Now’s the time to say goodbye to 2009…but not before One Last Rant.

Posted: December 31, 2009 in CCW Nation, CCW TV, Marvel, Opinion
Tags: , , , ,

Hey folks, Elliott here. As 2009 draws to a close, I wanted to take a moment to thank all of you for following us this year. It’s been a year of ups and downs, highs and lows, ins and out- you get my drift.

I say in all sincerity that I am incredibly grateful for the CCW*TV Nation. You guys and gals are the reason we do our silly little show. Jose and I will often say that we have some of the best viewers on ‘the interwebs.’ Everyone respects each other and the comment boards are relatively troll free.

That is not to say that we don’t always agree, and that things never get heated, but hey, families go through disagreements all the time. And that’s what I consider you all, part of my family.

The dream made real...

The most prestigious award in comics!

So before I get all mushy (too late!) I wanna close 2009 with a comment made by our own ‘Locusmortis‘ on the Golden Loeb Award post. It’s passionate, thoughtful and well-argued. I may not think he’s right on all points, but I think this exemplifies what the CCW Nation is, comic book fans who care about comics:

“Every award series needs a “Lifetime Acheivement Award” which I nominate the person who inspired the name of these awards, the esteemed Jeph Loeb who started from the low of Onslaught and Heroes Reborn then rose to the heights The Long Halloween and the Marvel “Colours” series (all done with Tim Sale….hmmmm) then proceeded to low after low after low culminating with Rulk and Ultimatum.

For the 2009 Golden Loeb I nominate Marvel Comics for the following reasons:

  1. Overpriced books – both the $3.99 for 22 story pages and the 3.99 and 4.99 “special issues” bulked out by unnecessary reprints and crappy added “matter”. There is a recession, did you not get that news Marvel??? If you want my money you better damn well give me good value for it.
  2. Rulk – An insult to Hulk fans, an insult to Greg Pak after the very good Planet Hulk series, an insult to fans of good comics.
  3. The death and humiliation of the Ultimate line of comics – horrible writing, overrated art, overpriced books, complete disarray in terms of direction.
  4. The X-books – back in the 80’s the Uncanny X-men was the best comic of that era, now Uncanny is a mess despite Fraction and hosts Greg Lands horrible art. Legacy is just boring boring boring and as for the other books?…who really cares?
  5. Brian BendisThe New Avengers are a disorganised mess, a loose collection of 70’s misfits plus a couple of marquee characters who sit around doing nothing but eat chinese food and watch tv for issue after issue except when they are having the crap kicked out of them. Then the Dark Avengers, a loose collection of arseholes who all talk in the same voice despite vast differences in age and experience plus Moonstone who suddenly becomes the team bike (always available for a ride), the Sentry who alternately rips peoples heads off or cowers in the corner like a pussy and Tommy Lee Jones who leads the team and convinces Barack obama and the public that he should be put in charge of a multi-billion dollar espionage agency despite being a known murderer and supervillian.
  6. Captain America: Reborn – What the fuck happened you Ed Brubaker? 50 issues of good Captain America stories then you decide to rush into bringing back Steve Rogers by replacing a $2.99 book with a $3.99 one for no good reason except for Marvel to pillage peoples wallets during a recession. The book then acquires an extra issue just so Bryan Hitch can draw more splash pages which he can sell on to collectors later. This means the series drags on and on and fucks with the timing of other books which then destroys ANY remaining suspense.

    Added to this is that Reborn is just so fucking BORING! It ends up being a recap of the previous 50 issues, so so unncessary and so symptomatic of a year where Marvel alienates many of its own fans.

  7. And then theres the doozy, Dark Reign – a year long fest of BORING fed by hordes of uninteresting, unnecessary, overpriced shitty mini-series like Dark Reign: Lethal Legion, Dark Reign: Zodiac, Dark Reign: Mister Negative.

Spinning out of the vastly unsatisfying mess of Secret Invasion we have an “event” (or non-event as it transpired” inflicted on the entire Marvel Universe which means that Norman Osborne appears in EVERY FUCKING COMIC for a year and the heroes of the Marvel Universe are shit on from a great height by Brian Bendis and his genius plan for this shitfest.”  – Locusmortis

And on that note: we close 2009.

See you all in 2010!

Elliott

Comments
  1. saar17 says:

    Word!!! Agree with you on every thing you said.

    Happy new year Jose and Elliott. Keep being the best comic book’s show on YouTube also in 2010.

  2. Jeremy says:

    To be fair Marvel kept their good books at 2.99. Spider-Man remained 2.99 and when it went over that for issue 600 at least it was worth every penny. Also Dark Reign had some good moments. Again ASM saves the day with American Son, also I heard Dark ReignFF was good. And that’s my little say, Goodnight Everybody!

