Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: March 23, 2010 in DC Comics, Marvel

Hey DC! You know I can’t but any of your books unless you release them, right? Hopefully next week will be better. Here’s what I’m picking up tomorrow:

Deadpool #21 (I must admit, it’s a funny comic…most of the time)
Green Lantern #52
Power Girl #10
Secret Warriors #14 (Jonathan Hickman)
Thunderbolts #142 (Jeff Parker)
X-Factor #203 (Peter David, it’s a damn good comic)

What’s everyone else getting?

J.

Comments
  1. Pobra says:

    Slow week…

    Amazing Spider-Man #626
    Green Lantern #52
    Secret Warriors #14

    maybe…

    Nemesis #1 (Just so I can be in on the ensuing debates over Millar’s current work. And worst case scenario, I end up with a horribly written, offensive comic that looks spectacular. I do like my McNiven art.)

    • Mike F says:

      Yeah I’m with you with Nemesis. Its not impossible for it to be good. (likely? fuck no) but impossible? well I’ll give him a chance…

    • Mitiators says:

      Did you check out the Nemesis preview at IGN? Looks pretty “eh”. I’ll wait and see what you guys have to say about it.
      I’m not paying Millar until the Red Son Millar comes back.

      • Mike F says:

        I did see the preview and I thought the artwork was outstanding IMO. But the story semed so bland at that scene. But For my own personal taste I do like Millar at times. I liked Old Man Logan. I hated wanted, kick-ass, & Civil War but Old Man Logan had moments for me. I guess its just my taste…

        Regardless I’ll give him one chance. I always have hope thou. Ever since he wrote Swamp thing and the Flash, I knew he had talent. he’s just been soaking up money now instead of being a real writer.

    • Sorry Pobra. If you are looking for “good” McNiven art you are really going to be disappointed. The art in this comic is easily the worst of his career. The sad part? It looks like he wants to be Leinel Francis Yu. Let me know what you think after you buy it.

      Also, the story was quite terrible but it probably comes as no surprise that I think so.

      J.

      • Morlock50 says:

        Surpise? I’m shocked; shocked I tell you! 🙂

        Are you and Elliott reviewing this on the video, or are both of you on Millar overload after that wonderful Ultimate Avengers issue?

      • phil says:

        Obviously I cannot defend artwork that I have not seen, however being somewhat of a McNiven fan, and not so much of a Yu fan, my question is which Yu do you believe he’s trying to be like, Jose? (I’m not being snarky or sarcastic) Having 1st seen Yu’s work on Wolverine some time back, I thought it was rough around the edges, but beautiful nonetheless, then a while later there’s this God awful (my opinion) ode to Sienkiewicz chicken scratch that was put upon New Avengers and finally Yu refined that scratchiness into something more palletable. So even in assuming that I’m in agreement with you that this is McNivens’ worst work, I’m curios as to which phase of Yu’s work you think McNiv is emulating.

        • Nemesis looks like chicken scratch/Sienkiewicz-lite Yu. McNiven’s line work is verrry loose. Even though I don’t care for his art I can see why people like him. The comic really looks rushed and poorly done. There were only two pages that looked like “good” McNiven. I’ll be interested to hear what you think after you see it Phil.

          J.

      • Mike F says:

        Well for the record Pobro, this is all Jose’s opinion so IF You like the artwork don’t feel embarrassed. Since the artwork looked perfectly fine to me. BUT that’s my opinion as well. I guess at the end of the day its impossible for anyone really to win. Really its all opinions. If you like it, then you like it. Doesn’t make you/me/us less or more of anything.

        • Exactly Mike. Well said.

          J.

          • Pobra says:

            Yeah, I’ve seen the previews, and while it doesn’t look like the best art of his career, I still thought it looked pretty good. Actually I prefer McNiven’s art over Yu’s as well. Not that I don’t like Yu, I just find his faces kinda weird and sometimes lifeless looking.
            But I’m definitely not a huge Millar fan at the moment, so I’ll give this one issue to wow me, which it probably won’t anyway.

  2. Stamps says:

    Yeah it’s a slow week for me too, I’m picking up:

    Batman Streets of Gotham #10
    Green Lantern #52 (Blackest Night)
    Deadpool #21
    Haunt #6

    and maybe Superman Batman #70 and/or Nemesis #1 if the mood strikes me.

  3. generaldark says:

    green lantern
    power girl
    thunderbolts
    hmmm……other stuff

  4. Bboyce109 says:

    Green Lantern #52 (Blackest Night)
    Superman #698
    Mighty Avengers #35 (Siege)
    Uncanny X-Men #522

    Its a very slow week, im only buying Mighty Avengers because of Ultron vs. father(Hank Pym) and because its ending soon

  5. Mike F says:

    I’m without a doubt gonna check out Nemesis. Millar has only fucked himself with his most recent comics, but there’s always hope. At least a check, hell no will I buy. Even if I hate it, I can at least mock it, But I love the artwork – that’s for sure. At least the artwork looks kinda cool.

    also secret warriors.

    • Deemar says:

      Good luck with that, I’ma wait for the movie Heh!

      • Mike F says:

        Hah. I know what I might be getting myself into. But I have a rule for writers that have written certain work. Sadly Millar is on that list. So I have to give him a chance if it fails, then it’ll make a great fly swatter. BUt I only give one chance. Even if 2 3 and 4 redeem themselves. its not worth it.

