CCW Open Thread

Posted: February 10, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

So, I have been thinking about doing a post like this for a while now and, depending on how it goes, it may or may not become a weekly thing around here.

I have noticed that some of you guys have either news you would like to share with us or just comments you would like to make that don’t really correspond to a recent posting. Well, that’s what this open thread is for. You can talk about anything you would like pertaining to pop culture including, but not limited to, comics, films, videos games, music and the such. It will also give you guys and gals someplace where you can talk amongst yourselves and ask any questions you all may have.

Anytime during the week you want to share something with everyone else this will be the post to do it until the next one (if there is a next one) goes up. Be sure to check back on occasion for new conversations or topics that may come up.

This blog is still a work in progress so hopefully this goes well.

J.

Comments
  1. Locusmortis says:

    First post šŸ˜›

    Pity you can’t make this a sticky or something.

    Seeing as I’m here I might as well make a Brevoort post. He’s made a new thread on his blog where people can ask questions http://marvel.com/blogs/Tom_Brevoort/entry/1685.Call_for_Reader_Questions , heres the rules:

    1) Each poster can ask no more than two questions.

    2) Any poster can veto any question for any reason.

    what does the second one mean? It means his little fuckcicle followers can get rid of questions that are too close to the knuckle. How about you guys and girls post some questions and generally fuck shit up a bit? Heh

    • Oh man, that second rule is some BS. It’s exactly there for the reason you mentioned. Why bother even asking a real question that will hopefully get the fucker off of the list of Marvel’s excuses and talking points. Makes the whole thing pretty much worthless. Most of those commenters are sycophants. You’re just going to get questions like “Why is Marvel so awesome?” and ” Can I come and suck your dick in person instead of metaphorically sucking it on the boards?”

      Also, did you get the message I sent you about the titles for your column Locus?

      J.

      • Deemar says:

        Marvel = Tea Party

        CCW = Ash saves Obama

        heh

      • Morlock50 says:

        Just reading the tread a moment ago. Someone vetoed a question from a poster about Fantastic Four because they claimed the poster was “bashing” Ellis and Bendis. The poster simply said he thought their writing on Ultimate FF was uninspired. That was it. No Bendis SUX, or anything like that. So I guess on the Marvel boards it’s considered bashing if you state you didn’t like a writer’s work on a particular title. I think every CCW poster here would get a immediate veto if we participated.

    • Ironmuskrat says:

      Heh, letting the inmates run the asylum.. Sounds about right for Brevoort.

      Kind of smart in a way. He lets the true believers run rampant betting down the infidels while keeping his hands clean for all of the dirty work.

      IM

  2. StarkOryan says:

    Good idea for a thread….
    Does anyone else really like listening to comic-related podcasts? Any faves?
    I’m usually in it for creator interviews, so I like Word Balloon with John Suintres, and SideBar (sidebarnation.com) is great if you’re an aspiring artist. Occasionally, I also check out Comic Geek Speak, Fanboy Radio, and a fun little show called Awesomed by Comics. What am I forgetting?

    • I admittedly don’t really care for podcasts. Oh, the irony. But when I do listen to them I usually check out Word Balloon or Fanboy Radio. Did you listen to the Word Balloon episode with Elliott?

      J.

      • StarkOryan says:

        Yes, I did listen to that one. Elliot is pretty good at that stuff.
        I think I’m so partial to podcasts because I can have them on and work on artwork at the same time. Word Balloon has some of the best writer interviews and Sidebar is for the artists. You might check it out sometime if you’re bored or want some background noise.

      • Deemar says:

        Huh? this new

        I must have missed it

    • Deemar says:

      Around Comics

      Ifanboy (although, they are kinda whores to the big2)

      • Pobra says:

        Podcasts are sometimes the only thing that get me through the day at work. Comic Geek Speak are probably my favorite, they offer a range of differing opinions which keeps things interesting. And Word Balloon is good too. His latest interview with Jon Hickman was decent, but I can’t stand his Bendis interviews.

    • alfred monty says:

      War Rocket Ajax is my favorite. I also like the previews podcast from comicbookpage.com guys.

      I like searching for comic podcasts about something fairly specific. There’s a great episode of the Mindless Ones about Malibu comics (some of their Charlton comics episodes are great).

