Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: April 6, 2010 in Dark Horse, DC Comics, Image, Marvel

Looks like another lack luster week for me as far as comics go. It’s nice to see that Invincible finally decided to ship though. It’s almost been 3 months since the last issue and I was getting kinda worried. Here’s what else I’ll be picking up tomorrow:

Batman and Robin #11
Buffy The Vampire Slayer #34
Doom Patrol #9
Invincible Returns #1
Shield #1 (Jonathan Hickman)
Superman Secret Origin #5 (Why am I still buying this?)

Books I am on the fence about are Turf #1, Codebreakers #1, Avengers Origins #1 and Spider-Man: Fever #1.

So, what are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Batman and Robin #11 and Sweet Tooth #8.

    Shield #1 sounds like it could be fun. I love Hickman’s creator owned work. But so far I haven’t really been able to stay interested in his Marvel work. I think I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt once again and pick it up though!

  2. littlekingryan* says:

    I’m still buying Superman Secret Origin for the lovely Gary Frank artwork.

  3. megamanx4ever says:

    AVP Three World War #3
    Invincible Returns #1

    Damn this is the first week I didnt buy a single Marvel comic.

  4. kurumais says:

    batman and robin
    cap and black panther

  5. tomstewdevine says:

    Batman and robin
    Red Robin
    Sweet Tooth
    Uncanney X-men
    Boys

    On the fence is Marvel Zombies, Luke Cage, and SHIELD.

  6. generaldark says:

    Batman and robin

  7. Mike F says:

    April is a really slow month for me. This week I’m just getting Batman & Robin. Either way Series is picking up for me 🙂

  8. Shield#1
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer#34

    Sounds like a promising week. btw who is writing and drawing Invincible Returns? I may check that out depending on who the creative team is.

  9. Stamps says:

    Batman and Robin #11
    Red Robin #11
    Cinderella from Fabletown with Love #6
    Shield #1
    Codebreakers #1
    Turf #1

  10. Dan Griffin says:

    DC
    Batman and Robin #11
    The Flash: SFaO #1

    Marvel
    Ultimate Comics: X #2 (Art Adams)
    Shield #1
    Uncanny X-Men #523 (The SC one-shot got me interested.)

    Image
    Turf (1 of 4)

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Dan and Stamps, What’s making you get Turf? Is it going to be something good? I guess the guy who is writing this is famous in the U.K. but I have only seen him in that Steve Ditko documentary. I’m always looking for good stories, your going to have to tell us if it’s any good after you read it.

      • Stamps says:

        it’s kind of a 1920’s pseudo-futuristic story (think steam punk but a little later in time) with aliens and stuff. It seems like it’s worth giving a shot.

        Yeah I’ll let you know what I think.

      • Dan Griffin says:

        I’m getting it for the Tommy Lee Edwards Art, and the concept sounds good. 1930’s Gangsters vs Aliens vs Vampires.

  11. phil says:

    looks like I’m going to have some comics held at my l c s and with that in mind
    SHIELD and maybe the GREAT 10 one thrusix

  12. Morlock50 says:

    Superman Secret Origin #5 (What’s up Jose? No more love for this mini?)
    Batman and Robin #11- I hope the art is a little more dynamic in this issue than last.

    • It doesn’t come out on time, is four dollars and I am not enjoying the story. So I guess my love for it is gone. I did pick it up though. Figured that there is only one more issue left and I do like the Franks art.

      J.

  13. IronMuskrat says:

    I think I must have hit my head at work or something, but this may be an all Marvel week for me =/ No main stream comics, but Marvel is putting out a bunch of limited series this month that have peaked my interest.

    Electric Ant #1 – Marvel doing an adaption of a Philip K. Dick short story, whats up with that? I have always been a huge fan of his stories, and this is one that I have never gotten around to reading. I am looking forward to this one a lot.

    Shield #1 – Sounds like a great concept and Hickman writing can’t be a bad thing. i will check out the first issue and see how things shake out.

    Spider-Man: Fever #1 – It’s weird, but I have always enjoyed Spider-Man/Dr. Strange team ups. On paper, that combination of characters doesn’t look like they would work together, but as a team Spidey and the Doctor always entertain the hell out of me. This mini could be one of the strangest comics I have seen in awhile from Marvel.

    Thor and the Warriors Four #1 – Hummm, shouldn’t the kids from Power Pack be middle age by now? Of all of the mini’s coming out this week, this is the one I am most on the fence about. I like power pack and Thor.. but the Pet Avengers? I will leaf through this at the rack and see what I am in for on this book.

    Image Firsts Chew #1(not a Marvel book, I know) – I love me some Chew and this is the only issue I never got to read, so picking this one up for a dollar is a no brainer for me.

    I don’t want to totally diss other companies this week, but this may be the first week in a long, long time that I become a total Marvel Zombie.

    IM

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Thor and the Warriors Four is written by Alex from Comic Book Club and The Stack, so I was thinking of picking this up too. I didn’t put it on my list because I didn’t see that it was coming out, But I’m sure Alex will deliver a decent story, so I might as well.

  14. Matt Lane says:

    Sweet Tooth #8, Greek Street #10, Sparta USA #2, Batman and Robin #11, Invincible Returns #1, Star Wars Purge, Green Hornet Year One #2

  15. ullar says:

    I’m getting
    Batman and Robin #11
    Flash Secret Files and Origins 2010
    Jonah Hex #54
    Superman Secret Origin #5
    The Great Ten #6
    Sweet Tooth #8
    Shield #1

  16. AvS says:

    Batman and Robin #11
    Doom Patrol #9
    Flash Secret Files and Origins 2010
    Red Robin #11
    Superman Secret Origin #5
    Sweet Tooth #8
    Shield #1
    Invincible Returns #1

    But not getting them until they arrive at the end of the month. So technically I’m just getting jack and squat this week. Jack and Squat #136.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      That rough man, so do you get all your comics for the month shipped at the same time, then enter some sort of man-cave and read them all not coming out for anything but hot pockets?

      • AvS says:

        Take “man-cave” -> “man-apartment” and “hot pockets” -> “otter pops” and you’re spot on.

        Actually I never get around to reading all of them so I end up getting pretty far behind on most of my titles. I’m not saying I’m not looking both ways before I cross the street but let’s just say I’m crossing my fingers for a full body cast and a little time in traction.

  17. tomstewdevine says:

    Did you say otter pops

  18. tomstewdevine says:

    Yes I would imagine that to be true.

  19. heckimlistening says:

    Superman Last Stand of New Krypton #2

  20. Matthew Guy says:

    CINDERELLA FROM FABLETOWN WITH LOVE #6 (OF 6) (MR)
    RED ROBIN #11 (YUMM!!!)
    SUPERMAN LAST STAND OF NEW KRYPTON #2 (OF 3)
    SUPERMAN SECRET ORIGIN #5 (OF 6) BOTH COVERS
    UNCANNY X-MEN #523 XSC
    INVINCIBLE RETURNS #1
    RASL TP VOL 01 DRIFT (MR)

    Matthew

Leave a Reply

