CCW*TV: The Doomwar Review

Posted: February 26, 2010 in CCW Review, CCW TV, Marvel, Opinion
Tags: , , ,

I thought I would post this review up here for those of you who don’t normally get over to our you tube channel. This is one of the best Marvel books I have read this year and it deserves a lot more attention than it is currently receiving regardless what other review sites are saying about it. Over at CBR a book like Ultimate X gets a 4 1/2 star rating while Doomwar only deserves 2 1/2 stars? Ya, it is all a matter of opinion but still, I personally get the feeling that something is just not right over there. The quality and craft of these two books are clearly night and day and I just can’t understand how some people (whose JOB it is to review books mind you) can not see that unless they are making a conscious choice not to.

I know it may not be professional to talk shit about other review sites but how unbiased can those other sites really be? They count on high profile creators to give them interviews and “exclusive” news to garner their site more attention and to keep those site hit counts rising. When it comes time to be critical of those same high profiles creator’s work how does it not effect one’s review of that material?

One of the things that I believe has struck a chord with our audience is that our reviews and opinions can been seen as being completely honest. We do not owe anybody anything except to be completely truthful. That frame of mind and what I would like to think we stand for obviously has a polarizing effect but I really think it does mean more for those of you who get where we are coming from.

I know that every time I film a segment with Elliott or write a review for this blog you will always get my honest opinion. The day that I feel the need to censor my opinions for the benefit of others is the day I will stop being a part of the CCW.

J.

Comments
  1. Pobra says:

    That is exactly why I have so much respect for you guys. Even if I don’t agree with you on any given subject, I still appreciate the fact that I’m getting your HONEST opinion. I think we need to give special credit to E for being involved in the industry and still telling it like it is and not kissing ass to further his career. It takes true grit, and you are chalk full of that man!

    • Morlock50 says:

      Yeah, Elliott got balls, man. Asking Joe Q. to kiss him before he gets fucked probably closed some doors, career-wise.

      I think Jose hit on the big flaw with these comic review sites. What I like about CCW is you guys stick to reviews and commentary and leave the creator interviews to word balloon. When reviews and interviews get mixed up you get things like Ultimate X reviews on CBR.

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    Once again Jose and Elliott roll a crit on my wallet =) I will be picking this one up next week if it is still available at my LCS.

    IM

  3. Matthew Guy says:

    I’m adding Doomwar to my must buy tpb list after listening to the episode.

    Matthew

  4. Deemar says:

    Preach J preach

    That’s the reason I’m dedicated to CCW

    the only honest review crew out there

  5. Mike F says:

    I Loved this comic man! Thank you guys for this enlightenment.

    I also couldn’t stand the cover, so I had to buy the storm variant, but its worth the extra šŸ™‚

    • Extra dollar? Wasn’t that cover $3.99 too? Hate to break it to you but if you DID pay more than $3.99 your retailer ripped you off. The restrictions for ordering that variant were not as severe as the regular variants (like the Deadpool ones this month). We pretty much ordered as many as we wanted to and they cost us the same as the normal cover.

      J.

      • Mike F says:

        Oh it wasn’t retailer, I checked my local comic shop and they didn’t have that cover left, only the bad one and so I got it on eBay. By extra dollar I meant the shipping when I could of bought it locally for a lesser cover. But I didn’t know that cover price variant was still 3.99… Each variant on marvel usually is the same as the cover price of the issue itself. I just assume the major titles are the ones they are legally allowed to rack up..

  6. AvS says:

    If you allow me a quick detour I’m gonna go on a “there’s a general problem here” rant… The issue of access in journalism is a big problem all around. If power brokers hold their insider status as ransom and those who should be holding the brokers accountable allow them to do this then those trying to do actual journalism have failed at their job. The easy thing to do is to throw the softballs if it’s going to cost you an interview in the future. No offense to fastpitch softball players, some of those women sure can chuck a softball. It happens in financial news coverage, political news coverage and yes comic book news coverage. Personally, I don’t think it’s near as big a problem with comic book “news” sites as the others I mentioned but still annoying. I’m not saying it doesn’t happen; I just mean I can always go to my LCS and check out some book to see if I like it. It’s not life or death. And of course I can always go read/see what you guys are saying and you’ve rarely led me astray. Thanks for allowing the tangents.

  7. variant girl says:

    Well said Sir šŸ™‚

  8. JohnnyHorror92182 says:

    Jonathan Mayberry was actually going to be in Allentown, Pa. (near where I live) at a book signing yesterday at a place called BEACH HEAD COMICS…..but he got sick was unable to be there. So he’s been reschedualed for March. Oh well…

  9. Deemar says:

    I look at Wizard as a prime example of failed journalism in comics

  10. David says:

    Thanks for this! I hope you guys check out the relaunch of Black Panther and especially the prelude to DoomWar, POWER arc in BP.

    I love this review and glad this book is not being taken for granted. This will be a nice ride for 6 issues!

Leave a Reply

