Here Are the Real Guardians of the Globe

Posted: March 26, 2010 in Image, Teaser
Tags: ,

I really like the look of this team so far though the only ones I recognize are Brit and Bulletproof. Love the idea of a female speedster being named after an awesome 80’s SEGA arcade game. Yeti sounds a bit plain but Kirkman makes up for it with the outrageous name of Kaboomerang. This looks like it will be a very fun comic and I do believe the industry needs those now more than ever.

Also, those character quotes are far better than any of the ones Marvel had on their Avengers teasers. Just my opinion though

J.

Comments
  1. phil says:

    Its not bad enough that Kirkman stole my thunder on riffing on the Avengers with his GOTG deal, but he’s gonna make me push back my trades only commitment

    Well its certainly no Guardians.., even the fake ones, but here’s my 1st teaser for the Red Herring Avengers.

  2. Ironmuskrat says:

    I just got my first Invincible trade a couple of weeks back and it had a cool story in the back about how Invincible was originally suppose to be called Bulletproof, but they decided the name would conflict with another Image book out then, Bulletproof Monk..

    I did not know that Kirkman had decided to include this early version of Invincible as a separate character in his Invincible comic. it’s cool to see him though, I guess I will find out more about him in later trades.

    Kaboomerang.. Kaboomerang..

    All I can say is his Boomerangs better go ‘Kaboom!’…

    =)

    IM

  3. Deemar says:

    So hyped for the book even if it’s only a mini.

    KaaBoomerang! Jesus how cool a name is that?

  4. Speaking of Kirkman, hasn’t it been a while since the last issue of Invincible?

    • Ya, it’s almost been two months since the last issue. Starting to get a bit ridiculous. I think that the Invincible Returns one- shot is supposed to be the next thing to come out. Maybe that is what’s holding up the monthly.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        It might have to do with Image United being late. Well, at least it was ontime for 2 issues in a row. That’s got to be a record for a book with Rob Liefeld on the art team.

      • littlekingryan* says:

        Looks like Invincible #71 is set to come out April 7. Didn’t see anything about Invincible Returns, though…

  5. generaldark says:

    god elliot ur reaaallly slow with posting that podcast #2 >_<

  6. SMARTASS8 says:

    I LOVE this quote from Kirkman when asked at Newsarama about his little jab at Marvel’s Avengers promotion…

    I was kind of hoping to call down the wrath of [Marvel Executive Editor] Tom Brevoort because he’s been so trash-talky lately with DC

    …Even a guy who has never worked for DC at all realizes that Marvel(and Brevoort specifically) have been acting like unprofessional jerks.

  7. Rob F says:

    My one critique and it might not even really be one is that Kaboomerang and Bulletproof look too similar. Does anyone else see it?

    • Ya, the color scheme for their costumes are very very similar. I believe in the Invincible comic though Bulletproof’s costume colors are a bit brighter. Bright orange and yellow. Could be fixed with a little recoloring.

      J.

  8. megamanx4ever says:

    I am so going to get this book now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

