he basically decided to go out on his terms.
      Chris Walken, this for me was when l started to take note that he could make a movie with very little screen time and be brilliant Correct me if I’m wrong but I think this was a Tarentino written project even though he did not direct it. This movie was classic. Props for selecting this scene, D!!

Leave a Reply