    • generaldark says:

      that is true that spiderman is 2.99 but its shipped every freakin week making you kind of feel like you are spending more then you think.

    • alfred monty says:

      I understand your view about the price point of Amazing Spider-Man. But I disagree.

      Amazing Spider-Man is charging $2.99 outside of issues with extra pages.

      There’s an insane amount of variant covers. As 2009 progressed so did the variants. Not just the existence of variants, but the number of variants per issue, the frequency of variants AND the number of print runs on variants (they’re aiming at equal print runs, so the variants are the same price). Issues that had one variant: #590, #592, #595, #597, #599, #601, #603, #606, #608, #613 and #615. #612 had two variants and #600 had four variants. #583 had six (?) variants. Most of the variants came in the second half of the year.

      We could include Dark Reign: The List: Amazing Spider-Man (2 variants) and Web of Spider-Man (#1 had a variant).

      See the March solicitations for the next point on the slippery slope … Amazing Spider-Man #623-#627, five in one month. #627 is 3.99 without any extra pages. 15.95 for one month of Spider-Man. This doesn’t include Web of Spider-Man or the Peter Parker one-shot.

  3. Deemar says:

    This made my moment, 2010 here we come

  4. Matthew Guy says:

    The truth shall set you free & keep money in your wallet.

    See you guys in 2010.

    Matthew

  5. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    I DO NOT agree with everything you say, Locus! (You are about 95% correct)

    Anyways, Happy New Year to everyone…..except the bastards I hate! (They know who they are) LET’S GET PISSED!!!!!

  6. Smallmaniac says:

    Happy New Year to the whole CCW*TV community. 2010 will be awesome, I can feel it.

  7. Venom829 says:

    GOOD RIDANCE! I hear you straight out with the crap we comic fans have suffered by the company that is Marvel comics.

  8. mbell028 says:

    Hey everybody,
    I hate to bother everyone, but I have a bit of a problem that I would like help with. I was looking at my pull for next month and I am spending way too much money on comics. I’m going back to school and my hours at work are going to be cut and I have to buy books for school and a parking pass because I commute to school. I was wondering if everyone on here could look at my current pull and give me books they feel I should cancel because I’m having a hard time deciding. I have a few in mind, butI would like to know what books people aren’t enjoying or even just aren’t happy with where they are going and price certainly is a case as well. This is my current pull list:
    Batman and Robin
    Blackest Night
    Captain America (Not Reborn)
    Chew
    Daredevil
    Detective Comics
    Green Lantern
    Green Lantern Corps
    Invincible
    Invincible Iron Man
    Irredeemable
    PunisherMax
    Secret Warriors
    Secret Six
    Walking Dead
    Wolverine Weapon X
    Any help that you all could give me would greatly appreciate it especially you Jose and Elliot let me know what you think.
    Thanks everybody,
    Matt

    • alfred monty says:

      One tactic is wait for the trades. For instance, the Walking Dead trades cost $16 and contain six issues. That’s a two buck difference. Usually used trades are 50% off. Now you’re looking at $10 difference.

      Another tactic is to talk to your local comic shop about getting a discount.

      If current comics cost too much, go to http://www.mycomicshop.com/valuepacks. You can get 2 lbs. for $10 including shipping (assuming you’re in this region).

      • mbell028 says:

        That sounds like a good deal I’ll have to take a look at that site. I think I may mention the pricing to my comic shop to see if theres something we could possibly work out. If not I have a few books in mind I’m thinking of ending. Thanks for the help,
        Matt

    • It looks like you have 16 books on your list. Instead of telling you you books you should cut, I’ll recommend the books you should keep.

      Blackest Night (It only has two more issues left)
      Chew
      Green Lantern Corps
      Invincible
      Invincible Iron Man
      Secret Warriors

      These are usually the books I enjoy every month more than any other comics.

      Wait for the trades on Walking Dead and Irredeemable.

      J.

  9. phil says:

    Hopefully 2010 can only be an improvement. Like I said, Hopefully!!!

    HappyNewYear and KnightOut |:-)

  10. Locusmortis says:

    Wow I used the word shit a lot in that rant.

    Happy New Year Fuckers!!

    Locus

  11. mbell028 says:

    That is a good point Jose I shouldn’t focus on the negative I think thats why I was having a hard time choosing which books to keep. I finally caught up to invincible and that book is fantastic thats one im sticking with. My only problem with getting the trades for walking dead is that it’s my favorite book thats out there and I think it would be hard to wait for the trades on that one. I know for sure I’m going to cancel Irredeemable it was a cool premise, but the book feels like its really going nowhere and I don’t feel like paying the $3.99 to see if it does. Thanks a lot Jose I’ll certainly keep thinking about it and any other suggestions you could make are always appreciated.
    Matt

  12. Happy New Year Guys!!!

Leave a Reply

