CCW Question of the Week

Posted: March 5, 2010 in Marvel, Opinion, Question of the Week
Tags: ,

This week’s question:

“Is anyone else tired of the New Avengers?”

Earlier this week it was announced that Marvel is relaunching New Avengers with a new #1 while having the same creative team still on the book. Really, what is the point of this (besides making a cash grab with a new #1)? It’s the same creative team (Bendis and Immonen) and it’s pretty much the same damn team members. Also, why have two Avengers books and not have two completely different teams?

Speaking of which, let’s take a look at the revealed team members so far:

Luke Cage: Who is also going to be a member of the Thunderbolts
Spider-Man: Who is also a member of the Avengers
Wolverine: Who is also a member of the Avengers, X-Men, X-Force and the Pet Avengers
The Thing: Who is also a member of the Fantastic Four
Jessica Jones: Is not currently on any other team but is a Bendis pet project

Four of these five team members are already on OTHER teams which makes the New Avengers completely derivative. I really don’t get it. We now not only get Bendis writing the main Avengers book (give it up already, dude) but we also have him continuing to write the most inept superhero team in existence.

My question is this: Where is Dan Slott in all of this? How does he not get an Avengers book while Bendis gets 2? His Mighty Avengers was the only good Avengers book (terrible art aside) to come out in years.

I don’t know…I was hoping that Marvel’s “Heroic Age” storyline would lead to something new but it just seems so far that they are force feeding the fans the same ol’ stale horseshit.

Am I alone in thinking this?

J.

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    this makes canceling new avengers pointless. jees immonen please move to a different book instead of wasting your talent on bendis

  2. Comicsketch says:

    ive never been a fan of mights and new avengers in all honesty

    but they should realy change “i am a new avenger” to “i am a money maker” as the only concept behind the new avengers line is to squeeze cash from people who think that just because they like all the characters on the team that the team will be any good.

    this team doesnt even have any strategic structure its just a mash up

    also with the trinity back on an avengers book what relevance does this book have anyway in the marvel U.

    if anything the New Avengers title should be about characters which could not be part of the Regular Avengers for various reasons but have proven themselves to be part of the good guys, or even minor characters
    hope this doesnt annoy anyone but i think a good new avengers team should use
    songbird
    phobos
    doc samson

    • I agree with you. I wish the NA were kinda had the old West Coast Avengers team dynamic with Songbird as their leader. Loeb is currently ruining the hell out of Doc Samson in Hulk so we probably won’t see him anywhere else soon which is too bad.

      J.

    • Deemar says:

      I really think it’s due time Doc Samson became an Avenger, especially before any newbies like Phobos I like him, but Doc day is due

      • Comicsketch says:

        perhaps your correct about phobos, the reason i included him was because i believe that an avengers team in the public eye requires a god of some description and he would fit the bill as he would perhaps be trying to redeem ares

  3. Bboyce109 says:

    Avengers, New Avengers, Secret Avengers, and i thought i heard of a fourth team? Glad to see Marvel is expanding the Avenger teams outward then just bringing back the original team as i thought they would. “From the people who brought you Secret Fiasco(Secret Invasion) and Dark Strain(Dark Reign), Marvel proudly presents The Heroic Greed(The Heroic Age). Where you get to spend every last penny for everyone in the Marvel Universe to become an Avenger and do nothing upon issue after issue.”

    • Comicsketch says:

      a fourth team? surely not

      i bet deadpool is on the secret avengers team =p doesnt that seem likely ? 😄

    • The fourth team is Avengers Academy.

      J.

      • Comicsketch says:

        Avengers academy, that strikes me a bit like Young avengers.

        but if theres an “avengers academy” which to me means a place where new or young heroes learn to become the next generation of avengers would that make the young avengers team irrelevant? because in my mind they are similar but i could be wrong

        also id like to add who will be the teachers at said “avengers academy” professor wolverine? =p

        • Dan Griffin says:

          Pym will lead/ Teach at Avengers Academy. Rumor has it that Gage and Slott will write it and Mike McKone will draw it.

