CCW Weekend Open Thread

Posted: March 6, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. saar18 says:

    Scott porter didn’t got the role of Steve Rogers 😦

  2. Deemar says:

    I think that’s the best way to go for the Cap movie, keep it in that WWII era and save the present day stuff for sequels or Avengers movie.

    • Dan Griffin says:

      From what I heard, is that the movie will be bookend by Present day time. and that Most of it is set in WWII.

      I Think the guy that played the Jew Hunter in inglorious bastards should be Red Skull.

      • Deemar says:

        Christoph Waltz hell yeah I’m down for that

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          While it would be cool, I doubt he’ll really want to be stereotyped as “the evil Nazi”. I know Inglourious Basterds won’t win Best Picture(I’m pulling for Basterds and District 9 even though the leaders are the inferior, imo, Hurt Locker and Avatar), but I sure as hell hope Waltz wins Best Supporting Actor.

          • Pobra says:

            Basterds and D9 were easily the best flicks of last year. And Waltz is a killer, he totally deserves to win something, he carried that movie.

  3. Dan Griffin says:

    Rumor has it that Olivia Munn role in Iron Man 2 is the Scarlet Witch.

    • Interesting. I remember Munn talking about being in IM2 a while ago but she wasn’t allowed to say who she was playing.

      J.

      • Dan Griffin says:

        If it is true, i kinda just want it to be a Cameo, But i trust Jon Favreau.

        • generaldark says:

          o god no 😦

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            That’s crap if that’s true about Olivia Munn. I may be wrong, but I feel her “geek credentials” are BS and the only reason she’s as popular as she is. If she’s labeled a “geek”, some mouth breathers will think they have a chance with her so they automatically become fanatical. If she can’t even act much on a dinky little cable show, I’m really not putting much stock in her big screen abilities.

            As I’ve said before, I’m not an Iron Man fan but I loved the first movie. Unfortunately, my expectations are very low with this movie since we’re getting “Woody Allen’s talentless muse” as Black Widow and “Rocky Dennis” as Whiplash. Also, as good an actor as Don Cheadle may be, I can’t picture him as Rhodes.

            • No, she is in Iron Man 2 for sure. Don’t know exactly what kind of part she has though.

              I remember when Olivia Munn first appeared on G4. It was during the E3 convention a few years ago. Man, she was absolutely terrible and knew jack shit about video games. She really did make a fool of herself for those 3 days and I really did dislike her. Over the years she has grown on me and does have a cool sense of humor imo. Now, whether she can actually “act” is another story entirely. Munn can be any worse than “Woody Allen’s talentless muse”, can she?

              J.

    • Deemar says:

      I like her, every time I see her on tv she was pretty funny

      a rare thing beauty and wit

      • Pobra says:

        Beauty and wit aside, the girl doesn’t have much in the way of acting chops from what I’ve seen. And her geek cred is completely manufactured. For the sake of the film, I hope her role in it is minimal.

      • Rob F says:

        I think I may be the only one here who thinks Attack of the Show misses a lot more time than it hits…

        • Well, I switched cable providers a couple of months ago and no longer get G4. I can’t really comment on the current quality of the show or lack there of.

          J.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            I’m not much of a gamer these days; I just don’t have the patience or focus it takes to spend all that time in order to win a game(hell, my Wii became furniture after a few months). I also haven’t watched G4 much since it merged with TechTV/ Back then I felt Tina Wood was the hottest host.

            I feel Olivia Munn is a more exotic looking Jenny McCarthy; an annoying chick who has no problem wearing little clothes for attention and looking stupid for a laugh.

  4. david says:

    wuth Fantastic 4, s-men, spider-man..whateva…. i cant believe people are actually still excited about marvel movies.

    • Don’t forget Wolverine: Origins and X-Men 3 and Daredevil and Elektra and Punisher.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        Maybe it’s because my expectations were so low, but I actually enjoyed Wolverine and Daredevil(neither of them were good movies though). Although, what do I know? I think, except for Molina’s Doc Oct, Spider-Man 2 sucked.

  5. david says:

    only good marvel movies… ummm, blade #1…maybe #2 aswell.

  6. david says:

    even iron-man only managed to not suck…. it wasnt great.

    When they make CGI movies like the Iron-Man/Hulk/Spider-Man mini-movie… then ill be excited.

