CCW Weekend Open Thread

Posted: March 13, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. Dan Griffin says:

    Palmiotti, Grey and Conner off of Power Girl after Issue 12 in May.

  2. saar18 says:

    Huge Weaving most likely to play Red Skull.

    hell yea!

  3. phil says:

    Who are the Red Herring Avengers? Details to follow shortly!

  4. Mike F says:

    Kpop rappers Epik High released their new album this week.

    Its great OST if your reading some old back issues of Batman 🙂

    (just a suggestion – but it depends on the writer i guess)

  5. Dan Griffin says:

    Boom! Studios to release a new Ongoing this June, Darkwing Duck.

    I’m so getting this series.

  6. Since this is the weekend before spring break for me I went out to some used-book stores and bought a lot of comic book related stuff such as:

    -A volume of Liberty Meadows
    -Hellsing Volume 1
    -A few issues of Invincible and ASM
    -and some other stuff

    Looks like I won’t be bored this spring break!

    Also the news of Palmiotti, Grey, and Conner leaving Power Girl was sad news to start my weekend… whoever replaces them has some big shoes to fill.

    I also read All-Star Batman and Robin#1… I didn’t know one could say “damn” so much in a comic book…

  7. Pobra says:

    Picked up Unwritten vol.1 today, can’t wait to read it!

  8. Jeremy says:

    Bruce Wayne is comming! Get ready for the awesomeness! One of DC’s greatest character is back baby!
    Yes I know you guys like Grant’s run in Batman and Robin, but I’ve wanted Bruce back since day one.
    On a side note, has anyone else noticed that Geoff Johns doesn’t seem to like Bruce. When he writes him Bruce is always a pompus asshole, and I just don’t think that’s his character.

  9. Dan Griffin says:

    Hack/Slash is moving from Devils Due to Image.

    Maybe now it will get more attention. It’s a really great comic.

    • alfred monty says:

      Hack/Slash is on my pull list and the last issue that my LCS received was #27. #34 was solicited in the February Previews and I’m not holding my breath for it.

      On a related note, Colt Noble and the Megalords is great. They ended the one-shot on a cliffhanger so there may be a sequel.

  10. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Anybody been reading JLA since Robinson took over?

    I finally dropped the book because it had just been terrible and mismanaged but I have wondered if Robinson was improving the book. From the sounds of it Dick is now acting as the leader of the JLA which could be interesting considering someone like Hal is on the team.

    • I tried reading that book for the first few issues of Robinson’s run. It really and truly is quite terrible. The shit art doesn’t help at all either. I think in a years time you will see that title get a reboot of some sort. There have been rumors for a while now of Geoff Johns and Jim Lee doing a new JLA series.

      J.

      • Mr.Wrestling says:

        A reboot wouldnt be too bad, especially with a creative team of Johns and Lee.

        But would Lee be able to carry on a monthly book

      • Mike F says:

        Yeah I agree with you entirely. I have nothing against James, since I’m sure he’s a good guy. Its not like with Mark Millar where he deliberately offends me with his comics, James Robinson is just a different type of writer. Not my taste. I have nothing against him, I just don’t like any of his work.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I don’t like Robinson but I do like Bagley. While he isn’t in my “Top 5” artists working today, he brings a unique look to the DCU. It also doesn’t hurt that he is able to put out a lot of work in a timely manner.

    • Morlock50 says:

      Issue #42 was somewhat of an improvement over the other four issues…although that’s not saying much. Robinson has his new team in place, and I like the idea of Dick being the field leader. There were some interesting guest appearances from the Challengers of the Unknown and the Metal Men, and such. Also, nobody died, which is a major event in a Robinson JLA story these days. However, Robinson writes very quirky dialogue which doesn’t work well on the page; especially the interior monologues. And the book is fucking 3.99 and the art still sucks.

  11. Venom829 says:

    IMPORTANT QUESTION: HAVE ANY OF YOU SEEN THE COVER TO BATMAN #700. It was a David Finch cover, and so my reaction when I saw it was: “TAKE THAT TONY DANIEL”!!!

  12. arp*10 says:

    Hello, there. Anyone get DD 505? If so, what did think?

  13. phil says:

    Looks like a couple of F-ers are taking on Thor. Fraction and Ferry, anyone aboard? I haven’t dug anything by Ferry since his 1st and only issue of the Mr Miracle mini and I left Thor by issue three of his current run, but I might get back on board for this?

  14. SMARTASS8 says:

    Emerald City Con News (via Bleeding Cool)

    * Spider-Woman is cancelled with #7.

    (Proof that Bendis doesn’t sell without the push of Marvel’s marketing machine.)

    * Geoff Johns says no to Marvel/DC crossovers and puts the blame on Marvel’s recent incentive for publishers to return stripped covers of DC comics in return for Marvel rare variant comics. I understand that at one point, DC investigated the idea of printing up thousands of spare covers and sending them to Marvel, but legal counsel advised against it.

    (I’m happy DC is still refusing to work with Marvel. I thought that might change after Levitz stepped down. While it would have been funny if DC printed up a bunch of spare covers, I think their not getting their hands dirty in a public war with Marvel makes their company look better(and might actually hurt Marvel’s image more in the process).

Leave a Reply