  4. SMARTASS8 says:

    I thought “The Heroic Age” was going to give readers a taste of pre-Bendis Avengers, but I guess I was wrong. With him on 2 of the Avengers books(we don’t need more than 1 Avengers books; 2 tops) along with these ridiculous lineups, it seems like we’re just getting repackaged Bendis shit(if not worse). The “new” New Avengers seems more like the New Fantastic Four line-up from the 1990’s. While I’m sure Marvel would lose some readers without JoeyQ and Bendis, but I’m really curious as to how many readers they’d get back. I’m more optimistic for James Robinson’s JLA than this.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      As for James Robinson’s JLA, I want to be excited for this book, but with cry for justice and some of the other stuff he has been putting out there latey, it makes me nervous. I also question the batman role in the team since there will be changes in batman real soon, but i do like Mon-El. I just hope we can have the starman level of writing.

    • Deemar says:

      Pre-Bendis?

      We knew that wasn’t gonna happen and now Bendis gets to ruin Ben Grimm along with every other character he’s touched and the worst part Thing is jewish and Bendo won’t be able to help himself with the “Oiy Veys” and “Tookas” and other stereotypical hebrew slang.

      He had Luke Cage talking like Woody Allen for fucks sake

  5. phil says:

    Man-o-man its not bad enough that I’m a D C convert, but Marvel seems almost intent on having me drop them altogether…….sheeeeesh!

  6. saar18 says:

    NewsArama has just post a topic saying that there is going to be another Avengers series. The name of the series is “Avengers Academy”, Which bring the total of Avengers related series to 4! just like it is now.
    I knew Marvel wouldn’t cancel 4 Avengers series, that 2 of them in the top 10 each month and give them alot of money, just for the readers sake.

    Avengers Academy is the new Initiative. It’s a mix of Young As, the Initiative and the New Warriors.

  7. Dan Griffin says:

    Sadily, i will be getting New Avengers when it releases in June. I’m a Sucker for some banter between my two favorite Characters (Thing and Spidey.) All this team needs is O’Grady Ant Man for some great comedy, even if it is Bendis.

    • But that banter will be terrible Bendis banter. Surely you don’t what that.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I’d rather re-read Giffen’s JLI(imho, Bendis still hasn’t come anywhere close to the work he did on that series in the 1980’s) or re-watch the SuperFriends Meets Friends YouTube mash-up again if I was in need of banter with my superheroes.

      • Dan Griffin says:

        No, but i love me some Thing and Spidey. I wish Dan Slott was writing them, That would be some funny banter between the Thing and Spidey.

  8. Ironmuskrat says:

    This just stinks of a money grab on the part of Marvel. Do we need four Avengers teams post Dark Reign/Siege? I don’t think so, I mean it made sense to have the separate Avenger teams within the context of what was happening with Dark Reign. After Siege though what is the point of having the “New” Avengers when the original Avengers are back? And their not really “new” anymore, they have been Avengers for some time now, I think their probation period is over by now.

    I guess this just shows how much pull Bendis has right now, he is just cherry picking whatever characters he wants from wherever he wants to fill out his unnecessary Avengers team. Spider Man, Wolverine and Thing? Any other popular characters you want Mr. Bendis? how about we just throw in Deadpool for shits and giggles?

    Secret Avengers could be cool, but I will hold out judgment until I see who is actually on the team. It could be trouble if the team turns out to be West Coast Thunderbolts.

    The team I am most curious about is Avengers Academy, depending on how the creative team decides to handle the story it could be pretty cool.

    Two Avenger teams seems like plenty, three? OK, maybe. But four? I can see at least one of those new titles folding within a year. But I will have to wait and see.

    IM

    • phil says:

      Hey I.M., do you remember when there was one Avengers title and we were cool with it? Then a dark day happened and West Coast Avengers was born…..0′ the humanity!!!

      • Deemar says:

        Well at least they didn’t bring back Forceworks

      • Ironmuskrat says:

        Yeah, at first I was like “cool”, but after reading a few issues, I was like “oh, hum really?” and then at some point they brought John Byrne on the book and I was like “cool”, then I read a few issues and was like “oh, hum really?

        One Avengers book is plenty for me.

        • Deemar says:

          It is overload and poor Dan Slott left without a Avengers book, unless he’s getting Avengers Academy.

          I blame the failure of Dan’s Mighty Avengers on the artist Khoi Pham, his art was so bad it was like reading shit covered candy apples, sure the stuff underneath is great, but that first layer is disgusting.

    • Edward2962 says:

      West Coast Thunderbolts!Bring back John Byrne!Where’s Al Milgrom!Actually what you said is right on.Marvel has ALWAYS been money hungry corporation,but what bugs me is the obvious crassness of the company’s greed these days.I have a feeling that we’re heading for an implosion like in the 90’s.oh well,life goes on…

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I think one book would suffice. If that was the case i would probably look forward to the avengers, but when they pull this crap it makes me want stop buying anything that is avengers. I am not assembling.