  6. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #626
    Deadpool #21
    Green Lantern #52
    Haunt #6
    Mighty Avengers #35
    Nemesis #1
    Thunderbolts #142

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I tried Haunt with the first 2 issues, but it just wasnt doing it for me. Has it got any better?

      • megamanx4ever says:

        yeah the series is really good in my opinion the story picks up the pace after issue 2 and ryan ottley’s art really kicked ass in issues 3-5 and I think greg capullo was pretty damn good doing the art for issue 6.

  7. MicahSkin says:

    X-factor
    Power Girl (LOVE that cover)

  8. Jeremy says:

    Green Lantern 52

  9. tomstewdevine says:

    I have an ok week:
    Captian America
    Deadpool-(my guily pleasure)
    The Marvel Project
    Uncanny X-men
    Green Lantern
    Hellblazer
    and last but not least, SCALPED, which I’m really looking forward to.
    (Maybe Nemesis)

  10. kurumais says:

    the power girl cover reminds me we had the brooklyn irish american day parade this past sunday really nice day around 70 degree i saw at least 3 green lantern shirts in the crowd i got a kick out it

  11. Deemar says:

    Green Lantern #52 (Blackest Night)
    Justice League the Rise of Arsenal #1
    Scalped #36
    Amazing Spider-Man #626
    Avengers The Initiative #34 (Siege)
    Marvels Project #7
    Mighty Avengers #35 (Siege)
    New Avengers #63 (Siege)
    Secret Warriors #14
    Thor #608 (Siege)
    Locke & Key Crown of Shadows #4
    Supergod #3

    Heavy week

    • Pobra says:

      You’re still reading New Avengers Deemar? Has it been any good lately?
      I’m sure the art is fantastic at least. I wish Immonen was on something else 😦

  12. Deemar says:

    Love that Amanda Conner art

  13. kurumais says:

    cap
    jla rise of arsenal
    tbolts
    streets of gotham

  14. Ullar says:

    Batman Streets of Gotham #10
    Green Lantern #52 (Blackest Night)
    Justice League the Rise of Arsenal #1
    Amazing Spider-Man #626
    Captain America #604
    Mighty Avengers #35 (Siege)
    Peter Parker #1
    Secret Warriors #14
    Thunderbolts #142 (Siege)

  15. phil says:

    G.L. and see if 1st wave has been held for me yet.

  16. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Captain America #604 (Back to pre-reborn quality, Brubraker)
    Thor #608(Gillen)
    Green Lantern #52
    Nemesis #1……I dont know why but Im interested in this one, me and my shop owner are really hoping that this is a quality book

    • Morlock50 says:

      First printings of Millar’s book tend to become collectors items. Not that that’s a reason to buy a book you don’t like, of course.

  17. Chris says:

    Scalped #36

  18. Ironmuskrat says:

    After a great bunch of comics last week, I see almost nothing that interests me this week =(

    I guess Thunderbolts #142 because of Jeff Parker and me wanting to see what is going to happen to my new favorite villain,the lovable, adorably goofy, Ghost.

    And then….

    The Guild #1 looks interesting, being a old school RPG gamer, I will take a look at this one.

    I was ready to get into Power Girl(gigity!)but with the creative team leaving I’m not so sure I want to make the jump now.

    Deadpool maybe.

    Nemesis #1 will give me a good reason to get drunk and angry =)

    Well, I am open to suggestions =)

    IM

  19. arp*10 says:

    To me, Deadpool is exponentially more annoying than humerous. But, that’s just me!

  20. squidracerX says:

    I’m getting whatever you put in my comic box. ZING!
    No but seriously i am glad I signed up for Powergirl. She was a little weak in JSA, (always hard balancing a Kryptonian level power on a team book). But i signed up for issue #1 and have loved every issue since. I just hope my grandma never sees me reading it. (She’d think it was smut i bet.)

  21. Morlock50 says:

    Very light week for me. I might check out Nemesis, but I’m not buying if there are any babies being thrown out windows or “political torture” scenes. I also might look for some back issues of Perez era Wonder Woman or Byrne Superman. Classic late 80’s shit.

  22. cballsack says:

    I’ll be honest. When I saw the pic up above, I checked for cameltoe.

  23. mbell028 says:

    What’s up guys this week I’ll be getting:
    Green Lantern 52
    Secret Warriors 14
    The Fact that I’m only getting 2 books this week may steer me to pick up Nemisis since it is only 2.99. Although I’m sure I’ll be with you guys in not liking it, but hey who knows.

  24. Yikes it’s a busy week for me! Oh well…

    -Green Lantern#52
    -Deadpool#21
    -Uncanny X-Men#522 (I usually don’t buy this title, but Kitty Pryde is coming back and she is my fav female comic book character)
    -Nemesis#1 (Mainly because I want to review this on the blog and to give Millar one last chance)

    • by the blog I mean my own blog

    • Morlock50 says:

      Yeah, Kitty’s my favorite too, next to Storm and Wonder Woman. I thought about picking up UXM for that reason, but I dropped X-men a long time ago, and can’t see myself getting back into them now, and adding another title to the pull list. At some point, ya gotta say stop.

  25. Ken-sama says:

    Getting a few titles

    Deadpool #21
    Green Lantern #52
    Power Girl #10
    Uncanny X-Men #522

  26. Matthew Guy says:

    BATMAN STREETS OF GOTHAM #10
    GREEN LANTERN #52 (BLACKEST NIGHT)
    POWER GIRL #10
    SUPERMAN #698
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #626
    X-FACTOR #203

    Matthew

Leave a Reply

