Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: January 18, 2010 in DC Comics, Marvel, Vertigo

Finally, a decent sized week for me. It’s about damn time.

Last week Marvel managed to kinda piss off almost everyone (myself included) so from here on out whenever I list a Marvel comic that I am going to buy I will also be listing the reasons as to why I am. Yes, it bothers me that by buying Marvel comics it does support a company that I have a laundry list of problems with but hopefully by me listing the reasons why I am picking up those comics you will have a better idea of why I choose to support those titles. Here’s what I’ll be getting this week:

Amazing Spider-Man #618 (Dan Slott, Marcos Martin, Mysterio)
Avengers vs. Agents of Atlas #1 (Jeff Parker)
Brave and the Bold #31
Green Lantern Corps #44
Incredible Hercules #140 (Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente, Agents of Atlas back-up)
Joe The Barbarian #1
Power Girl #8
Thunderbolts #140 (Jeff Parker)

I’d also like to point out that Captain America #602 ships this week with Reborn #6 still not out. Fucking classic.

What’s everybody buying on Wednesday?

J.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Nothing! First time in a while. Though, I’m pretty sure next week is big – the Sword, Chew, Scalped, Detective Comics and some more I think.

  2. Morlock50 says:

    I was thinking of checking out Powergirl, but the art looks extremely cartoony. Is the story good?

    Also in trades: JLA: Earth 2
    and JLA: The Nail and Another Nail

  3. Dan Griffin says:

    DC
    Starman #81
    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Joe the Barbarian (1 of 8)
    The Phantom Stranger #42
    Blackest Night: Flash (2 of 3)

    Marvel
    Mighty Avengers #33

    Image Comics
    Cowboy Ninja Viking #3

  4. generaldark says:

    power girl
    green lantern corps
    joe the barbarian
    BN flash
    thunderbolts
    maby avengers vs, AOA

    i feel so dirty getting marvel books 😦

  5. Ironmuskrat says:

    Only two sure things this week…

    Brave and the Bold #31 This book has been steadily moving up my favorite book list. I think JMS has been writing his ass off on this book and the art has been very solid to boot.

    Avengers vs. Agents of Atlas #1 I was tempted to boycott Marvel all together this week. I decided that isn’t fair to guys like Jeff Parker, who actually knows how to write comics.

    I might get something else this week, just not sure what it will be.

    IM

  6. Antonio says:

    Blackest Night The Flash #2
    Still deciding whether to pick this up.

    Brave and the Bold #31
    JMS and Saiz are killing on this book

    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Must Read BN tie in

    Power Girl #8
    Great writers and art

    Fables #92
    Have read every issue and loved almost every single one.

    Joe The Barbarian #1
    It’s a Buck, It’s Vertigo and it’s from Morrison. Easy pick up

    G-Man Cape Crisis #5
    Final Issue. It’s been really fun.

  7. ASM#618 (isnt this issue written by Dan Slott, Jose?)
    GLC#44
    Avengers vs. Atlas#1

  8. MicahSkin says:

    OMG! THE ASGARDIAN WARS IS OUT AGAIN?!?!

    Ok, my New Mutants dorkitude is fading, but I still buying it.

  9. Matthew Guy says:

    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #618 GAUNTLET
    BATMAN STREETS OF GOTHAM #8
    BLACKEST NIGHT THE FLASH #2 (of #3)
    FABLES #92 (MR)
    GREEN LANTERN CORPS #44 BLACKEST NIGHT
    POWER GIRL #8
    UNCANNY X-MEN #520
    UNCLE SCROOGE #387

    Matthew

  10. Nothing for me. I guess my wallet can have a day off.

    I might read the new Nola issue though. I’ve been enjoying that.

  11. MANACONDA! says:

    dark avengers ill read, but i aint buyin!

    dark wolverine, same deal. i do NOT pay for dark

    mighty avengers

    nova (!!!)

    realm of kings inhumans

    thunderbolts

    uncanny x men

  12. Locusmortis says:

    Nice DC week and some great indies, no marvel

    Blackest Night The Flash #2
    Brave and the Bold #31
    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Outsiders #26
    Phantom Stranger #42
    Starman #81

    G-Man Cape Crisis #5
    Garth Ennis Battlefields Happy Valley #2
    Glamourpuss #11
    Jersey Gods #10

    And the list of whats out shows why marvel takes the market share lead every month. theres 9 DC titles versus 21 Marvel titles but of those 9 DC titles the level of quality is higher. Marvel just floods the market with stuff and enough zombies buy it.

  13. Fallows1985 says:

    Green Lantern Corp
    Outsiders
    Power girl
    Amazing Spiderman
    Incredible Hulk
    Might Avengers

  14. Armin Tamzarian says:

    Blackest Night The Flash #2
    Brave and the Bold #31
    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Starman #81
    Fables #92
    Joe The Barbarian #1
    Amazing Spider-Man #618
    Might also pick up Thor by J. Michael Stracznski Vol 3 HC

  15. Linwood E. Knight says:

    Huge Week for me in terms of releases.

    DC Universe

    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Phantom Stranger #42
    Power Girl #8

    Vertigo

    Air #17
    Fables #92
    Joe the Barbarian #1

    Marvel (I guess this where I piss everyone off)

    Avengers Vs. Agents of Atlas #1
    Captain America #602 (It’s still Brubaker. Marvels Project proves that he still has the chops.)
    Incredible Hercules #140
    Nova #33
    Thunderbolts #140

    Non Super 4 Comics

    Anna Mercury 2 #3
    Incorruptible #2

  16. Pobra says:

    Amazing Spidey #618 (Marcos Martin!)
    Brave and the Bold #31
    Captain America #602 (could be the last issue of Cap I buy)
    Green Lantern Corps #44
    Joe the Barbarian #1

    maybe REBELS Vol.1 if I’m feeling saucy.

  17. Manwe says:

    BN Flash 2
    Brave and the Bold 31
    Green Lantern Corps 44
    Joe the Barbarian 1
    ASM 618
    Incredible Hercules 140
    Star Wars KOTOR 49
    Star Wars Dark Times 15

  18. kurumais says:

    Tbolts
    Herc
    Avengers vs agents of atlas
    Cap 602 (let’s hope that the real brubacker is back on this title)
    Dark avengers
    Nova
    Incorruptible 2
    Starman
    Maybes
    Azreal
    Dr voodoo
    Spider woman

    hey J what cover is that up top ? its very good

  19. StarkOryan says:

    I think the artwork on Joe the Barbarian looks amazing. Only a buck? And written by Grant Morrison? Sweet.

  20. TheRichestManinTown says:

    Joe the Barbarian is the only book I’m looking forward to this week. I’m at the point where I am going to drop all of my super hero books and just read Vertigo books about life.

  21. megamanx4ever says:

    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN # 618
    DARK AVENGERS # 13
    DARK WOLVERINE # 82
    DEADPOOL: MERC WITH A MOUTH # 7
    MIGHTY AVENGERS # 33
    THUNDERBOLTS # 140

  22. kurumais says:

    my buddy tommy said lots of folks came in buying the rob liefeld variant cover of deadpool
    lol

Leave a Reply