      The Back to the Bins episode with the Super Future Friends is fantastic (I think it was Back to the Bins #18 or 19).

      The first part of the interview with Gerry Conway on firstormfan.com is very good. I’m not even a Firestorm fan and I liked it.

      I think an interesting topic is what are the worst comic podcast episodes.

  3. Ironmuskrat says:

    Cool idea Jose…

    I am just curious as to what everyone thought of Jeff Parker’s new Thunderbolts lineup starting in issue #144.

    Let me just state for the record that I haven’t followed the recent events in this book. I looked though the first issue written by Parker and wasn’t impressed my the makeup of the team. I just didn’t find them interesting or the least bit likable, I know they are villains, but come on, I least have to like them enough to care about what happens to them or hate them enough to hope something terrible will fuck them up.

    Anyway here is the new line as reported on CBR webpage.

    Juggernaut, Crossbones, Ghost, Moonstone, and Man-Thing.

    With their new leader being.. wait for it… Luke Cage! really? seriously?

    This has to be one of the strangest lineups in comic book history.

    Juggernaut, Ghost and Moonstone I can see maybe being giving a chance to redeem themselves. But Crossbones? how does that guy get a second chance at anything and Man-Thing is just so weird of a pick I am not sure what to think.

    I know Jeff Parker is a great writer and he likes to take unusually characters and mold them into unique and interesting teams. But I am afraid he might be a bit to ambitious with this new Thunderbolt team.

    That being said, I will be checking out issue #144 to see what is up.

    IM

    • I am actually surprised by this because I thought that Diggle was setting up the return of the Songbird and the rest of the original T-Blots but it seems nothing ever came of it. I’m all coolio with the new line up though except for Crossbones. One of these things is not like the others, one of these things just doesn’t belong.

      I am personally more psyched for the new monthly Agents of Atlas series.

      J.

      • kurumais says:

        i agree j crossbones is bad to the bone he is not going to play nice plus how many really good villains does my guy cap have? parker just took one of the best off the table.
        you folks are ok with man thing? i cant even imagine man thing on any team never mind a government run team. parker already has a wacky team line up with the agents why does he need one here too?

        i miss songbird

        i am stunned AoA are getting another series its like season 2 of dollhouse all over again

      • Ironmuskrat says:

        I look forward to the new AoA series.. although I guess it is just going to be called Atlas now.

        Parker adding 3D Man to the book is a bit of a mystery to me. Does Atlas really need more muscle on the team? Or is there something more to his addition to the team. I know I have read a few theories on CBR site, but I will let people draw their own conclusions.

        IM

    • Deemar says:

      That was kinda outta left field

      i guess Bendis decided to let someone else play with Luke Cage. Ain’t he generous

      Man-thing is very odd, it has no mind

    • MANACONDA! says:

      i like it! i was very excited by the new line up particularly luke cage and ghost, ghost is creepy as all get out and i love him, but like jose i dont like crossbones in it, makes no sense to me, but im sure the talented mr parker will make it work. ive been loving thunderbolts since i started reading it after civil war.

  4. Deemar says:

    Brevoort is weak sauce

    I think we are getting to him and your spot on Locus

  5. Deemar says:

    Oh two new pics up

    loading second one as we speak

  6. generaldark says:

    has anybody played bioshock 2? that game was great! i already beat it. thats my only complaint is that its pretty short but it for sure has replay value.

  7. Matthew Guy says:

    What is your favorite comic book annual or special anniversary issue that you really enjoyed?

    What is your favorite comic related live action (past or present) tv show?

    Matthew

  8. jorge says:

    i wrote this on elliots facebook but im surprised you didnt mention how there are people that hate marvel, example hart d fisher, he pissed off john romita jr enough over his marvel can suck my cock t shirts at conventions so why wine when marvel hating has been going on longer than the internet longer than anyone can remember or even dc

    • kurumais says:

      my personal j tommy, the guy in my local comic shop, is calling BS on the marvel haters.
      first he has been ranting about marvel as long as j has about too many books too many crappy pointless miniseries flooding the market etc so he is not a marvel zombie. but he said last week despite all the griping in person and on the net he has seen about marvel people are still coming in and buying lots of marvels.

