Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: January 11, 2010 in Dark Horse, DC Comics, Udon Studios, Vertigo

Huh. Seems like another small comic week…well, for me anyway. The fact that I am buying 1 Dark Horse book, 2 Vertigo and even 1 from Udon while not getting any from Marvel kinda makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. So, without further ado, here’s my list:

Buffy The Vampire Slayer #31
Daytripper #2
REBELS #12
Silent Mobius Complete Edition Vol 2
Unwritten #9

What’s everyone else buying this week?

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    Action Comics #885
    Power of Shazam #48 (maby)
    Rebels #12
    Secret Six #17
    daytripper #2

  2. kurumais says:

    Secret six
    Power of shazam
    Batgirl
    Adventure
    The shield
    Iron man
    Black panther
    Marvel super hero squad

    • Linwood E. Knight says:

      Smart Man. If the 2nd Half of 2009 is any indication, then Black Panther is going to be the critical breakout title of 2010. I’m so looking forward to Doom War.

  3. IronRobe says:

    Secret Six
    Iron Man

    Might pick up Daytripper #1 and give it a shot.

  4. saar17 says:

    Black Widow: Deadly Origin #3
    Invincible Iron Man #22
    X-Men Origins: Cyclops #1

  5. Ironmuskrat says:

    Looks like the holiday break is over and things are finally picking up.

    REBELS #12 Vril Dox is Pissed! I almost feel sorry for Starro the Conqueror now =)

    Invincible Iron Man #22 Will Tony be back befoe his enemies close in on him. Does it matter when you have Thor as a personal physician?

    Strange #3 I was OK with the first issue, I thought the second issue was much better. I am hoping that the trend continues.

    Daytripper #2 I love the first issue, I just hope every issue doesn’t end on such a depressing note, not sure if I can handle that every month =0

    Of course I will always be on the look out for recommendations from other CCW peeps for other things to pick up.

    IM

  6. Dan Griffin says:

    DC
    Secret Six #17
    Adventure Comics #6
    Power of Shazam #48

    Marvel
    Invincible Ironman #22
    S.W.O.R.D. #3 (Best new series from Marvel.)

    Maybe
    Orc Stain #1 (If my store has it.)

  7. Linwood E. Knight says:

    Another Comic Book Day is upon us, and here is the damage report.

    DC Universe:
    REBELS #12 – Blackest Night hooked me to this title, so Blackest Night wins in that regard.

    Secret Six #17 – Suicide Squad #67 was my surprise book of week. Gail Simone may end up writing the premier side story of Blackest Night

    Vertigo
    Daytripper #2 – Holy Shit, I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    The Unwritten #9 – I wonder if the people who got into Fables from Day 1, felt the same way I feel about this title?

    Marvel Universe
    Black Panther #12 – Jose, you really need to start following this title. It’s one of the best Marvel is putting out right now.

    Invincible Iron Man #22 – I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t still captivated by this epic story.

    Marvels Project #5 – Forget Reborn, this is where the Brubaker showcase is at. This is why I like the Golden Age much better than the Silver Age. The heroes of this era were quite amazing, and you need to read this book to see why.

    S.W.O.R.D #3 – Time to jump in.

    Solid Reads

    Catwoman #83 – It’s Catwoman, I just hope its good.

    Conan The Cimmerian: Weight of the Crown – Dark Horse is turning out good stuff, and I’m interested in seeing what they plan to do here.

    Muppet Show Ongoing #1 – This may be the time to jump in.

    • Maybe I will pick up the last couple of issues of Black Panther and check them out since it’s a small week. I’m kinda pissed about the whole Catwoman Blackest Night though. Will Pfeifer and David Lopez make that book a must read for me every month. The fact that neither of those two men are doing this issue is a slap in the face to them. My question to DC is “Why even bother?” Can you imagine the Starman issue without James Robinson? That’s how I feel about this Catwoman issue.

      J.

  8. Variant Girl says:

    Hey fellaz,

    I didn’t buy anything except for BN WW last week so this week I have a little more on my list.

    Secret Six
    Invincible Iron Man
    Punisher Max
    Female Force J K Rowling ( she is of my favourite authors, very inpiring)
    Green Arrow and Black Canary ????

