DC Responds to Marvel in the Classiest Way Possible

Posted: January 26, 2010 in DC Comics
Tags: , , , ,

Hey folks, Elliott here. You know, you’ve gotta love it when the good guys win, in this case the ‘good guys’ being DC Comics and the whole ‘Marvel will give you Deadpool for Blackest Night books’ fiasco.

After Tom Breevort said some pretty classless things about DC and their ‘crackerjack prizes’ they come back with yet ANOTHER COOL PROMOTION:

Yup, that’s a Flash ring folks! Check out the details about the promotion over at the Robot 6 blog. I just love the little shot Geoff Johns takes at Breevort too.

Comments
  1. Deemar says:

    Heh..

    DC 1 Marvel 0

    Crackerjack my ass

  2. kurumais says:

    i was thinking about dc promotions the other day … when i started going back to cons a few years ago the DC booth had the best swag those cool little batman and supes emblem buttons then they added gl jla ww and flash. i always grab a bunch kids love them and every gal i know wanted a wonder woman pin even though they couldnt care less about the comic( lynda carter still has fangirls). the best thing i ever got at marvel was the preview/sketch book for wizard of oz.

    dc has better swag and seems better promtions department
    personally unless you are a HUGE gl fan/collector not sure why you want a plastic toy ring
    but thats just me

  3. Agmaster says:

    Reading the article, the saddest thing is watching some people use the Breevort defense of DC selling prizes not content. Oh, and the calling for a Deadpool ring. Don’t think it won’t happen.

    • Deemar says:

      Only way I can see them doing a DP ring is when the movie comes out.

      Other than that It’s a chump move after trashing DC ring promotion

  4. Ironmuskrat says:

    This was the best response possible by DC to Marvel’s BS. The Blackest Night Ring promotion was a success and why not do it again just to piss Marvel off some more.

    I do think there is a chance of overdoing it, I see fans are already calling for more rings from different books. I hope DC doesn’t go crazy and do too many ring deals in the future.

    Oh! and I had to laugh at some of the posters on the DC Universe site complaining about not being able to wear the rings because of size issues. Really? Who’s wearing those things? I was thinking about buying that Siege Deadpool variant and wearing it around my neck on a gold chain =)

    IM

  5. ooooh, any work on how long we have to wait for those new rings?

  6. Dan Griffin says:

    Now all we need is a Legion ring, how awesome would that be?

  7. generaldark says:

    i dont see how this is a responce….. im still happy about it dont get me wrong, but i dont see how this is a responce. unless its just DC lowering the book amounts to get a ring.

    • As Iron Muskrat said, by just ignoring Marvel and continuing a successful promotion, that’s all the response you need. If anything, Geoff Johns made the best rebuttal with his comment on how he stands by the content of his books. DC is taking the high road on this.

      Man, I so want Marvel to be better than this. When are they going to learn?

      Elliott

      • Fallows1985 says:

        to me he sounded like a good sport,the ring promotion sounds cool, it is kind of a fuck you to Marvel but you can tell it is by the actual promotion.

        Elliot, at some point the people at Marvel will have enough and it will change the attitude there. I can see it kind of dying down soon though, I mean they probably will see fan reactions and have themselves cool off a bit.

      • Morlock50 says:

        Marvel will stop doing this when the sales on the books start to drop. If Marvel fans don’t give a shit and keep buying 70,000 copies of New Avengers every month, what is Joe Q.’s incentive to tell Brevoort to shut up?

  8. Mitiators says:

    Just awesome.

  9. Stamps says:

    This is great. I’m glad DC didn’t stoop to Marvel’s level.

    I like the flash ring a lot, I’ll defiantly be picking that one up.

    That green lantern ring looks the same as the one that came with blackest Night #5 though.

  10. Pobra says:

    That’s awesome, it shows how completely undeterred DC is by Marvels BS Deadpool promotion. And they’ve lowered the order amounts to 10 books, so I might actually be able to get those rings! Show em’ how it’s done DC.

  11. I don’t care about the rings too much, BUT I would LOVE a Legion ring. Long Live the Legion!

  12. Locusmortis says:

    Tom Brevoort being an asshole again http://twitpic.com/zpy58

  13. thecimmerian says:

    That flash ring looks like it has a peg on the side to push to pop it open. That’s AWSOME!

    I already have a gl ring and a flash ring but the flash ring is too small to wear. YES, I WEAR THE DAMN RINGS. I only wear them when I’m playing heroclix, but still. They’re lucky.

    I’m 100% in favor of a legion flight ring promo too. I don’t know about Breevort, but I love me some cracker jack prizes.

  14. Fallows1985 says:

    you know whats bad about this promotion…. you don’t get a flash costume with the ring 😉

Leave a Reply