      • Of course people are still going to buy Marvel books. They are the fucking #1 publisher in the country. Does he really think that the haters online (like us) are full of shit just because he can’t see the the forest through the trees? I’ll tell you this, I have personally seen Marvel sales going DOWN because of the shit they are pulling. I am not ignorant enough to think that all of a sudden Marvel books will stop selling period. It’s a gradual process.

        J.

        • Pobra says:

          when a company puts out 80 books a month, it’s hard to avoid buying at least a couple of them. Marvel still has some decent output, but even the Marvel devotees at my LCS have been complaining that they’ve been forced cut a pile of 3.99 books, all marvel titles mind you, because it was becoming too much of a strain. So the poor bastards don’t get to read “Dark Rign: Zodiac” or complete their set of “The List”.

          • Morlock50 says:

            Seems to me Marvel will always have a advantage in the overall marketshare with the amount of books they put out each month. I think, looking at the number of DC or Marvel books in the monthly top twenty gives you a better indication of which company is “hot” right now. Also, any fluctuation in sales of Marvel’s top tier (Dark Avengers, Uncanny X-men)or 3.99 books tells me that people are cutting back on those titles because of price or quality.

        • kurumais says:

          i think tom’s point was kind of like e’s poll do fans follow creators or characters folks are still going to buy their spideys and x books no matter what marvel says and does

  9. kurumais says:

    here is a web series written by ed brubaker and starring xena’s stunt double
    i watched the first episode not bad

    i wonder if this is what he was doing instead of working on cap reborn

  10. phil says:

    To CCW,DEEMAR,VARINT GIRL 17,IRONMUSKRAT and onlookers in general, if you get a chance…take a peek at my most recent blogspot. Lemme know what you think. (not to attention whorish, is it?)

  11. Stamps says:

    Hey did you see where Captain Britain is coming back…in “Age of Heroes”
    Paul Cornell talks about it on his blog:
    http://www.paulcornell.com/

    I’m cautiously happy about this, this might get me to read Age of Heroes. Maybe.

    • alfred monty says:

      Thanks for pointing this out. I had no reason to care about Age of Heroes. It sounds like Captain Britain & MI-13 are limited to an issue.

      Busiek, Slott, Remender and Cornell? I might buy this series.

  12. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Captain Britain in the Secret Avengers wouldnt be too bad, that may be the only Avengers book that I would think of getting. I like the creative team so I would definitely need to see the whole team before I think about picking it up

    Speaking of new books, anyone have any idea when the new Batwoman series is launching? Because I saw the May Bat-family titles and there was still no Batwoman

  13. Morlock50 says:

    While we’re talking about future titles; has anyone heard about a second JLA book by Geoff Johns and Jim Lee in the works? Read about it on the DC boards awhile back but nothing recently.

  14. mbell028 says:

    Can anyone explain to me what is up with Captain America 602 and why it was pulled off the shelves nearly a month after it’s release. I’m glad I got it before cancelling Captain America from my pull I may try to sell it on Ebay
    Matt

    • There were some panels that pretty much made fun of the “Tea Bag ” movement referring to them as racists (which they mostly are). Joey Q said the panels in question were a mistake and apologized for them which was a shit move. I guess now the Disney owns them Marvel has to bend to the will of the lunatic fringe of the rightwingers. Pretty weak if you ask me.

      J.

      • Morlock50 says:

        Wow, they actually pulled the book off the shelves over that? Incredible. And I’m a economic conservative, but I still think this is b.s. People love the First Amendment until someone says something they disagree with.

  15. kurumais says:

    http://www.sankakucomplex.com/2010/02/13/lolicon-christopher-handley-gets-6-months-for-loli-manga/

    lolicon is a big no no might mean jail time im not sure how i feel about this on one hand im for free speech and i HATE the increasingly more prevalent nanny state but loli stuff is weird to me i think they might be on the right here

    • Morlock50 says:

      I’m not an expert on manga, and I’m certainly in favor of protecting children from sexual exploitation. But the idea that The Powers That Be can come to your house, bust down your door, and throw you in jail over a stash of magazines gives me chills. I’m sure if we raided the homes of most public officials, we would find some questionable shit as well. Did this dude have any prior convictions in regard to sex abuse or anything?

Leave a Reply