    I think that’s it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Variant Girl says:

    I forgot to add Daytripper 2

    now am done:)

  10. Matthew Guy says:

    Action Comics #885
    Adventure Comics #6
    Amazing Spider-Man #617
    Batgirl #6
    X-Men Forever #15

    Matthew

  11. Pobra says:

    Looks like a very small week for me too.

    Amazing Spider-Man #617
    Invincible Iron Man #22

    Would now be a good time to jump on either Secret Six or REBELS???
    Been meaning to check those books out for a while. This might be a good week to discover something new. Any other suggestions? I don’t think my shop gets Daytripper or I would check that out.

    • Did you not get the Blackest Night REBELS issues Pobra? If not you really missed out. Secret Six this week is continuing the story from Blackest Night Suicide Squad and it’s always a good time to jump onto REBELS. The first REBELS trade also comes out this month.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        No, the only Blackest Night tie-in’s I have held for me are the Green Lantern books and the mini’s. I’ll have a look for those REBELS issues, but anything under the Blackest Night banner is becoming pretty scarce at my LCS. I will pick up #12 tomorrow and keep an eye out for that trade though.

  12. TheComicRant says:

    Unwritten #9

    Is Daytripper any good? I might pick that up.

  13. Manwe says:

    Hello All:

    Batman 695
    Booster Gold 28
    Secret Six 17
    Daytripper 2
    The Unwritten 9
    ASM 617
    Iron Man 22

    Also thinking about Madame Xanadu if its shipping and the Conan one-shot.

  14. Locusmortis says:

    Light week indeed
    Action Comics #885
    Adventure Comics #6
    Rebels #12
    Conan The Cimmerian Weight of Crown One-Shot

    The Silent Mobius and Gundam gn’s are interesting, cash is tight atm tho post xmas.

  15. Invincible Iron Man#22
    R.E.B.E.L.S.#12

    Is Super Hero Squad#1 coming out this week? If so I’ll pick it up.

  16. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #617
    Invincible Iron Man #22
    Aliens vs Predator: three world war #1

  17. Chris says:

    Daytripper #2
    DMZ #49

    Catwoman #83 – I’d sort of like to get this, I have the rest of this volume but I guess its a bit pointless if its just a Blackest Night tie in.

    • Man, that Catwoman comic looked absolutely terrible. I mean, fucking terrible. I think there were like four different artists on there and a lot of it was done with computer art. Uggggg…what a waste. Nice cover though.

      Let me know what your thoughts are on it if you buy it because I didn’t actually read it. I couldn’t bring myself to just by looking at it.

      J.

  18. StevenRocks says:

    Beginning my decent into Blackest Night I got

    BL :JLA #39
    Blackest Night #5
    BL: Adventure Comics #4

    I got them in this order as to get all the GL rings and the shop by my house was a little lacking on selection.

    Also gonna scoop up Transformers Ongoing #3 along with Blackest night 1-4 if I can find them.

    I was told reading the GL tie ins is a must so I’ll guess I can’t really even read the books I got til I can find the first ones.

  19. Morlock50 says:

    I’m getting the new Batman, and maybe pick up the Crisis on Multiple Earths Trade. I’ve had a strange craving for some silver age JLA.

  20. Antonio says:

    Batman #695
    I actually like this Batman arc

    Rebels #12
    Since it is a SMALL week(I realize the irony in writing small in CAPS) I am giving this a third issue. Lovely art.

    Buffy the Vampire Slayer #31
    Haven’t enjoyed this in a while now but I can’t stop now! the Season is almost over! And Meltzer is coming on soon.

  21. Zcorp79 says:

    ASM #617
    Secret Six #17
    IIM #22
    Adventure Comics #6

  22. Pobra says:

    Hey Jose, I picked up REBELS #12 today and I did find a copy of #10. Couldn’t find 11. Anyway, just finished reading #10 and it was a damn solid issue. Very good read. REBELS may have found itself a new reader.

  23. Pobra says:

    Oh, and for anyone who’s interested… a NEW, that’s right, NEW, Kids In The Hall series debuted last night. It’s called “Death comes to town”. I’m not going to say it’s as good as their old stuff, it’s sort of in the same vein as Brain Candy, but it’s definitely worth checking out if you’re in to that sort of thing.

  24. camnick says:

    rebels #12
    unwritten #9
    asm#617

Leave a Reply

