Here Are Your Top 25 Comics for December 2009

Posted: January 13, 2010 in DC Comics, Marvel, Opinion, Top 25 Comics, Top 300 Comics
Tags:

Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve seen a Wonder Woman comic in the Top 10 let alone the Top 25. Very nice to see. Also it’s nice to see that DC has 6 of the Top 10 books yet again in December. All 6 of those DC comics were quality books (for the most part). I can’t really say the same about the 4 Marvel books in the Top 10. Fanboys with blind faith are the only things keeping Reborn, New Avengers and Dark Avengers in there and that’s kinda sad.

Speaking of sad, Detective Comics has dropped out of the Top 25 for the first time since Rucka and Williams have taken it over. It placed at #27 in December. If it weren’t for the Marvel Zombies foolishly snatching up the two $4.99 Avengers Annuals, Detective would still be in there. What’s worse than that though is that Jeph Loeb’s Hulk came in at #26 on the list and outsold Detective. I weep for the future of this industry.

Also, how is it that Matt Fraction’s Uncanny X-Men is in the Top 15 while Invincible Iron Man is down in the mid 30’s? Now that’s fucking tragic.

So what are your thoughts on the top comic sales of December?

J.

1. Blackest Night #6
2. Green Lantern #49
3. Captain America: Reborn #5
4. Captain American Reborn: Who Will Wield the Shield?
5. Blackest Night: The Flash #1
6. Green Lantern Corps #43
7. New Avengers #60
8. Blackest Night: Wonder Woman #1
9. Dark Avengers #12
10. Blackest Night: JSA #1
11. Justice League of America #40
12. Siege: The Cabal
13. Uncanny X-Men #518
14. Uncanny X-Men #519
15. Batman #694
16. Amazing Spider-Man #615
17. Fall of Hulks Alpha
18. Thor #604
19. New Avengers Annual #3
20. Dark Avengers Annual #1
21. Adventure Comics #5
22. Amazing Spider-Man #614
23. Amazing Spider-Man #616
24. Astonishing X-Men #33
25. Thor #605

Top 300 Comics Actual–December 2009/ICv2

Comments
  1. Dan Griffin says:

    Ugh, Two Robnison books are in the top books are in the top 25. He’s such a shitty writer.

  2. generaldark says:

    omg this whole list is pretty tragic 😦

  3. Pobra says:

    You bring up a good point J. How is it that Fraction’s Iron Man has been soooo good and has received such critical praise, but his abysmal x-men run is still managing to outsell it? It’s not the art, that’s for sure. I don’t know anyone who buys uncanny x-men and no one ever seems to have anything good to say about it… wtf?

  4. IronRobe says:

    I read exactly one of the top 25 books. Blackest Night Wonder Woman.

    I’ve never looked at these sales numbers before. Pretty discouraging. I’m used to the books I like getting cancelled, but I don’t really know. Where is the line? How far down the list can a book fall before it ends up on the chopping block? Secret Six at 94? Wonder Woman at 80? Secret Warriors at 68? Only two books that I read are even in the top 50. I guess if they cancel Secret Six and Wonder Woman then Gail Simone could bring back Birds of Prey. That would be pretty sweet. Unless they fucked up Oracle in that BFTC mini I refused to read. Sometimes you CAN judge a book by it’s cover.

    Also curious how Mighty Avengers sold when Bendis was writing the book. Top 10 I would guess?

    • Interesting fact: Wonder Woman will never be outright canceled. If DC fails to put out a monthly Wonder Woman comic I believe that they lose the rights to her. That is what I am led to believe.

      J.

      • Morlock50 says:

        I posted a thread on the CBR boards that Wonder Woman should have two titles; the main one where Gail can do character driven stories and explore the Greek mythology, and a second one that loosely follows continuity, but would have WW doing more tradional superhero ass-kicking and feature one or two-issue story arcs. Like when Byrne took over Superman and had the single issue team-ups in Action Comics. My point was that I thought WW low sales figures were in part because she isn’t accessable to new readers (issue #39 was my example of this) and that a character with a 60 year publishing history has too much mythos and continuity issues to deal with in one book. What do you think?

        • TheComicRant says:

          I’d be down for two GOOD WW books. Gail Simone is doing great work on the title, but I do think Greg Rucka needs to get his hands on some type of ongoing WW book.

        • Rumors are that Grant Morrison will be launching a new Wonder Woman book while the monthly continues. I’d be down with two monthly WW titles as well.

          J.

    • Morlock50 says:

      I heard that Simone is doing a new BOP with Benes on CBR. Your prayers are answered.

      • IronRobe says:

        Wow! Best news I’ve heard in a long time. Well, comic book related anyway. I would prefer Nicola Scott or Paulo Siqueira handle the art, but it would be ridiculous for me to complain. Her run on BOP is still my favorite run of a super hero book ever. If this means that she is leaving WW, I’m fine with that. I agree with TheComicRant. Rucka would be the obvious choice to take over. I would be sad if Secret Six went away, but…Gail Simone is back on BOP! My nerdy little prayers have indeed been answered.

  5. Ironmuskrat says:

    Very disappointing to see REBELS and Fantastic Four so far down on the list, they should at least be top 25 books. I am also sad to see Brave and the Bold so far down the list, JMS is one of the greatest Sci-Fi/Fantasy writers of our time(IMO) and Jesus Saiz is an excellent artist.

    It was cool to see Elliott’s AOD:ASO beat up on some of the competition out there, even edging out Last Days of American Crime.

    I was hoping to see more staying power from the Blackest Night crossover books, but it isn’t over yet.

    IM

  6. well at least Fall of the Hulks Gamma is no where on the top 25. Y’know something weird? I bought the recent issue of Detective and it isn’t on the Top 25. The 2 issues before that I didn’t buy (due to me cutting back on comics) were in the Top 25… wtf is up with that???

  7. Iqy says:

    Yh while dc have got most of the books in the top ten(which I’m glad about) their mainly blackest night titles. I think dc are struglling to sell those titles which are great but not tied with blackest night such as detective, rebels, secret six compared to marvel

  8. phil says:

    I’m just glad to see a WonderWoman title in the top 10!!!

    k….0….

  9. TheComicRant says:

    Reborn is too high up. Just saying.

    • I completely agree with you. Just saying. 🙂

      J.

    • Locusmortis says:

      I’m not sure if morrison could handle another monthly book, perhaps a bimonthly book with a 2nd feature would be a second bet. WW does seem to be a continually hard sell despite having good talent on it over the years, sometimes I think writers trie to be too “relevant” and too “realistic” and forget that WW is a hero, WW should be like the Captain America of the DC universe but more often she’s the Moon Knight of the DC Universe.

  10. Matthew Guy says:

    Well I didn’t buy the crappy Batman book (instead I bought the better Batfamily books Detective, SoG & Batgirl titles instead) but I bought everything else from DC in the top 25 list. From Marvel just the Cap book & one shot (after Cap Reborn 6 no more money for Cap from me) plus the 2 Uncanny books & Amazing got my money too.

    Matthew

  11. Anthonyrdrum says:

    Isnt is possible that Superman will end up being one of the white lanterns? In his mini series they showed him having multiple emotions. As for having Barry not being hopeful, this is the case in rebirth. In blackest night im pretty sure he is instilling hope in Mera and Atom…ex,you are superman you are superwoman. Plus we dont know what may happen in rebirth #6. -A

Leave a Reply