  9. Dan Griffin says:

    I know this is off topic and all but….is anyone else bummed that Gail Simone is getting taken off of Wonder Woman for most likely Grant Morrison.

  10. Edward2962 says:

    What does everyone think of this…What Bendis trying to do is not an Avengers book,but perfect the CONCEPT of the “NON-TEAM”.NA has no HQ and No mission statement.They don’t go on fantastic adventures,don’t fight hate,don’t protect the earth from cosmic threats.It’s random heroes standing in a room chatting.Literally!The sub-text of course is “Who SHOULDN’T be in the Avengers?THEY’LL be the stars!” Hence solo stars,street level heroes and guys from other teams.I don’t hate NA,but it’s not a super team.I like Stuart so I’ll check it out,but don’t be surprised if Monark Starstalker shows up or Werewolf by Night joins.Hey!How about Woodgod?

    • How is that any different from every one of Bendis’ other books?

      /sarcasm 🙂

      J.

      • Edward2962 says:

        Ha! That’s valid,but it works in Ultimate Spidey or DD or Powers.Not in a comic that by it’s nature should be about big action and drama.I think that’s what upsets so many fans.Bendis should throw a couple of monsters in it and just call it New Defenders.Look at it this way,I like Ozzy and I like Sinatra but Ozzy shouldn’t try to sing Strangers in the Night.And I’d be a little disappointed if I bought an Ozzy album took it home and there’s a Keith Urban CD inside.Ok, I’m rambling…

    • Deemar says:

      Knowing Bendis hell have Woodgod team-up with Stiltman, Mandrill and Paste Pot Pete.

      Think about it

      • Edward2962 says:

        Thing is,I can totally see this.Stiltman and Paste Pot Pete will trade sub-Tarantino dialogue and Mandrill will sulk in the corner making forced pop culture references.In the 4th issue when bad guys FINALLY show up the “team” will say,”It’s time to kick some ninja ass!”Mandrill will reply “I’m sorry,I’m not feeling this …” and run away.And because Spiderman and Wolverine are still on the cover,it will sell millions.

  11. tomstewdevine says:

    You are not alone, this is utter dog shit. Please someone make Joe Q step down its time for a fucking revolution.

  12. Mitiators says:

    Marvel is ruining the Avengers the same way they ruined the X-men in the ’90s. Just way too many books with the same characters but somehow maintained in current continuity. How? Tired question, but how can Wolverine be doing all this shit at the same time?
    DC is a little guilty of this but they’ve been handling it so much better recently. If Batman is in 4 books in 1 month 2 of those books might take place outside of the current timeline (ie Brave and the Bold).
    Marvel is just become this uncreative marketing machine. Its sad because their characters and creative talent have so much potential.

    • Deemar says:

      It’s about the money Lebowski

      I understand the reasoning for a single book containing all the top tier heroes as was Mark Millar’s intention when New Avengers was first pitched, but Millar didn’t have time to write the book (Thank Jeebus) so Bendis got the job and filled it with all his 70s favorites and proceeded too turn the Avengers into NBCs “FRIENDS”

      Think about it, never has a superteam been so pedestrian. They all hang out at Cap’s cush brownstone, they talk about feelings, relationships and trust issues,drink coffee and eat chinese takeout. Spidey is Chandler and Jessica Jones is Jennifer Aniston..

      Yeah I’ve thought about this idea too much erase it from your memory

  13. heckimlistening says:

    Why is Thing on the Avengers??

    Plus, when they say “HEROIC AGE”, I don’t think of Wolverine or Jessica Jones. I think Iron Man, Thor, Cap, heck even Spidey can be thrown on the list. Still, totally not Wolverine. He’s NOT a superhero.

    Young Avengers was a good book, IMO. I wish we could see more of their solo adventures since Civil War kind of ruined what they had going for them. I wouldn’t mind having a NEW Avengers and an Avengers, but I’d like DIFFERENT characters. But hey, I won’t be purchasing either, so whatever.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      I’m with you on this. I love Thing, but Fantastic Four is more a family than a team. Why would he be on the Avengers? It also pisses me off to no end how Bendis loved killing off characters just because he doesn’t like them(Alpha Flight, Carnage) but keeps pimping his own, imo, crappy creations(Maria Hill, Jessica Jones). I will say that even though a lot of people had problems with Spidey on the Avengers, I didn’t mind that. I always felt his was a loner not because he hated teamwork but due, in part, to his bad PR and having so many personal problems. Wolverine, on the other hand, is a cold blooded murderer who should not be on the Avengers. Although, considering the fact that Bendis writes all of Marvel’s characters as anti-heroes that kill, he seems like he fits on the team more now.

