CCW*TV: The Podcast!

Posted: March 25, 2010 in CCW Review, CCW TV, Marvel
Tags: , , , ,

Hey folks, Elliott here. For quite some time now, there have been those who’ve asked why we don’t record a CCW podcast. Well, as the saying goes “necessity is the mother of invention” and due to a snafu with the video camera, I present to you the FIRST CCW podcast. Essentially this is the audio from the segments Jose and I recorded on Sunday, which I’m posting because the vid turned out to be useless. (I won’t bore you with the techie details.)

I’m going to post the audio for the next 3 segments here on the blog, so you can now listen to Jose and me talk about stuff and even download it for your MP3 players! Unfortunately we haven’t figured out how to embed things properly on WordPress yet so for now I will post a link that will take you to the podcast down below.

In this segment we talk about Avengers/Atlas #3, Doomwar #2 and Siege #3!

Enjoy!

CCW*TV Episode One: The Phantom Podcast

Comments
  1. phil says:

    Cool 1st podcast, y’all. Now I guess I’m going to have to wait for Doomwar to finish before I go to trades only. Doomwar 1 I thought was as solid as anything I’ve ever seen dealing with T’challa. As a matter of fact (I may have mentioned this before) but this is the best that I’ve seen this character written since Jungle Action.
    With your review of issue 2 of this comic, the weekend can’t come quick enough

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    Technical difficulties? Does that mean Elliott’s attempt to create the Twilight sparkly vampire effect for you guys failed? =D

    Great podcast, listening to you guys talk without the visuals was a different experience for sure. YouTube has been pissing me off lately, so being able to enjoy an episode of the show on a different venue was a nice change of pace.

    I completely agree about Avengers vs. Atlas, what a nice change of pace to read a fun, action filled story without all of the need for death, dismemberment and “adult” themes. Just a cool little comic from Jeff Parker, filled with great humor, characters moments and even a little mystery thrown in. Gabriel Hardman does a great job on the pencils, doing nice work of capturing the retro look for the Avengers from the past and the Atlas team. The only negative comment I would have with this book is the cover art, it was Doomwars bad, It would not have surprised me if people had passed on this comic due to the cover.

    One minor nitpick with the book, there is a scene early on where Namora hits the Hulk with Captain America’s shield, stopping the Hulk from choking the shit out of Giant-Man. However, in the panels just before that Cap clearly still has a hold on his shield. So it’s not clear just when Namora got a hold of Cap’s shield. Nothing major, just something I found a little odd.

    I am looking forward to the next book in the mini, and what more does Jeff Parker have to do to get a shot at writing an Avengers book? It should be clear by now that Parker has more than proved himself capable of handling anything Avengers related. Hopefully once Bendis is finally done with the Avengers, Marvel will give Parker the chance he deserves.

    Doomwars #2- I liked it, but I wish I really had read the first issue before charging into this one. I knew generally what was happening, but I felt I was missing a lot of the background information I needed to really enjoy what was happen here. It was nice to see a more subdued, cautious Wolverine for a change, I mean the guy is like over a hundred years old, it nice to see him actually use that experience for a change, instead of just leaping like a crazy.. hummm… Wolverine into battle all the time.

    The cliffhanger at the end of the book was a big WTF? For me. It really didn’t make any sense to me, why would Doom go through all of the trouble doing what he was doing just to give a big “Ha, ha! I win!” and leave. Of course this is only the second issue, so I am sure there will be a lot more to come and we will find out what Doom is really up to, but the ending was jarring and left me a bit confused.

    But a great podcast guys, hopefully in the future you can start offering these Podcasts in addition to your YouTube stuff, I kind of like them.

    IM

  3. generaldark says:

    i love the venus back up. i loled with the deadpool bit. over all i love the a.v.a mini. its like the seige for people who want a good story 😄 love the podcast btw 🙂

  4. Mike F says:

    Oh this is cool. Pod Cast seems more convenient than watching ya guys just sit there for 20 mins. (LOL) not to be hating I’m just saying, I only watch them videos for your words, not Elliot’s always charming looks 😉

    Altho its cool to see all the older rare comics in the background.

    Good review too. When you say early Stan Lee hulk? do you mean the Gray one?

