Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: April 12, 2010 in DC Comics, Image, Marvel, Vertigo

Oops! No real DC books for me this week. And, no, there is nothing sinister behind that fact. I am just not that interested in a Flash book not starring Wally West and don’t really feel like paying to read Brightest Day #0 in the hopes that there is some sort of resolution to Blackest Night in the issue (because I should have gotten that resolution in Blackest Night #8). I will be reading both of those issues though and hopefully have some reviews on them later this week for you guys. As for what I will be buying this week:

Black Widow #1 (Daniel Acuna)
Chew #10
Daredevil #506 (I am really digging this book)
Daytripper #5
Forgetless #4
Unwritten #12

For those of you that missed the beginning of the ever awesome Power Girl series the first trade will be coming out this week as will the third issue of Spider-Man Presents Jackpot (which I know will make Ironmuskrat very very happy).

So, what’s everyone else getting on Wednesday?

Comments
  1. Mike F says:

    Eh, for me its just Daredevil. I have been buying DD comics for years nonstop and I am rarely sad 🙂 (even bendis was decent then)

    I really have no interest in this bullshit Flash comic. I don’t hate Johns I am just not interested in his style.

    I am willing to give Brightest Day ONE chance. But twice a month? Ehh… Actually One shot seems more than generous.

  2. mbell028 says:

    What’s up guys?
    This week I’ll be getting:
    Chew 10
    Daredevil 506
    Daytripper 5
    Punishermax 6
    Secret Six 20
    I was curious in getting Brightest Day 0, but I’m not at all happy that it’s going to be bi-weekly I’ll just download it(sorry guys I know it’s frowned upon, but I’m on a budget). I’ll prob pick up Shield 1 I read it last week it was really good. I may add it to my pull list in place of secret warriors(unless the quality of the book goes up).

  3. littlekingryan* says:

    Read Pile:
    • Brightest Day #0
    • Flash #1
    • Secret Six #20
    • Black Widow #1
    • Ultimate Comics Enemy #3
    • Amazing Spider-Man Presents Jackpot #3
    • Daredevil #506
    • Irredeemable Special #1
    • Savage Dragon #159

    Buy Pile:
    • Secret Six #20
    • Daytripper #5
    • PunisherMax #6
    • X-Factor Forever #2
    • Chew #10

  4. generaldark says:

    ill be getting what ever jose isnt getting XD lol

    • So, I guess you’re not a fan of comics that are actually good? 😛

      J.

      • generaldark says:

        lol noooo, its just ill be getting brightest day and flash. so i geuss your not a fan of recycled stories? /:) lol no i like it because i dont know much about all comic superheroes and this is a good time for me to get to know these charecters.

  5. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    NEWS:

    Paul Cornell is taking over Action Comics w/ June’s #890 from the DC source blog.
    http://dcu.blog.dccomics.com/2010/04/12/paul-cornell-steps-in-as-new-action-comics-writer/

    ACTION COMICS #888
    ADVENTURE COMICS #10
    BATGIRL #9
    BATMAN #698
    BRIGHTEST DAY #0
    FABLES #94 (MR)
    FLASH #1
    POWER GIRL A NEW BEGINNING TPB
    WALKING DEAD #71 (MR)
    POWERS #4
    X-MEN FOREVER #21

    Matthew

  6. cballsack says:

    I’m really digging the art on that cover.

  7. megamanx4ever says:

    Brightest Day #0 (maybe)
    Deadpool Team-Up #894
    Savage Dragon #159

  8. Dre says:

    Hahaha Jose, I like how you always put in a few words to justify the Marvel titles you buy.

    For me this Wednesday, it’ll be DD 506. As good as the last issue was, it’s not what I was expecting nor what I wanted from this arc, but with such lengthy gaps bewtween in each issue for the time beuing eschewing from what may ultimately be a filler arc requires more will power than I can muster. The art can be pretty damn sexy at times, too, so that helps. Wednesday can’t come fast enough!

  9. heckimlistening says:

    Unwritten #12

  10. IronMuskrat says:

    Looks like a light week for me.

    Amazing Spider-Man Presents: Jackpot – Jose knows I have been waiting.. no… begging.. for this last issue of Jackpot to come along. Yes, I know Spider-Man fans hate her with a passion, but I wasn’t around for that whole debacle, so I am enjoying this mini solely based on what is happening within the mini series. Besides, you can never have too many hot redheads kicking ass in the Marvel U.

    Chew #10 – The end of the second story arc should be a good one and hopefully explain what the hell is going on(just a little, I hope). I have praised this book enough, so no more ass kissing for now John Layman!

    Daytripper #5 – The most that has given me the biggest emotional reaction so far since I came back to collecting. This is the book I have been waiting for, a story about Bras’ as a child. Will Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba do away with poor Bras even when he is a child? i don’t know. Will the story be great/ I am sure of it.