      I liked Young Avengers but, so far, have only liked them when Allan Heinberg wrote them.

    • Edward2962 says:

      I truly believe the only reason the Thing is there is to piss off old fans and start debate.It’s like, “OK ppl are used to Spidey and Logan,so how can we cause another controversy and generate hype?Make Ben Grimm a member!” I’m telling ya, a zombie character can’t be far away and if it weren’t for copyright issues, Colossal Boy would be next!

  14. ...dj...sweet says:

    I would just like to add that Dan Slott had a horrible run on Mighty Avenger aside from the art. I like Hank Pym and I was getting sick of Slott slobbing on his knob. This last issue was at least as bad as any Bandis Avengers comic I’ve read. I quit a long time ago, so i might have missed an even lower point. I don’t have a problem with NA continuing. Heck, I like The Thing in this group. SmartAss was right with Bendy trying to write a JLI style book. (and failing) I just have a problem with Bendis being on The Avengers. Let him have his circle jerk NA but let us have a real team of Avengers by a writer that knows what to do with them.

  15. Morlock50 says:

    We need to change the captions in these ads:

    Thing: I left the “World’s Greatest Comic Magazine” for this shit?

    Luke Cage: When I stand like this, don’t I remind you of Samuel Jackson in “Black Snake Moan”?

    Spider-man: Three titles a month wasn’t enough for my ass, huh? What am I, fucking Deadpool?

    Wolverine: I’m the best (and most overexposed) at what I do.

    Jessica Jones: Remember me? I’m the lady who got buttfucked by Luke Cage on-panel in Alias.

  16. david says:

    yer i agree, its really bad and there is no need for it – all these characters can be gotten in other areas if you want em.

    btw; that reminds me of the New Fantastic four with SPider-man, Joe fixit, wolverine and ghost rider….

    man, it was so tacky… but i still have the gold copy…. a little bit is ok… but they have it in spades.

    …kinda like DC’s corn fest- o – rama

  17. david says:

    fuck avengers…. i want the original DEFENDERS + Valkyrie

    Rawrrk!

    • Edward2962 says:

      Hell,yea!My favorite run is the Steve Gerber/Sal Buscema stuff even though the art is kinda clunky.For the most part it’s clever and entertaining.I also have a soft spot for the David Anthony Kraft/Kieth Giffen Scorpio tale.Not only does Giffen ape Kirby for most of it,but also how many times does the villain admit that the main reason he’s trying to conquer the world is because he’s having a mid-life crisis?Gotta love the 70’s.

  18. Mike F says:

    I really feel tempted to just send this to Joe Q right way and say “yeah what the fuck man?”

    If i’m gonna invest my money in a comic, why can’t they at least not insult me with this First issue bullshit avengers ? uggh

    I’ll stick with Fraction’s Iron Man and Hickman’s FF as far as marvel goes…

  19. Rob F says:

    The Thing being on the Avengers is completely weird. I’m not going to say it is the worst move ever but it just is way to gimmicky. It reminds me of the days when Marvel used to throw a smattering of heroes on the cover and say “two of the these are new avengers!” and you’d have to read the book to find out who. The problem is that any more the Avengers is less a team then the Worlds Largest Revolving Door…heroes come…heroes go…they get disgraced/killed/lost in time but always manage to show up when they really aren’t needed. What I would really like no matter who is on the team is a guarantee that these people will be the book for two years with no add ons or removals, just so you can get some consistencey.

  20. SMARTASS8 says:

    Even if the books they’re promoting end up sucking, DC is so much better at the promotional art game than Marvel. I love all of those pictures DC has done where they have all of the little easter egg details that lead to fans spending hours deconstructing them. Marvel just throws a bland “iconic” picture up and calls it a day. That’s another thing I hate about JoeyQ’s Marvel; the non-stop barrage of covers with characters just posing on them. It reminds me of the Spawn covers from my youth where I couldn’t tell one cover from the other(or what was actually happening inside the book).

Leave a Reply

