King Makers yes…but Eisner Award winners?

Posted: April 8, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW TV
Tags: , , ,
mmmmmmm...asian food.

Don't forget to Chu your food!

Hey folks, Elliott here with some exciting news! The Eisner Award nominations were just released and word is that CCW*TV faves John Layman and Rob Guillory are UP FOR AN EISNER AWARD!!! Can you believe it?

I hope you join me in congratulating John and Rob for creating one of the best new series of the year and wishing them the best of luck!

WHOO HOO!

Comments
  1. Pobra says:

    They got nominated for best new series right? If so, they are up against some stiff competition (Sweet Tooth, The Unwritten, etc.). But that’s awesome, I could see Chew taking it.
    Also, sorry for my lack of posts lately, been SUPER busy with work and moving, but I still try and read the threads when I get some spare time. I’m wayy behind on the video segments though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I’ve wondered where your have been hiding. Sounds like you need to take a vacation and hang out here for a awhile.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        I’d love to come to Chicago and visit you guys, but you’d need to scrounge up some of that king maker, soon-to-be-movie-star, money and fly my ass out there! I’m what the French call, broke-as-shit. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. generaldark says:

    this will be good for johns ego XD

  3. Dan Griffin says:

    James Robinson is up for best Writer with Cry for Justice.

    Greg Rucka was nowhere to be found for his work on Detective Comics.

    Also, Old man Logan is up for best Story-line.

    • We were talking about that in he open thread earlier today.

      J.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Unbeliveable.

    • Morlock50 says:

      To me this is a sign that poplular culture is going down the tubes. It’s happening in movies, music, and now comics. This is what the masses want. This is why Avatar was nominated for best movie. The people have spoken, I guess.

      • tomstewdevine says:

        It seems like a very common subject in CCW world, but once again people are being rewarded for being mediocre. Anyone who takes a chance is shut out by not enough people buying your stuff. I just hope one day people will open their eyes and we can be gone with all this mindless shit like OML, Dancing with the Stars, American Idol, and sugar coated Transformer and G.I.Joe movies.

    • Deemar says:

      Yeah he doesn’t deserve an eisner

    • TheMSpot says:

      Jesus titty fucking christ! Really, Cry for Justice you have to be joking.

    • phil says:

      OML? OMG! I’m not alone Elizabeth, can you hear me? I’ll be comin’ to join you honey, with a bottle of Ripple in one hand and a hardcover of OMG in the other! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Smallmaniac says:

    I was reading the nominees and became a little disoriented when I saw OML. I hope Mark Millar is happy. I wonder if OML is going to be made into a movie? Who needs quality comic books? Really, there is no need when you can have the easily digested fast food that Marvel churns out like cheesburgers for mass consumption. Binge and purge, binge and purge.

  5. AvS says:

    Congratulations to everyone working on Chew! A well deserved nomination.

  6. Mitiators says:

    Awesome! They deserve it.

  7. mbell028 says:

    I can’t believe James Robinson was nominated for Cry For Justice. Ign gave the final issue a 1/10. I can’t believe Batman and Robin didn’t get nominated for anything for either new and mini-series. I was hoping Rucka would’ve been nominated Detective COmics is fantastic I’m frustrated he’s off detective comics now I actually cancelled it I’m not interested in it without Rucka.

  8. IronMuskrat says:

    Congratulations to John Layman and Rob Guillory on their nomination. Chew has been in my top three books to read for some time now. I just picked up issue number #1 for a dollar this week, it was the only issue I never got a chance to read( I know I should buy the trade. now my collection is complete and I do plan to keep the books handy as I back to reread them from time to time.

    If you have never read Chew, now it you chance to pick up the first book for only a dollar this week. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

    Once again congrats to everyone involved with Chew, I just hope John Layman gives the proper credit due to the kingmakers(Elliott and Jose) for the success of Chew =)

    IM

  9. Mattcd42 says:

    Fiona Staples was nominated as well, which is exciting to see someone climb that high that quickly.

  10. Rob F says:

    I also think that the Eisners should change up their categories as some of them seem either repetitive or made to make the awards seem more highbrow…

  11. Mike F says:

    If there was a “change a series time line so drastically its fucking EMBARRASSING” section then Millar would win.

    I don’t feel Brubaker’s Captain is Eisner worthy (anymore) at least. But I’m happy he got best writer.

    And 20th century boys! 20th century boys! 20th century boys! I won’t stop going on how happy I am that 20th century boys got picked. Really. More people need to read it.

    And I never read Cry for Justice but I really don’t like Robinson (i checked out superman, and JLA) and neither were good enough to me…

  12. Mike F says:

    I never knew Bendis won the Eisner for “Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition” in 1999 for his work on Jinx and Torso and Goldfish…

  13. Deemar says:

    Hoooray CHEW

  14. Morlock50 says:

    Check out this quote folks:

    “To all who congratulated me for the Eisner nom, thank you. To all those vocally pissed that I got one, thank you too. The fact that you care enough about comics to have strong opinions at all is a good thing, ultimately. So bravo to all you Robinson haters, I love you all.”

    — writer James Robinson, on reactions to his Eisner Award nomination for Best Writer for Justice League

    Man, I love to stir the pot, don’t I?

  15. tomstewdevine says:

    Check this quote out folks:

    “Yes James Robinson you should thank me, thank me for putting up with your horrible shit for so long, I care enough about comics to want you never to write again. You have no idea how to write some of my favorite characters, Please quit and fuck you.”

    – comic fan TomStewDevine

  16. Rob F says:

    His Starman wasn’t bad…

    • Morlock50 says:

      The man can’t rest on his laurels. I really liked John Byrne’s artwork in the 80’s. But look at him now. He lost it.

      • Rob F says:

        But the venom being spewed in his direction seems a little out of proportion. Granted, I haven’t read any of Cry for Justice after I saw the preview but it seems like some people are taking his nomination like a personal insult.

  17. phil says:

    The Eisners, the Harveys, the Grammys, the Emmys, so on and so on… in the end are not all these award hullabalaloo deals essentially subjective? BS wins, quality stuff loses and the world keeps on spinning. No doubt someone that should have won and didn’t down the road will win for something that they shouldn’t but will win noetheless for being passed up before.
    Is it fair? No! Few things are.

    • Morlock50 says:

      But it wasn’t always like that. The Godfather movies won for best picture in the 70’s. I think the Oscars back then were a true reflection of the best of Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