    Brightest Day #0 – I wish I could say no way to another Event, but I am leaning towards at least checking out this first book. I will take a look at it in the store, if it looks like it might be going somewhere I will get it, if it looks like more treading water like a lot of the later issues of Blackest Night, I will pass. Just getting burned out on ‘events’ at this point. I find myself going more to books that have nothing to do with all of the huge events out there.

    IM

  11. DidioForever says:

    I’m really looking forward to Flash#1 and beyond

    I don’t get the Barry Allen controversy, he’s no Uncle Ben, he was gonna come back eventually (Even if it was in Flash: Earth One or All Star Flash something)

    Blackest Night was a disappointment, and although it will have the Brightest Day banner I’m pretty confident that Geoff Johns isn’t going to be simply selling his other titles here; I’m basically really looking forward to a fun, colourful Flash run (*cough*) with a bit of CSI, a bit of sci-fi craziness, time travel, all the Rogues and Manupaul on art.

    I really couldn’t give two shits who was wearing the costume; Wally and Barry are basically the same character to me. In fact, if you’re a Flash fan and you aren’t even the ‘tiniest’ bit excited by this book then you’re just a big sour-puss!

  12. Stamps says:

    Big week for me
    :
    Batgirl #9
    Batman #698
    Brightest Day #0
    Flash #1
    Unwritten #12
    Iron Man Legacy #1
    Iron Man Noir #1
    Black Widow #1
    Ultimate Comics Enemy #3
    Chew #10
    Farscape Scorpius #0

  13. Chris says:

    DMZ #52 and Chew #10

  14. Constantanius says:

    Action #888
    Batgirl #9
    Batman #698
    Brightest Day #0
    Doc Savage #1
    Flash #1
    Green Arrow #32
    Black Widow #1
    Daredevil #506
    Iron Man Legacy #1
    Iron Man Noir #1

  15. Dan Griffin says:

    DC
    Brightest Day #0
    The Flash #1
    Batgirl #9
    Secret Six #20

    Dynamite
    Green Hornet: Year One #2

    Marvel
    Black Widow #1 (Daniel Acuna)
    Iron Man Legacy #1 (Fred Van Lante)
    Savage Axe of Ares #1 (My Love of Ares)
    Siege: Loki #one Shot (Gillen)
    X-Factor Forever (2 of 5) (an Amazing Mini so-far.)

  16. Iqy says:

    I’m getting just daredevil and chew, I’ve read the first issue of daytripper and unwritten but I prefer to read dc vertigo books in trade format.
    Jose I agre with you that daredevil is amazingly good recently. Also the art is just phenomenal.
    Also Ive never heard of forgetless, is it any good?

  17. Bboyce109 says:

    DC
    Batman #698
    Brightest Day #0
    Flash #1

    MARVEL
    Siege Captain America #1
    Siege Loki #1
    Siege Young Avengers #1

    Blackest Night was a great storyline for me even though it took 9 months to finish, I am going to read Brightest Day to see if more characters will be resurrected and to see the “12” in action.
    Never really read a Flash comic before so i might as well start with the Silver Age Flash Barry Allen.
    With Siege im just spending my money like an idiot hoping to see some kind of a good storyline with decent action.

  18. kurumais says:

    Cap siege number 1
    Powers 4
    Secret six
    Batgirl
    The shield

    Maybe
    black widow
    Savage ax of ares

  19. Fallows1985 says:

    I’ll be getting:

    Daredevil#506
    Batman#698
    The Flash#1
    Green Arrow#32

    I might pick up Brightest Day up but I can’t really be assed the only event I’m waiting for is Return of Bruce Wayne. I might pick Batgirl up I read last months and thought Steph Brown was kind of good.

  20. Smallmaniac says:

    BPRD is all for me 😦

  21. ...dj...sweet says:

    Looks like Daredevil 506 and Black Widow #1
    DD is on a thin string. I’m sick of Matt with the Hand already. If De la Torre doesn’t return to the book at 508 I think I’ll bounce from my favorite title/character. For all of those that don’t think covers are important, Pablo Riviara’s covers for this arc are easing my discomfort at supporting this title still.

    Black Widow, Need I say more that Marvels baddest female in a title with Daniel Acuna?

    Also picking up Turf #1 and Proof 25,26

    • Stamps says:

      Yeah I’ve been reading DD by borrowing it from friend at work and I told him just not to bother bringing it to me because I’m getting tired of book right now.

  22. Morlock50 says:

    Here’s a question. What are everyone’s favorite non-superhero books?

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Scalped.

    • littlekingryan* says:

      American Vampire, The Walking Dead, The Stand, The Gunslinger, RASL, The Sword (which I think technically qualifies as non-superhero), 100 Bullets, Criminal, Stumptown, and so many more, but that’s what came off the top of my head.

      • littlekingryan* says:

        Also Y: the Last Man and Ex Machina (which I consider a political thriller more than a superhero yarn). Sin City back when it out, Fun Home, Asterios Polyp, Maus, anything by R. Crumb and so many more reaching back years. Did you mean current series or all-time?

