JMS to Take Over Writing Wonder Woman… and That Superman Guy Too

Posted: March 8, 2010 in DC Comics, News
Tags: , ,

The above pic is not at all related. It was just a chance for me to post one of my favorite covers ever.

J. Michael Straczynski via DC’s The Scource:

For as long as I’ve been doing conventions (starting in the early Cretaceous period, when it was just me and a handful of pterosaurs on a panel debating whether or not mammals with opposable thumbs were really necessary to the writing of quality comics, a point still hotly debated today), there has always been the same question from folks in the audience: “Is there any one character who is your dream character to write for?” The answer has always been the same: Superman. When I first came over to DC, that dream was realized in part by Dan DiDio’s gracious invitation to write the first of potentially many Superman original graphic novels. Now the dream has come fully true with the opportunity to write for the mainstream title, in a story that returns Superman to his roots in a way that will have the whole country talking about him in ways that we haven’t seen in a long time.

Similarly, the chance to write Wonder Woman — the nearest analogue to Superman in the DCU — is massively exciting. She’s a vital, powerful character, and we hope to bring a more contemporary sensibility to her character will retaining everything that makes her unique.

That DC is willing to jump-start these two runs in the pages of their respective anniversary issues is a great opportunity and a vote of confidence in what we have planned for these characters. I’m looking forward to this with more excitement than words can convey.

It’s gonna be a blast.

Well, it looks like Grant Morrison won’t be taking over the monthly Wonder Woman book (yet?) as many of us were speculating last week. Turns out that honor is going to J. Michael Straczynski starting in July with issue #601. This news kinda came out of nowhere but I must admit it’s an interesting choice. His current run on Brave and the Bold has been quite entertaining in my opinion and it will be good to see JMS break out of the confines of the one and done story format in the DC Universe. No artist has been announced as of yet but hopefully Nicola Scott will be remaining on the book.

Oh, I almost forgot, JMS will also be taking over the writing chores for some character called Superman as well starting with issue #701.

Read more about this news by clicking here and here.

J.

Comments
  1. Matthew Guy says:

    Well I enjoy B & B so I look forward to the Superman & Wonder Woman JMS stamp on both series.

    Matthew

  2. Chris says:

    JMS hey… I don’t know if I would have prefered Morrison. Hopefully it’ll work out. I have faith in his writing, and Dan Didio must have too! It’s just a shame that they didn’t kick Tony Daniel of Batman after #700 so he could write that too!

  3. Dan Griffin says:

    I don’t know about JMS on Wonder Woman. He does have the an attitude where he ignores what other writers have done with the character. It’s a wait and see, but i think i will still drop Wonder Woman after Gail leaves.

    On the other hand, Him on Superman is a no brainer.

    • Morlock50 says:

      On the other hand, sometimes a writer can be too much of a fan, and try to follow previous creators too closely. I was a big fan of Gail’s run (especially her shorter stories and the Circle arc) but with her, you pretty much had a superfan writing the book. It may not be a bad idea to change it up and have a talented writer who isn’t afraid of upsetting the Rucka or Perez fans.

  4. Ullar says:

    I’m pretty excited for Superman, I haven’t read it since Johns left and JMS will have a great run. I’m disappointed in Wonder Woman though, I was REALLY hoping Morrison would take over (I’m one of those people who loved Final Crisis). I may pick up WW but I’ve never been too interested in her. At least I’ll have some great Superman after Secret Origin ends.

  5. bobcat1489 says:

    Hey Jose and Elliott what did you guys think about “RISING STARS” by JMS back in the day???

    • I have only read the first dozen issues or so. I liked what I read but just never got around to finishing it. In the new issue of “Buffy The Vampire Slayer” Xander actually references Rising Stars which I thought was kinda cool.

      J.

  6. Deemar says:

    Bullet dodged on WW

    I hope he brings to Diana Prince what he did for Thor

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      My sentiments exactly. I’ll take JMS over Morrison most times and I also hope JMS does for Greek mythology what he did for Norse.

  7. phil says:

    Thats one of my favorite all time covers as well.
    Needs more guys cowering though.

  8. Morlock50 says:

    Not my first choice for Wondy, but it’s definately a solid one. I look forward to stories in the Superman book that aren’t mega crossovers with that stupid numbered shield on the cover. It was like a sign telling me to stay away.

  9. Ironmuskrat says:

    I guess it was just a matter of when and not if, JMS got the helm of a major DC book. I was surprised he got two books. I actually like the idea of him writing Superman more than Wonder Woman. But I will wait and see how it goes, I assume he will be leaving The Brave and the Bold so that will open a slot for a new book for me.

    IM

  10. phil says:

    Actually because of you… Jose and E I started getting into B & B in the 1st place. Each book was an epic unto itself. If he can bring that same passion and creativity to Clark and Diana… man are we in for some ride!
    Now the flip side is Gail’s departure. While I have not kept up with much of her run on WW, I still think its kinda jacked that she’ll no longer be on the title. Gail was much into the greek aspect of WW of which I had little interest, but I would have weathered the storm for a chance to see her and Ms. Scott tackle the amazing amazon.
    In what should not matter… it just would have been something to see, a female writer, a female artist teamed together on the most iconic female character in comicbook history……. oh well, maybe by issue 600. We can only hope.

    • Simone and Scott will be working on Wonder Woman together for a least a couple of issues.

      J.

      • phil says:

        In a way, thats worse. Were I an optimist I could take joy in… at least we’ll have thos couple of issues, but I’m a pessimist and to me its more like… so, this is what you would have gotten. Bummer.
        Thanks for the info though, Jose.

  11. generaldark says:

    Im looking forward to see JMS write WW with that said, putting him on superman will make me less excited about the Earth-1 superman story he is writing.

  12. heckimlistening says:

    Well looks like I can buy Superman again now that the evil Robinson has been vanquished.

    Wonder Woman should be good, I’ll stick with the title. She is one of my favorite characters when written well.

    • Well JMS can’t possibly be worse than Jodi Picoult and the shit stain that was Amazons Attack (I still can’t believe Will Pfeifer wrote that thing) so I think we’ll be ok…for now.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        The funny thing about Picoult is that I bought one of her books for my Mom after reading a pre-Wonder Woman interview with her on Newsarama(I’d never heard of her before then). I ended up being disappointed in her WW run but my Mom became a lifelong fan of her chick lit.

        • heckimlistening says:

          Amazons Attack was on of the lowest WW points in recent memory. I hated Supergirl’s involvement in that and it just left a horrid taste in my mouth.

          I think JMS will be good considering his run on Thor and that mythology. Still I wish Gail Simone wasn’t leaving. I feel that her run was just getting warmed up.

Leave a Reply