  5. Chris says:

    Awesome. I was wondering what you would have made of Seige 3! Has anyone seen the Scott Pilgrim trailer yet?

  6. Mike F says:

    I totally agree with Jose too. Wolverine is finally likable to me and not just over-the-top, not-gonna-die monster.. Doom was written good too. But, 1 had a better feeling than 2 to me. I think 2 ended in a strangely sloppy way. But it was good, just felt like that last page had some rushing in it.

  7. arp*10 says:

    What happened to reviewing Siege?

  8. Pobra says:

    Nice Siege review! LOL

  9. Deemar says:

    Atlas is a done deal I’m buying and the Venus feature pure genius

    I say keep the podcast

    Do it..Do it

  10. generaldark says:

    i built this suit…

  11. cballsack says:

    So is the podcast exactly the same as the Youtube videos?

    • Well, this podcast was supposed to be our next round of segments. The video we taped turned out to be useless because of something screwy with the camera but the audio was fine. That’s why this series of segments will only be in podcast form only. It’s all new stuff btw.

      J.

    • Pobra says:

      @cballsack

      Your name always reminds me of this. These guys do the morning show for the local alternative station. Skip to 1:00

      • cballsack says:

        It’s actually a play on my last name, which sounds a little like ballsack. I was called ballsack all throughout high school. I decided to own the name rather than let it cripple me.

  12. Luiz de Mello says:

    First, let me congratulate you guys, it is hard to say it was something made out of necessity/improvise, it was indeed very well done. 🙂

    About Doomwar, man this is indeed an awesome book. And I totally agree about Wolverine, i always ‘hated’ the character, but as Elliot said he is not there just to make ‘cool’ poses and look surrealistic, even for a CB, ‘bad ass’, he has a purpose. To me his and nightcrawler’s best moment was the panel where they look to each other without speaking (after Shuri goes ‘I finally found myself’. That said a hell lot more than many books with dozens of talking heads we sometimes see.

    Doom to T’Challa was awesome, he says something like “You have five seconds. Five…” he doesn’t stop to give a crap talk before counting, he does feel like he meant every word and that Storm was goner for sure. That single page between the ‘Five’ and ‘Four’ was very well placed. It briefly removed you from the previous flow of tense action with a speech of a victory (even if a pricey one it is a less tense moment), but then it goes back to the non stopping countdown already on four and you are tossed back in all that tension with your guard softened.

    Atop of that the visuals/art in that scene are perfect! Each panel is important, each of them adds tension (and a bit of subjective information) when it alternates between T’Challa’s face and Doom’s hand behind Storm’s head, while the zoom effect (they both look closer the second time they are shown) reinforces T’Challa’s facial expression (and all that you can infer from it) in face of the situation, and the situation itself when showing Doom’s glowing palm so close to Storm’s head what reinforces the idea of her death being near in both time and space, and becoming closer and closer each second (as the zoom).

    Even the placement of panels/use of that page’s space is perfect. The first panel is bigger because you need to be reinserted into the tension, so it does that by being visually more impacting/attention grabbing, while also showing all the relevant parts of the scene. The last panel (which should be the ‘zero’ on the countdown, but they say nothing) is that one where ‘time stops’, hearts stop beating, and the world stops turning. So it is bigger to take more time to visually scan the whole scene and as the last on page it benefits from the reader’s natural pause on the reading flow (where he/she is more inclined to spend more time scanning scanning the panel in detail). All of that makes it very natural to give that moment the pause it needed and to pass the message. And as a great visual art it needs few words, when it needs any, to pass that message. Holy moley, I could spend hours praising this book, it is so full of awesomeness!!!

    By the way, I am kinda convinced that the last scene wasn’t just Doom mocking T’Challa, I think that little game was just how he opened the last lock (or made T’Challa/Storm do it). Sounds magical, as in requiring a ritual and/or price to pay to unlock. But it is speculation, I will wait JM incredible work to speak for itself on the next numbers 😉

  13. Luiz de Mello says:

    Upon retrospect, turning down that ‘How to be Brief in 10 steps’ course was a very bad decision.

  14. Venom829 says:

    Will you guys be recording visually or with audio next week?

Leave a Reply