    • Deemar says:

      Fear Agent, cassanova, Nightly News

      and pretty much anything the Luna Bros. does

      • littlekingryan* says:

        I second that emotion, my friend. Ultra and Girls are both tip top.

        • Deemar says:

          Girls needs to bea movie ASAP

          It would be so easy to market that movie

          * Aliens

          * Nude Alien chicks

          * Gore

          * Nudity

          * Chicks

          * social commentary

          * Nude chicks

    • Edward2962 says:

      Old Love and Rockets,P. Bagge’s Hate,the early issues of Eightball.Can I say Bloom County?It’s a comic strip,but I read in book form,um no?For more modern comics, I finally started reading Bone.Criminal is great.

    • phil says:

      Bayou, Echo and from back in the day, Den from Heavy Metal

    • ullar says:

      Sweet Tooth, best book on the market (excluding anything by Morrison).

    • ...dj...sweet says:

      This poor guy is getting overwhelmed with answers. What I’m currently getting
      Hellblazer. I’m really enjoying Milligans run.
      SpartaUSA Lapham, Wildstorm. Worth checking out! Defiantly different and needs support.
      Ex Machina series ending. I recommend picking up trades.
      RASL. A great interesting comic.
      Criminal

  23. Ashaman_18 says:

    Decent sized week for me. I see that everybody is only giving Brightest Day one chance. I feel that way also. Hopefully Johns and Tomasi do something really creative with the title.

    Brightest Day #0
    Flash #1
    Secret Six #20
    Daytripper #5
    Unwritten #12
    Black Widow #1
    Daredevil #506
    PunisherMax #6
    Chew #10
    Forgetless #4

  24. tomstewdevine says:

    Batman, depending on creative team
    Brightest Day
    Daytripper
    Fables
    Unwritten
    Punisher Max
    BPRD
    God Complex

    And of course anything else that gets my attention at the LCS. I am always looking forward to Fables and Unwritten.

  25. ullar says:

    Brightest Day #0 (With FREE White Lantern Ring)
    Flash #1 (With FREE Flash Ring!)
    Green Arrow #32
    Amazing Spider-Man Presents Jackpot #3
    Siege Captain America #1
    Siege Young Avengers #1
    Web of Spider-Man #7

  26. Correction time:

    The White Lantern Ring does NOT ship this week with Brightest Day #0. It will ship with Brightest Day #1.

    J.

  27. Deemar says:

    Brightest Day #0
    Big week burning a hole in my pocket

    Flash #1
    Secret Six #20
    The Shield #8
    Daytripper #5
    Black Widow #1
    Daredevil #506
    Iron Man Noir #1
    Lockjaw and Pet Avengers Unleashed #2
    Siege Young Avengers #1
    Atomic Robo Revenge of the Vampire Dimension #2
    Chew #10
    Cold Space #1
    Irredeemable Special #1
    Savage Dragon #159

  28. Pobra says:

    Man, some of you guys have wayyy too much money 😛

    Brightest Day #0
    Chew #10
    Daredevil #506 (’bout time)
    Flash #1 (I’ll give it one issue, never really been a big Flash fan)

  29. C.A.S says:

    “Debut” week for me….

    Brightest Day #0

    Flash #1

    Black Widow #1

    Savage Ax of Ares #1

  30. -Brightest Day#0

    -The Flash#1 (I’m just curious about this title. I liked Johns and Manapul’s Adventure Comics stuff so I’ll give this book a shot)

  31. TheMSpot says:

    Doesn’t Flash #1 one come with a flash ring.

    • If your comic shop is nice, then yes.

      J.

      • littlekingryan* says:

        Mine says that I have to buy five copies of Flash #1 as well as the entire Blackest Night series including all tie-ins to get a special form. Once I fill out the form, I will be entered into a drawing where they will choose fifteen lucky customers to get a voucher for the Flash Ring. If you turn your voucher in along with ten copies of each issue of Siege (sans covers) then you will be entered into a raffle. The surcharge for entering the raffle is only twenty dollars. The winner of the raffle receives a special variant cover for Deadpool Corps #1. You may then exchange the Deadpool comic (plus a ten dollar surcharge) for a Flash Ring!

  32. Pobra says:

    Does anyone know when Vol.2 of The Unwritten comes out?

    I Just finished Vol.1 and can’t wait for more. Thanks to Jose and everyone here who has been singing it’s praises, you encouraged me to pick up the trade and I am THOROUGHLY impressed.

  33. phil says:

    Once again this looks to be more of a bye week than a buy week. Oh well. Marvel has screwed me over, D.C. has now screwed me over. I guess its time for me to look for the back issues of Penthouse Comix, where at least the screwin’ was good!

  34. Rob F says:

    Can anyone tell me? Is Wally West still in Flash or is just Barry?

  35. scott snyder says:

    Thanks Constantanius, Stamps and Deemar for checking out IM Noir! Let me know what you think! S

Leave a Reply

