Cool Covers for Comics Shipping March 2010

Posted: January 20, 2010 in Dark Horse, DC Comics, Dynamite Entertainment, Image, Marvel, Vertigo
Tags:

I’ve been wanting to do this kind of post for a while now. Every time I see the new solicitations for comics there are covers that I would like to post on the blog but really have no real reason to do so other than I kinda like them. So, this way I can now just pick a bunch of covers and make an entire post out of it. The April solicitations are just hitting the internet so while I wait for all of the major comic companies to finish posting those I went and looked through March’s solicitations for these covers. If you guys like this sort of thing I’ll do it every month. Well, actually, you’ll get two this month since I am playing a little bit catch up. When the rest of April’s books are available I’ll do another post.

Also, from time to time you may see a cool cover for a really shitty comic on here. It’s bound to happen with a lot of the Loeb books because he does have top notch artists working on his comics.

J.

Comments
  1. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Great idea Jose! I would definitely be up for this kind of post for each month

    I gotta say that out of all of those covers, the Iron Man cover is my favorite. Lately they have been so awesome and so much better then those crappy variants Marvel will also put out

  2. generaldark says:

    im excited for batman vs. robin πŸ˜€

  3. MANACONDA! says:

    i like this, but what i like even more is that iron man cover. im loving the current iron man covers and trade dress, i hope it doesnt stop with stark assembled.

    so good.

    • Ironmuskrat says:

      I love those Iron Man covers. But what amazes me is Marvel throwing in the variant covers to go along with those very cool Sci-fi/Retro style art covers. It’s almost like they thought people wouldn’t get it or understand something new like that and threw in a more traditional covers.

      IM

      • Pobra says:

        It’s been my experience that people really don’t seem to get it, and DO prefer the same old shit, over and over and over…

  4. kurumais says:

    if we were voting for best cover of the bunch i would have to say lockjaw and the pet avengers its gorgeous
    btw is E going to blow up the cover of the guild and hang it up?

  5. Mitiators says:

    That Amanda Conner She Hulk/Iron Man cover is awesome. Both AC covers are the shit in fact. Its so cool that Amanda Conner and Nicola Scott are just slaying it on the pencils.

  6. alfred monty says:

    Jose, great selection of covers. I’m for having this as a regular feature.

    Seeing that Supergirl cover in a larger size made me realize that Supergirl isn’t punching Superboy’s flesh from his skeleton. πŸ™‚

    I don’t have a good way of linking to images, but here are my picks (without overlapping the above)…

    Mouse Guard / Fraggle Rock Flip Book,
    Doctor Solar / Magnus Robot Fighter,
    Governator #1,
    Killer: Modus Vivendi #1 (the alligator played a minor role in the previous series),
    Okko: The Cycle of Air #1,
    Incorruptible #4,
    Irredeemable (the handcuffed character may have (had) a relationship with the Plutonian),
    Doctor Who Ongoing #3 (Paul Grist’s covers work well for this series),
    Punisher #15 (good use of foreground, middleground, background & zombie nazis),
    Domino Lady: Sex As A Weapon,
    Dungeon Twilight vol 3,
    Atomic Robo: Revenge of the Vampire Dimension #2

  7. Locusmortis says:

    Excellent choice of covers Jose, just off the top of my head (I did my order for march last night based on the solicitations) the following covers could be added to that Conan, Creepy, First Wave, Women of Marvel (the Alan Davis cover), Dead@17, Jersey Gods, Glamourpuss. I’m sure theres many more, I just can’t remember atm.

  8. saar17 says:

    Invicible, Iron Man and Secret warriors are the best looking covers.

  9. Ironmuskrat says:

    All good picks on the covers. I really liked the Chew cover.. ewwww! I hope Tony isn’t in over his head with this new bad guy that has appeared on the scene. Of course Guillory puts a spolier on the cover as usual. What a dick!

    =)

    IM

  10. phil says:

    From the crop that is showm, my top 5 are:

    5) Girl Comics Love that just for the fun of it look!
    4) WonderWoman
    3) Ironman
    2) GreenHornet really diggin’ Kato!
    1) GOD help me, but it’s actually the PetAvengers

  11. Armin Tamzarian says:

    Really liking the Iron Man, Pet Avengers and Green Hornet covers.

    I’ve got high hopes for Green Hornet. I just hope Kev writes it more like he did Green Arrow, rather than the shoddy work he’s been doing on Batman.

    Those Iron Man covers are fantastic. After the first few covers, I thought it’d get a little boring and samey, but each one just looks better and better.

  12. Pobra says:

    That Batman and Robin cover is TOO awesome. That would probably my favorite of the lot, with Chew and Invincible Iron Man being second and third. Cool idea for a post J.

Leave a Reply

