Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: March 29, 2010 in DC Comics, Image, Marvel, Udon Studios

Typically when there are 5 Wednesdays in a month the last last week is usually quite lacking. Looks like that’s how things worked out this month as well. Some good news though for those of you who couldn’t find Doomwar #1 at your local comic shop. The second printing ships this week so hopefully you can find a copy and catch up on what I think is easily the most surprisingly good Marvel book so far this year. Also, the final part of Blackest Night ships on Wednesday and I for one am kinda glad this event is coming to an end. It was coming very close to overstaying it’s welcome. Let’s see if DC can end the mini series on a high note. Anyway, here’s what I’ll be picking up:

Blackest Night #8
Detective Comics #863
Fantastic For #577 (Jonathan Hickman)
Silent Mobius Complete Edition Vol 3
The Sword #23
Wonder Woman #42

So, what will you be buying this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Morlock50 says:

    Wonder Woman #42
    Justice League of America #43 (After all the criticism I’ve given Robinson, you’d think I’d have the sense to drop this book already, but nooooooooo!)

    I thought Superman (secret origin) #5 was supposed to come out this week. Whahappened?

    • littlekingryan* says:

      Aggh! No Superman Secret Origin? I love me some Gary Frank and Geoff Johns!

    • Dude, why are you still buying JLA? Do need need to have an intervention?

      J.

      • generaldark says:

        i especially dropped it when they raised it to 3.99, i know it may have more pages but still its just more shit.

      • Morlock50 says:

        He he. Yeah, this is the book I buy regardless of who is on it or how terrible it is. An intervention sounds good though. I can be sent away to some resort in Miami where I only have access to good comics. I’d sign up for that 🙂 (Wife may have something to say about that, methinks)

  2. generaldark says:

    getting first volume of invisbles n im getting BN #8, detective comics.

  3. mbell028 says:

    Hey What’s up guys? This week I’ll be getting:
    Blackest Night 8
    Detective Comics 863
    Unknown Soldier 18

    Just finished the first trade of Unknown soldier that book is fantastic highly recommended for those of you who haven’t checked it out.

  4. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #627
    Blackest Night #8
    Dark Wolverine #84
    Punisher #15

  5. cballsack says:

    Got some nice nipplage on that cover.

  6. tomstewdevine says:

    Alright I’m pretty excited for this week with blackest night, but this is what I’m getting.
    Blackest Night
    Detective Comics
    Jack of Fables
    Fantastic Four
    Rasl

    Now I have always liked Cloak and Dagger so I will flip through it and make my decision at the comic shop.

  7. Matthew Guy says:

    ADVENTURE COMICS #9
    BLACKEST NIGHT #8 (OF 8)
    DETECTIVE COMICS #863
    JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA #43
    WONDER WOMAN #42
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #627
    FANTASTIC FOUR #577
    SHE-HULK SENSATIONAL #1
    X-MEN FOREVER #20
    X-MEN SECOND COMING #1

    Matthew

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Do you like this JLA run or are you picking this up out of habit, because ideally I really like JLA but with this run I can barely get through a whole issure. Just wondering, not criticizing.

  8. Ironmuskrat says:

    I nice week of no brainers for me, just the way I like it =)

    Blackest Night #8 – Finally, Blackest Night has been great, but the event seems like it’ been going on for a year now, and I haven’t even been back into collecting comics for a year yet. I have a bad feeling the ending to this event is going to disappoint me greatly.

    Detective Comics #863 – Looks like they are easing Batman back into the book and getting ready to send Batwoman off to her owe comic. I Still like what going on here, but I don’t know if I will stay with Detective after Rucka leaves the title(he is leaving right?).

    Doomwar #1 – Not waiting for the trade on this one, got to pick up the first issue so I can make a little more sense of what happened in second book(Huh?).

    Fantastic Four #577 – Hickman is taking his time here, building up to something that is starting to feel like an epic run here on FF. I can’t wait to see what he has planned for the future.

    As always I will check out what everyone else is getting and perhaps pick up another book or two.

    Oh yeah, when the hell does Jackpot #3 come out, I want me some Jackpot dammit!

    IM

    • phil says:

      I wish I had read your post before putting mine up I.M., I’m glad that I’m not alone in my resevation for the finale of this series. I don’t know about you, but if Johns goes anywhere near the territory I think he’s going, he will….in my eyes go from being one of DC’s best writers to becoming DC’s version of (OneMoreDay) oh the horror. And in one series no less. Lets keep our fingers crossed! :-0

      • Ironmuskrat says:

        Yeah Phil, after the last issue of Blackest Night I was shaking my head. It looks like Johns is still going for WTF moments to get the comic fan all worked up rather than writing something that will satisfy readers in the long term.

