CCW*TV The Podcast, Episode Two: Attack of the Podcast!

Posted: March 26, 2010 in CCW Review, CCW TV
Tags: , , , , ,


Hey folks, Elliott here with the second installment of the inaugural CCW*TV audio podcast!  In this segment, Jose and I discuss Joe the Barbarian #3 and American Vampire #1.  Just click on the following link to listen to the podcast on Archive.org or even download it to listen to on your MP3 player!

http://www.archive.org/details/CcwtvEpisodeTwoAttackOfThePodcast

Comments
  1. arp*10 says:

    Finally, more segments! 🙂

  2. Mike F says:

    Sweet Tooth is alright. I always feel its sad that there’s several great titles under Vertigo but a lot of them don’t get the attention while they are being written. It usually takes until the trades come out. Strange trend I came about.

  3. Mike F says:

    I’m also having a hard time reading Joe the Barbarian. I’m actually very sensetive to grant’s previous Vertigo books. We3 really got to me and I loved it but in the end its a hard subject to take in. I just feel like Joe is gonna leave me feeling too crestfallen.

  4. Venom829 says:

    What exactly is youtube’s new comment feature, I didn’t quite understand what you meant by that J.? Thank-You 😛

  5. generaldark says:

    elliot i think you should post a video on youtube telling people about this podcast, i dont think everybody goes on here.

  6. AvS says:

    It’s quiet around here… too quiet.

    • Well, it’s Friday night. People with better things to do are out doing them. Me? I’m just watching the “The Road” while drinking beers. I also have another Open Thread I will be posting at midnight (central time) tonight. Hopefully by then everyone will be back from having fun.

      J.

      • AvS says:

        Fun on a Friday night? Whipper snappers! I’m trying to catch up on some work and I do believe that open thread will be a good distraction. Good episode btw.

        • Venom829 says:

          This Friday night has consisted of me doing nothing but being on Youtube, the CCW blog, and my Facebook page. Good times!

      • tomstewdevine says:

        How is “the road”. I like Viggo Mortensen but haven’t seen it yet.

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          I myself liked the movie, but it isn’t a very happy movie. I find it funny that the studio behind it tried to target Evangelicals with the movie when they weren’t sure the mainstream moviegoing audience would want to see it.

  7. Loved the beginning were Elliott says he’s Jose! 🙂 I’m enjoying the pod cast so far. Is this going to be something you guys will be doing every now and then?

  8. I was pretty impressed by American Vampire. I’m with Elliott in that I think I liked the first story (by Snyder) more than the King half. And I’m a big King fan, having read everything he’s written, so it was really nice to see him actually write an original story for comics, as opposed to having others take up where novels have left off. One note: Albuquerque himself was responsible for the slightly different art styles between the two stories, using more ink washes and bare pencils in the Old West segment to give it that rustic feel. It sounded like you were attributing that to the colorist Dave McCaig.

  9. Luiz de Mello says:

    After rehearing, I have to agree disagreeing (or would be the other way around oO) with Elliott about vampires. If we go back to things like Vampire: The Masquerade (the rpg), Anne Rice books and even Bram Stoker’s Dracula, we do have Vampires strongly attached to allegories for sexuality and the bad side of being a Vampire. On those works it all is very mental, very personal, really inside the character’s mind (this time it is the short version).

    BUT, on some contemporary works, like some E. cited, especially those for visual media like TV/Theater, I agree that the bad side does not really sell, because when it is shown it is shown from the outside, it does not invite the audience to put on the character’s shoes and feel as he/she does. The personal tragedy is lost. And the sexuality is hardly of the vampire, but of the pretty girl/perv guy that has fantasies with the different, or with that person she/he is really interested, and it just happens that the person is technically dead. To me those works are not about vampires. They’re romances (usually also romantic) where vampirism works as the theme or one more element, but they’re not about it, as a romance set in WW II may just use it to intensify aspects of the story, instead of being about the war per se.

Leave a Reply