    SPAM?

    P.s: S-Men are awesome.

  7. Mike F says:

    Does anyone else find it unethical that Geoff Johns changed the time line of the Flash’s history in the rebirth?

    Am I the only one who thinks its just straight up wrong to change a characters origins like that so carelessly? I know Geoff Johns is a great fan of DC comics/characters but does anyone actually hold that right OTHER than the creator of the character?

    Or is this gonna continue to be more normal as years go by for modern comics?

    • I don’t think it’s cool but he has already retconned Hal Jordan’s origin and is currently doing so with Superman’s. He is the Brian Bendis of DC Comics so I guess he can do whatever he wants whether it sucks or not.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I haven’t read it yet, but does Johns explain why Barry’s wife is younger now?

        While I don’t think he should either rest on his laurels or walk all over other peoples’ works due to his popularity, I wouldn’t compare Johns to Bendis yet. Whether it’s due to research, great editors, or just an encyclopedic knowledge of the DCU, Johns usually explains most of his retcons or changes to characters. As cheesy and sorta cheating as it may be, I think the retcons of origins are all due to Superboy’s wall punching. Unfortunately, I don’t have an explanation as to why Johns turned Boomerang Jr into a baby killer all of a sudden.

        • To paraphrase the great Homer Simpson:

          “Ah, Superboy wall punching. The cause of, and solution to, all of DC’s continuity problems.”

          And no, he didn’t explain at all why Iris is younger.

          J.

        • heckimlistening says:

          I can’t forgive hime for buchering Boomerang. I really liked that character as an anti-hero. He has a LOT of potential and was a character that I would have loved to write if I ever got the chance.

      • Mike F says:

        Your very right about him being the Bendis. I mean they both take on more than either can handle, and they both only really have a decent comic every now and then. (Johns having more but its started to fade for him honestly.)

        Johns constantly tells interviewers that he loves DC comics. As a kid he was obsessed, and so I think that obsession leading him to just wanna change little parts that he didn’t deem good enough.

        I understand Johns is a nice guy, but I feel like to people who grew up reading a certain character a certain way, to just change it all like that, I guess it just doesn’t seem right. If Stan Lee wanted to do a change for one of his characters or Len Wein wanted to do a secret origin story, it would be alright since they are the creators but really Johns is just trying to make DC Comics become GJ Comics.

        And I can’t support this. Especially when it was better before.

        • Morlock50 says:

          I can’t blame Johns for doing something I would do in his posititon. If I had the power, I’d fucking retcon the whole COIE, and start an Ultimate universe for DC back in the 80’s instead. (I just flipped through my copy of Crisis and got good and pissed before hitting the boards; reason for the rage at a 20 year old story).

          Fucking DC.

  8. phil says:

    FINALLY I made it to the comic book store. Picked up G L 50/51, B N 7 WW/BN 3 WW 41, A Free issue of IronMan no.1 and because y’all mentioned it I took a chance on Doomwar. Oh, and if the oppurtunity presents itself I’m gonna put up a video response ( of sorts ) to something we had discussed not to long ago, Jose.

  9. david says:

    oh cool, i just figured out i can put movies on here. better take this chance before im subdued.

    THE GREATEST MOVIE FILM ON CURRENT RECORD

  10. david says:

    movie film…. fuck.

  11. david says:

    i think they need to start making movies that stop trying to please everyone and no-one.

    as in the two movies here, they are of two distinct styles but still compliment each other…kinda like issues.

  12. VEGEGDE says:

    i really wish they would work on the quality of their comics and spend less time and focus on their movie studios.

    we keep hearing about all these anounced films. blackpanther, namor, madman(please make this), justice league. heck. CONCRETE!(i want that movie i was promised!)

    anyone else exictied about the new flash series. i didnt like reborn but i thought rougues revenge and the Blackest night tie in were pretty great.

    i am glad so far the art is not of a body building running around in spandex like blackest night shows and everything else in the past 5 years. the dude runs fast.. did’nt know the speed force was also made of bane’s venom serum

  13. Brandon Fried says:

    Great fucking news:
    JMS on Wonder Woman and Superman in July? I think so.

    http://dcu.blog.dccomics.com/2010/03/08/j-michael-straczynski-to-write-superman-and-wonder-woman-starting-in-july/

Leave a Reply