        IM

  9. phil says:

    BlackestNight #8 but with trepidation

  10. saar18 says:

    Blackest Night #8
    Fantastic Four #577
    X-Men: Second Coming- I’m buying this issue and all of the “Second Coming” tie-ins just for Adi Granov’s covers.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Ya I want to buy Second Coming, but I already pick up 3 X-Men books and I’m pissed they can’t put the story in one of the books that are already coming out, but if everyone says it’s great I will go back and get it I suppose.

  11. Dan Griffin says:

    DC Comics
    Blackest Night #8
    Detective Comics #863
    Wonder Woman #42

    Marvel
    Amazing Spider-Man #627 (Stern)
    Fantastic Four #577 (Hickman)
    New Mutants #11 (Gillen and Henrichon)
    She-Hulk Sensational #1 (PAD, and Artist doing his story.)

    Next Week, i can’t wait for SHIELD #1, that title is going to kick ass before Marvel gets rid of it.

  12. Chris says:

    Detective Comics #863 – This is the last Batwoman issue right? I heard that they’ve scrapped the idea of giving her her own book. Can that really be true? Oh, the humanity!
    Sword #23

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Where did you hear this? That would really piss off, and if they did, what the hell has J.H. Williams III been doing?

      • Chris says:

        J.H. says in this video (IIRC) after being asked “So, you’re moving on to Batwoman now” “I don’t know, I’m not sure if thats going to happen… We’re not sure what the next step is”

        Sorry for the late reply.

    • I haven’t heard about this either Chris. I was under the impression Williams has been working on that series all this time. Do you have a source you can link us to?

      J.

      • generaldark says:

        i know batwoman is supossed to come back to detective after about….3 issues of batman being in detective after this arc.

  13. Bboyce109 says:

    DC
    Blackest Night #8
    Justice League of America #43
    Justice Society of America #37

    Marvel
    X-Men Second Coming #1

  14. kurumais says:

    Detective
    Jsa
    Theweb

  15. Ullar says:

    Blackest Night #8
    Detective Comics #863
    Amazing Spider-Man #627
    Fantastic Four #577
    Kevin Smith’s Green Hornet #2

  16. Mike F says:

    Ok. The fact that you listed Silent Mobius Complete Edition Vol 3 really just made me so happy.
    A lot of my friends don’t like it and it always bothers me because I know its good. I love it, I love the character designs (ALMOST as epic as BGC)

    And of course I gotta get me some Detective Comics and Fantastic Four.

    I’m sure BN will be cool but I’m no longer a Geoff Johns Fanboy. After he re-wrote the flash’s history I made a vow to never support him again.

    • I met Kia Asamiya about 10 years ago. He signed a bunch of my manga (mostly Batman, Compiler and some Mobius) and he even drew me an 8 x 10 sketch. I’ll have to post it on the blog sometime. Maybe later this week.

      J.

      • Mike F says:

        Not only are you a comic culture warrior, but you are my hero as well Jose.

        The only autographs I have are of Steve Blum, Tony Oliver, and the great Kamina, Kyle Hebert. But I’d take a Kia Asamiya over them any day 😉

  17. Stamps says:

    Light week for me:

    Blackest Night #8
    Detective Comics #863
    Gotham City Sirens #10

  18. Mike F says:

    I would buy the She-Hulk special but for $5? I really don’t feel like throwing that much into it. It might not even be all that good. But I’ll certainly check it out.

  19. Variant Girl says:

    Hey dudes and dudettes, my pull list

    Detective Comics 863
    BN 8
    Green Hornet #2
    WW #42

    PEACE

  20. This is my favorite kind of week! One with very few stuff coming out! 🙂

    Blackest Night#8
    Fantastic Four#577

  21. Edward2962 says:

    I’m trying to give JLA a chance even though it feels like “League of Substitute Justice” or something.I’m kinda disappointed with the art.They can’t finds one inker for Bagley?He’s not known for being consistently late so I wonder what gives… On the bright side,Mon hasn’t ripped anyone in half…yet.

    • heckimlistening says:

      I can help.

      Send me the 4 bucks you spend on JLA a month. Mine as well not throw your hard earned dollars in the trash (:

  22. heckimlistening says:

    Wonder Woman #42

Leave a Reply

