CCW Nation Awards: Best Artist Poll

Posted: January 15, 2010 in CCW Nation
Tags: ,

Okay, this one was tougher to sort out because there were no obvious leaders in nominations, so I took your noms along with my secret scoring method and came up with the following names:

If you feel like your fave was snubbed, I apologize but know that I’m learning a lot from this process that I’ll apply to next year so it’s not so hard getting to this list.

THE POLLS ARE OPEN! VOTE CCW NATION! VOTE!

Elliott

Comments
  1. Morlock50 says:

    For me it was close. Reis had the tougher assignment, but Williams brought the sexy back in Tec. For me, it’s J.H. for the win.

  2. Smallmaniac says:

    Quietly. All-Star Superman has to be one of the most beautiful Superman books, much less comic books, ever done. And We3 was just awesome.

  3. MANACONDA! says:

    im no quitely fan.

    ottley is a STUD on invincible.

  4. Deemar says:

    Doug Manhke with Ivan Reis a close second, Reis is the unsung hero of DC

  5. Armin Tamzarian says:

    Have to go with Williams. His Batwoman work last year was exceptional. He captures Gotham City perfectly.

  6. phil says:

    Frank Quitely, hands down..his Batman / Grayson job is so seemless I have no doubt that had he been on for the long haul. he would have fared much better in the standings.

    Ottley I’ve never been a fan of, but I do have to admit, that with the coloring as of late, it gives his linework some much neede weight and makes it more aesthetically pleasing to the eye.

    Gleason’s Aquaman is what let me know he’d be perfect for Batman (Bruce) If he leaves the Corps, I”d love to see him on a Batbook.

    Reis’ has always been a bit derivitive of Neal Adams. Despite that, he’s turning in some of his best work. Neal would be proud.

    Mahnke is one who seems ideal for monster type comics, which is why I’m so surprised that he’s turning in such stellar work on G.L.

    Kirk Have not seen enough.

    Williams 3 Still don’t like him. Still think he’s infected with GregLand-itus.

    • Morlock50 says:

      You’re comparing Williams beautiful artwork to Greg “orgasm face” Land? You’re obviously entitled to your opinion, but take a issue of Uncanny X-men and Dectective, and look at the artwork side by side. I’ll bet your opinion will change.

      • phil says:

        I’m not comparing them stylistically, but in terms of end result. In my opinion what puts J H Over Land is his use of color and his panel composition. Other than that I stll link J H to all the other Warhol-ists, like Land, Bradstreet, Jae Lee etc. etc.

        • Except that Williams is actually capable of drawing a comic without needing to trace everything. I don’t buy your comparison Phil. And I am sorry to say that comparing Williams to Land is one of hell of an insult.

          J.

          • phil says:

            Even if there were no Land, Jose…. My core feeling would still be the same about J H. I know that I’m in the minority on this topic, but the mans’ work just does not have a drawn feel to it, to me On the other hand, were I to believe that he is drawing from imagination or reference, his work still feels like it has a sort of artificiality to it.
            At the end of the day this is just my opinion. I’m not trying to dust anything up or be argumentative, it’s just how I feel, thats all.

            k…0..

            • Did you not see the last three issues of Detective? I am just saying your “not having a drawn feel to them” just doesn’t hold up. His flashback story was much different than the art in his first arc. If you did not see those issue I think you should flip through them at the very least next time you go to your comic shop and you’ll see where I am coming from. 🙂

              J.

  7. Manwe says:

    It was really close for me between JH Williams III and Ivan Reis. In the end, I had to go with Reis only because I felt that as beautiful as they were, there was the rare occasion when Williams’s layouts got in the way of clarity, and that it was sometimes hard to tell what was going on in some of his panels (albeit rarely). Although Reis wasn’t as flashy (or perhaps innovative), he has a classic style that allows his layouts to consistently put forth a great sense of energy and clarity.

  8. StarkOryan says:

    Wow, great poll. This was a toss-up for me between J.H. Williams and Frank Quitely (not “Quietly”!). In the end, I went with the guy whose stuff I always HAVE to buy, and that, quite frankly, is Frank Quitely. Williams had a banner year, though.

  9. Antonio says:

    I went with Williams earlier but I ended up going with Quitely.

  10. Jeez this was more tough to decide than the writer poll! I chose Mahnke because his art on GL has been spectacular and jaw-dropping, plus I’ve met the guy. J.H. follows closely in 2nd for me. Although now I kinda wish I voted for J.H. because Detective Comics#854 is what got me into the DCU… ah well.

Leave a Reply

